We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room”
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Clean Room”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The room was good and comfortable. It was super convenient for the bowling tournament. I would stay here again.

The hotel is connected to the casino which allows smoking so you have to walk through the casino to get to the tower.

Room Tip: Join the total rewards program to get room discounts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tykerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    1,032
    842
    390
    269
See reviews for
709
1,357
376
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Just got back from Harrah's Reno, the Hotel is a bit dated but the staff is great, the food was delicious, practically no wait for drinks while playing the slots. I love to order room service while on vacation, room service is only available Friday, Saturday & Sunday :(, if you are there Monday thru Thursday, you are out of luck. The Steak House was awesome, 5 star food & service. We also ate at Ichban Japanese Steakhouse & Sushi Bar, also dellicious but not affiliated with Harrah's, you cannot charge to the room. The Buffet and Hash House was great too, I gotta say, we didn't have one bad meal. Free shuttle bus to and from the airport, great deal.

We did a one day tour with the Hotel to Lake Tahoe/Carson City, it was great and well worth it. Our driver Jim was on the money, funny and informative. We were going to rent a car for the day at the Hotel from Hertz, they started out by telling us $40.00, $40.00 turned into $130.00 with a credit check, we ran out of there. The tour was the way to go anyway, no driving, no hassels. Lake Tahoe is beautiful, the Harrah's casino there is more Vegas like and upscale compared to Reno, Carson City is a great little town way on top of the mountains, a long and winding drive. Unless you like gambling, Reno is not the place for you. There is really nothing else to do but gamble. We saw people hitting on the slots, not me, :(. The town is pretty run down, a lot of vacant stores, plenty of pawn shops... Actually, the streets are a little scary. I hate to say that but it's the truth, i heard quite a few people saying the same thing.

I had a great time, if you plan on going, 3 days is more than enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktovacation1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Spent a few days in the Reno area the last weekend of April. Not a big ski time, not quite the summer tourist season either. You'd think the manpower would be there to make everything perfect...

Sadly, this once landmark name and property has deteriorated to little more than a footnote. Leaving the lights on is more than they can say when one enters their assigned room and sees the carnage.

We had several rooms between our party in the East Tower and the lack of quality was evident from the moment we entered. The keycard not working was a blip - no big deal but certainly it gave us a chance to think. The carpeting in the entire hotel is worn and coming up in places. The flooring creaks like an old raised floor but in a hotel such as this it SHOULD NOT. The rooms were dark and small and quite dated. No refrigerator - we had to ask and the first one they finally brought up was so noisy when plugged in we could barely hear ourselves. The second one was fine, but we shouldn't have to ask.

Over-all, a very disappointing experience! Here's a few general observations and complaints;

... Elevators are just plain dirty
... Common area bathrooms are disgusting. Old, stained, streaked and splattered
... Room service basically only avail Saturday nights. It stops Sunday at 11am !
... Parking costs $10 when baseball games run across the street
... Police activity in the area is RAMPANT
... Bums (okay - financially challenged citizens) are everywhere
... Scantily clad women bending over pretending to bowl in public areas at 7pm where the children walk through on the way to the elevator. Never mind the "dancers" a few hours later!

My sister-in-law got directions to the pool and took our nephew up there. On the 5th floor, they found the pool empty and under renovations. A couple of middle-aged women were there in swimsuits, also having gotten directions, and they were ready to swim in the empty construction area. Was it too much for staff to advise BEFORE giving directions? Is it even too much to let people know ahead of time???

Another in our party stayed a mile away at another lesser-rated name brand casino hotel and the rooms were large, clean and well appointed. Cost was SUBSTANTIALLY less than what this once-beautiful property was.

So sad for Reno - clearly the Tribal Casinos elsewhere are taking a heavy toll...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lernerfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
226 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our room was fine with no problems at all. However, the East Tower elevators seem like an after thought in a forgotten part of the casino. It took a couple of days to get comfortable with the garage elevators, skywalk over Central Avenue, West part of the casino (showroom), etc. It is a little closer to the bowling stadium but not much more than the Eldorado or Silver Legacy which is probably where I will stay the next time we go to the USBC Open Championships. Hash House A Go Go is worth seeking out. We missed the lingerie bowling.

Room Tip: Prices are a little higher in the West Tower but you are closer to the other casinos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkatao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Even though this is a very outdated hotel, the housekeeping staff does an excellent job of making up for older furnishings. The bed seemed new and was very comfortable. Little noise from other rooms except through connecting doors and under hall door (I put a towel there to keep light and noise out)

Good customer service, we were in a room next to the elevators and as soon as we walked in, I could hear what sounded like a truck next door. I called the front desk and asked if there was another room) and I really was not expected the immediate response of, 'we are sorry, I will send someone up with keys for an new room' - after all, our rooms were comp rooms and I was afraid of what you pay is what you get. But that was not the case. I do wish there was internet anywhere in the hotel for free but alas, other than printing a boarding pass in the business center, even Starbucks charged for internet.

overall, we will stay there again next year when back for bowling

Room Tip: West Tower away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyAnn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Hello everyone, nice to be back home. Just spent the last 2-days in Reno, stayed at the HARRAH'S, This is a nice hotel,located in the heart of everything. The room was a big room, with a king-size bed(that was real nice & comfy), had a small frige, iron, and a great view of the mountains, & base-ball field(loved that view).Check-in was breeze, the staff was nice and friendly. The only draw back was, my room was located near the elevators, and was constantly being awaken(by those elevators). All in all had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our second time staying at Harrah's in Reno. Both times we were placed in the West Tower. The rooms in this tower were supposedly renovated over the past two years however, we found our previous stay was different then this time. Not that the room was bad but it wasn't as dressed as the previous room. So, when checking in I would recommend asking about the status of the room.
Views over Reno from the upper floors can be stunning from the West Tower however again I recommend asking about the direction you will be facing. During this most recent visit we overlooked a lot of industrial roofs while before we had a gorgeous view of the Archway and the Sierra Nevada mountains. As a resort another thing I found disappointing was the fact they have removed the Poker Room. There isn't really a lot of activities available here for being a "Resort" Casino. For inside restaurants, we at at the buffet a few times including their general menu as well as their seafood buffet. Both menus are quite unremarkable and certainly not anything special. We also ate at the breakfast restaurant (sorry, I can't recall the name) on the second floor. We were shocked at their high prices. We probably won't return to Harrah's in Reno although we are interested in the partner properties from around the country.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Property: Harrah's Reno
Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah’s Reno Hotel and Casino is a complete destination with everything you want for fun, with seven mouth-watering restaurants, a 60,000 sq. ft. casino and headline entertainment. Check in to one of our 928 beautifully appointed rooms and have a great stay when you Come Out and Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing