We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bang for the buck during the holiday”
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fremont, ca
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best bang for the buck during the holiday”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before new year 2013. Paid $150 for two days where as others were asking $150 per day. Hotel is bit outdated, but room was great. I like the house keeping staff, they did the good job. Also there is a store near elevator and quiznos in the east tower. Very convenient to grab a quick bite. Little big city sign is in front of the hotel. Casino and buffet are not on par with other casinos, but overall good experience for stay only.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    1,035
    847
    394
    271
See reviews for
712
1,366
381
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,063)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Mississippi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel was great. Very clean and the housekeepers were awesome! Very friendly. At the time of our stay, the hotel was having trouble with their alarm clocks. They would go off for hours in vacant rooms, sometimes in three or four rooms down our hall. We wound up unplugging our own clock because it kept going off and we could not get it to turn off completely.

When eating at the restaurants inside the casino, be sure to ask portion size. The pancakes were delicious but could have fed 4 people! At $8-9 each, I would have loved to have known this before ordering additional dishes for our family.

All in all, I couldnt have asked for a more pleasant stay. We rented a car to explore the city and headed for Lake Tahoe. The car rental place is in the hotel lobby so it was very convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy39477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in a mini-suite in the west tower an our room was very nice. It had a separate vanity area with sink which was very useful. I did find the mattress to be hard and really could have used a topper. The hotel itself is lacking in the casino and restaurant area. The casino is also in 2 different sections east and west. We only ate at the buffet there which was awful except for the lady making crepes who makes beautifully decorated and delicious crepes. You can't beat the location, its a block away from the train station, El Dorado and the bowling stadium. I wouldn't stay there again because I prefer a bigger casino area and more eating and entertainment options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goat19821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I only travel 1 time per year to reno. I went in December. The place was a ghost town. They have friendly staff for the most part. The one issue I had was that in order to workout at their gym you either needed to pay to get in or be a Platinum Rewards Card Member... I am just a gold card member (which means I don't gamble as much as those guys.) But I still had a comp room which was nice...

They do have a nice gym to workout at if you can manage to get in there...

Buffett food - I give it a thumbs up. they have excellent king crab legs.. Good sushi!

Rooms - Good quality rooms in the East Tower. The ones on the West Tower are located above the casino so you have smoke smell coming in through the vents at night.. Not enjoyable..

Casino - The place was empty when we were there.. Not a sole in site except for the employees. It is a nice clean casino, well kept. I'd recommend this to a friend.. absolutely.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
177 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

On the main street in Reno, Harrah's is an old hotel that probably gives fair value for money.

It was a bit of a pain to get to the room (West tower) - escalator from reception, then walk to the elevator. The room was not large, but adequate. Furniture was dark and aged. The wardrobe was reasonable sized, but a bigger chest of drawers would have been nice.

Medium sized LCD TV with all inputs. The room was quite dark - I actually asked them to bring up another lamp (which they did). IT was also quite cold, but the a/c did a fair job of keeping the room warm. The bathroom was OK, with a bathtub and a fair sized mirror and marbletop.

Internet service ($11 or so for 24 hours) was slow - wavered between 2mbps to about 0.5 mbps. The buffet was OK, nothing special - however it begins quite late (10:00) all days of the week.

The hotel clientele seems to be mostly older people - very much older. Overall this is a reasonable place to stay - not fancy but not a dump.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danno_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed in Reno for the first time in Dec 2012 at Harrah's west block on a high floor. The room was fine, acceptably clean although a little old. Nothing to ring home about. The lack of free wifi was annoying but hey, all the casino hotels do that I think? Harrah's buffet was acceptable but nothing great either. We felt safe walking around outside but it was winter so that might explain the lack of people. The Harrah's casino was rather quiet compared to Silver Legacy's. Well, it was a cheap and decent place to stay in Reno but if you want more liveliness, stay at eldorado or silver legacy nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Needed to be in Reno for a family event. Stay only one night in the West Tower. The hotel is one of the oldest in Reno and some things do look dated, however the room was clean and met my expectations for the price. I am going to stay there again, so I would recommend it if you are going to Reno for Reno and not a luxery room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ete1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Property: Harrah's Reno
Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah’s Reno Hotel and Casino is a complete destination with everything you want for fun, with seven mouth-watering restaurants, a 60,000 sq. ft. casino and headline entertainment. Check in to one of our 928 beautifully appointed rooms and have a great stay when you Come Out and Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing