We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and price downtown”
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I had a great clean quiet room with a stunning view of the mountains. Just what I wanted downtown next to everything. And it was cheap. Parking was free. The outdoor pool was unfortunately closed in February.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenotheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,907)
There are newer reviews for Harrah's Reno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,247 - 3,253 of 3,907 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2014

I stayed at Harrah's Reno Jan 25-30, 2014 and was pleasantly surprised, given some of the neg reviews here, how much I enjoyed my stay. Check-in took minutes, Edna at desk was extremely nice with big smile, and our West Tower room was available at 9am! The room was recently updated, had a frige and safe, and even with two double beds was plenty large for the three of us. Also the bathroom was huge. Daily maid service was efficient and I was glad to see the charge-by-cup coffee was no more.

Also enjoyed the casino, which after exploring the many options in the downtown area became our go to place to gamble. While the interior could use updating the slots were loose and the dealers at the table games extremely fun! Starbucks was handy, Hash House a Go-Go and the Joy Luck Noodle Bar fantastic, and Harrah's Steak House a real treat, great service and terrific food.

Wonderful experience, will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: west town rooms have terrific east mountain sunrise views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smilo300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Have been staying here for years whenever I come to Reno. Their service is friendly and while the property is a bit dated, they have made small improvements over the years. I suggest getting a west tower room as those are a little more spruced up than the ones in the east tower. But if you're staying here it's usually for gambling and going out, so the room condition isn't that important.

They provide a free shuttle from the airport and the location is central to all the casinos in Reno. The rates are very good for the area and I suggest signing up for the casino's player card as it does help you save a little. They also upgraded me to the west tower which was appreciated. The amenities for the room are sparse and they do charge a bit for things like water, internet, etc. But they really do have great customer service and they do their best to make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

As has been mentioned the rooms are a bit tired, even west tower which was renovated more recently. Some instances are just little oops, others more OMG. But importantly for me, the beds and linens were very comfortable and assured a good nights sleep, it was clean, and the price was right, as it's easy to stay for free if you have a players card. Free valet parking is appreciated too.

Room Tip: West tower is closer to casino, higher floors have nice views but more elevator stops
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_northbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

WE were happy with our room rate and the room itself very spacious and comfortable only complaint again is the high price of internet and charging for a cup of coffee for our room. The staff friendly and helpful would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Pros
Pricing
Nice bed and bedding, duvets pillows etc
Towels nice
Good water pressure and shower head
Quiet (on 20th floor)
Friendly and efficient staff
Nice, comfy chairs to sit in
Good sconce lighting by bed
Valet parking at no charge
Fast elevators
No resort fee added to stay

Cons
No matter how much sanitizer you use it can't mask the old cigarette smells
Large stains on carpet, probably from spilled drink
Furniture has a lot of dings and scratches
Not enough outlets to plug in electronics, bring long power cord to set yours up
Urine/cigarette drips on bath ceiling where steam has caused the airborne particles to congregate
TV bolted to table.
Lots of add ons such as internet at $11/day

Make sure to look at pricing from various sources. You can get some incredibly low rates. ($32-$45/ night). We paid $75 for one night. Still an inexpensive rate. I have very mixed feelings whether I would stay here again. Most likely I would opt for another hotel to get out of the cigarette laden furnishings.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank ALifesJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We only stayed one night on our drive to California and for one night it was okay. The hotel is tired and verging on the shabby and not a place to spend a vacation. The dinner buffet was very good and they do have up to date slot machines. The room was adequate, but check in took a long time. The rate was cheap and you get what you pay for. So saying, I would possibly stay there again when passing through as it was close to the freeway.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Plaza Resort Club
Plaza Resort Club
#20 of 64 in Reno
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $64 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah’s Reno Hotel and Casino is a complete destination with everything you want for fun, with seven mouth-watering restaurants, a 60,000 sq. ft. casino and headline entertainment. Check in to one of our 928 beautifully appointed rooms and have a great stay when you Come Out and Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing