We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor, poor housekeeping, inconvenient parking.”
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice decor, poor housekeeping, inconvenient parking.”
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Spent 5 nights at Harrah's Reno while on a business trip, was in the west tower. Reservation was for a non-smoking room; on arrival was told they had none available. I started to make a fuss and then a manager gave the clerk authorization to give me a non-smoking room. Unnecessary game-playing in my opinion. They should simply honor the reservation. Work paid for the room, something like $90 / night.

They provided a small refrigerator for the room upon request.

The valet parking lines were really long. The self-park garage was almost full most evenings, had to park on the exposed upper / seventh level.

Long walk from parking garage to the west tower elevators, through the casino. Typical for a lot of casinos.

The room's decorating was very attractive, except for the furry fuzzy light fixture. Very comfortable bed.

Housekeeping is lax. Hair around toilet and in shower, for example. Didn't vacuum room or hallway during stay, the same crumbs and dirt was there all week.

Very comfortable bed and linens with a padded headboard, nice for watching the small TV.

They don't seem to have their own internet. I spent $29.99 for a week of wireless access from a Reno company that had a signal there. I was never sure if it was officially sanctioned by Harrah's or not, but it worked well.

There is a Quizno's and a Starbuck's in the hotel. The Cafe Napa 24 hour coffee shop was very good. Friendly eastern European wait staff (mostly Ukrainians and Poles).

Didn't get a chance to check out the pool, exercise area or spa. All close at 8PM.

Room was quiet until a family checked in next door with very loud and apparently insomniac children.

This is one of the nicer places in Reno. I liked the decorating but otherwise I was not impressed. Very average.

  • Liked — Room nicely decorated, very comfortable bed.
  • Disliked — Inconvenient parking, long walks from parking to the room.
  • Tips/Secrets — Be persistent about your requested room preferences.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 22, 2016
Thanks for your feedback about us here at Harrah's Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    1,035
    847
    394
    271
See reviews for
712
1,366
381
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2006

Stayed at Harrah's during USBC's bowling tournament for 5 nights in mid-June. I am a Diamond member and received a Mini Suite on the 16th floor in the West Tower. The Mini Suites are the corner rooms on the 4 corners of the building. They have two large windows, are very spacious (>500 sf) with a nice large bathroom. Maid service was very attentive. Housekeeping very prompt and good (one sink wouldn't drain properly and closet door wouldn't close smoothly - these problems were fixed within 10 minutes of a phone call). The casino is not very large. Slots very tight. Not a large number of tables open during the week. All dealers and all personnel very friendly and attentive. Ate at Buffet (very good!) and at the Cafe. Food was very good. Room service prompt and not overly expensive. Fridge and little coffee maker in mini suite. No safe, but you can rent a safety deposit box at hotel check-in for free. Starbucks opens very early in the morning. Casino not too smokey. Would stay here again. Prefer Lake Tahoe properties (Harrah's and Harveys because of location and scenery). Train noise was not a problem. I didn't hear it at all. Very quiet hotel - at least our room. There is some street construction going on in front of the hotel - this may influence rooms on lower floors. Elevators in West Tower are slow and had some mechanical problems. 13 people were stuck for 2 hours - 6 of those were dealers! Too many people tried to get on the elevators because the wait time was so long. Escalator from lobby to Casino was out of service during the entire stay. But that didn't influence the stay too much. Very nice beds and mattress. Right down the street from National Bowling Stadium. Very convenient for bowlers. Reno is not Las Vegas...but nobody ever said otherwise.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank big_D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 22, 2016
Thanks for your very nice remarks about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 4, 2006

We were so pleased with the rooms. Nice, new, and modern decor. Stayed In the west tower. Parking was free and the rooms were clean. Nice gym but they charge $5 to use it. Decent selection of restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 21, 2016
Thanks for your very nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork,Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2006

Big rooms, comfortable, reasonably priced. Central. Would recommend

Helpful?
10 Thank dfgood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 21, 2016
We appreciate your recommendation of us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Stayed here one night (May9) on a free comp night on our way to Tahoe.They have a great staff at checkin and have not run into any rude employees. We have been to Reno numerous times in the past and always come back to Harrah's.The hotel was real nice,with a helpful friendly staff.It can get confusing finding the tower you are staying in though. We had to go up an escalator, through part of the casino to get to our elavator. Just ask at the desk for assistance. The food was regular casino fare.Nothing spectacular.There is free parking so just drag your bags to the elavator.Our room was remodeled in a quasi art deco/modern theme. Very nice considering some of the rooms are still stuck in 1979. Had a phone in the bathroom, but no TV. I would rather watch TV than talk on the phone while performing whatever it is you need to do in there.
Reno has been and probably will be just an old railroad town. I wouldn't recommend walking farther than 1 block in any direction off the strip. Dirty, with plenty of pros and transients trolling around.
Best bet is to drive to Hilton,Atlantis or Peppermill to get away from the downtown area and to see the sights.
I liked Hilton & Atlantis but the Peppermill casino was all smoke and mirrors-literally.Very cramped with mirrors on the walls and ceiling. I am not claustrophobic- but could have been if I stayed there any longer.
All in all Harrah's will continue to get my business when we return to Reno.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank jntman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 21, 2016
Thanks for your very nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 2, 2006

Just got back from our first visit to Reno. We had a discounted room at Harrahs for 4 nights with a players card and were very pleased with our whole experience there. Bareback was fun - the Steak House food and service were awesome - Nicki the waitress at Cafe Napa for breakfast was so friendly and attentive (and the $3.99 special is a nice way to start the day) - the cocktail waitresses were great - the desk staff was pleasant and helpful - the room was clean and the view from the 19th floor was nice - it was easy to use your comp points for their restaurants. The location was great and I enjoyed the smaller, quieter East Tower side casino at night before bed. I'd definately stay there again and hope we get the opportunity to do so.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 21, 2016
Thanks for your very nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2006

We just returned from spending 5 days in Reno, Nevada. We stayed at Harrah's Casino, which was a little dated, but nice. We found the employees of Harrah's to be very nice and very helpful. We were told not to go out on the street at night because of all the panhandlers. They even come up to you while you are at a slot machine and ask for money. I felt like Reno was the "Times Square" of the West. I found it very dirty, although the casinos were okay. We took a side trip to Tahoe and Virginia City. Virginia City was awesome..the real flavor of the old West. Lake Tahoe was gorgeous, but very expensive. I don't think I would go back to Reno again, however, I am glad that I did experience it.

Helpful?
14 Thank Janay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, January 21, 2016
Thanks for your nice comments about our employees here at Harrah's Reno.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Property: Harrah's Reno
Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah’s Reno Hotel and Casino is a complete destination with everything you want for fun, with seven mouth-watering restaurants, a 60,000 sq. ft. casino and headline entertainment. Check in to one of our 928 beautifully appointed rooms and have a great stay when you Come Out and Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing