We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, declining town.”
Review of Harrah's Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Harrah's Reno
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mountain View, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent hotel, declining town.”
Reviewed March 6, 2008

Stayed at Harrah's Reno on a comp room offer for two weeknights via Harrah's Total Rewards players club (earned points in Vegas & Tahoe). Airport shuttle was timely, Front Desk granted a late checkout (1pm) during check-in without a hassle. East Tower room was clean and functional...neighbors' conversations could be heard through the walls after 2am (typical for a casino hotel)....Breakfast buffet was forgetable, had a good late-night burger at Cafe Napa, despite surly waiter (blew off my request for a bottle of ketchup--I had to walk into the back room to ask the beverage server).

The Indian casinos in California have taken a major toll on Reno....all the downtown casinos were essentially dead during the weekday mornings--never seen business that slow (first trip to Reno was '93). Several of the downtown hotels have converted to apartments and condos...Downtown Reno is the last place I'd want to live; it's rundown and gloomy. I took a cab across town to the Peppermill, which was more lively (i.e., younger crowd) than the downtown casinos.

I stayed here because of the free room, but probably wouldn't pay to go back again...especially if I could choose Vegas or Tahoe. Reno is just too depressing.

  • Liked — Slow business = better gambling
  • Disliked — Reno is in a sad decline.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Million_Dollar_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
I am sorry that you were disappointed with our City of Reno and Harrah's Reno too.

Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    911
    1,035
    848
    394
    272
See reviews for
712
1,368
381
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,064)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate S.C.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We were promptly waited on by the valet, registration desk, and bellmen. Everyone was most helpful and courteous. We stayed on the 13th floor of the West Tower. Maybe staying the previous week at Harrah's in South Lake Tahoe spoiled us. The bathroom was more than tiny. The rest of the room was average. Yes, there was a coffee maker in the room. The HVAC system utilizes a continuous fan.

Having stayed previously in the East Tower, the difference we experienced was that is more convenient to get to the casino and restaurants from the West Tower room. That is it!

The airport shuttle was great! We did not expect to be deposited at our airline ticket entrance. The shuttle runs on time. Leaves the airport on the half hour, leaves the hotel on the hour.

My wife did quite well on Harrah's slot machines.

Cafe Napa was most reasonably priced, and offered top quality food.

  • Liked — The great service. The location, too.
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank StateRef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Thanks for your very nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

There is no 'in-room" coffee pots in the East Tower. You can't even ask for one to be brought up. West Tower has them. A small but inportant details for some of us.

The bed was marvelous, rooms were very quiet.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, June 27, 2016
Thanks for your remarks about us here at Harrah's Reno. I am happy that you found the bed to be marvelous and the rooms very quiet.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We don't gamble - not a nickel - so we were looking for a central Reno location within easy walking distance of the National Automobile Museum and easy driving distance to Cabela's. Harrah's filled the bill. We stayed in the East Tower, and our 15th floor room was well maintained and comfortable. The Steak House served up a great meal in what would have been a very elegant setting but for the other diners (many of whom looked as if they just came in from the job site). Andreotti's served up a very nice Italian dinner, and the coffee shop is quite good. Prices in the restaurants are a bit steep. My only gripe was the lousy wireless internet. Not only do they charge a nasty $11/day to use it, but the system refused to take my money the last day because we were checking out before the 24 hours expired.

  • Liked — Central Reno location
  • Disliked — Terrible wireless internet service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thanks for your nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

I am glad that you visited our Steak House.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pablo, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We booked a room for $77/night. and arrived in the mid-afternoon from the San Francisco on the California Zephyr. The registration staff was quite unprepared for the small rush. Understaffed and taking quite a long time to process each person. The line quickly grew to over twenty people.

We asked for a quiet room and were put in the east tower, room 1566. The hallway as we stepped off the elevator smelt vaguely like a sewage treatment plant, but when we got to our room the room was fine. It was clean and well decorated. The bed was firm and very comfortable. There was a strange wooshing sound that sounded as if we were next to the elevator shaft, although we were not.

We slept well and soundly, although in the morning the housekeeping staff set up shop (by the noise) next to our room door even though we had a do not disturb sign up.

In retrospect, I would have asked for a room in the west tower. The east tower requires complex navigation to reach the spa, restaurants and other amenities. The gift shop in the east tower was not open during our stay.

Overall, the room was a good value and so we were pleased with our stay.

  • Liked — Comfortable Bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank tpuryear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thanks for your nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno. I do apologize to you for the front desk staff not being prepared for the rush.

We appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We ended a months camping by spending 2 nights in the East tower mid-week INTERNET rate for $60 a night. Good service/staff in a excellent location. Room nicely furnished, with good TV & very clean room/bath. For the money a excellent buy. Nice view South toward Tahoe was lovely. We will return.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — No complaints
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank peddler665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thanks for your very nice comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed at Harrah's for two nights the first week of December and had a wonderful experience. The nights were comped on our player's cards and we were surprised to get in on a Friday night. We were disappointed that Greg London's Icons were taking a Christmas break . Check-in was very easy and when we got to our room on the 17th floor in the East Tower and found it not really guest ready they immediately moved us to the 18th floor and all was perfect. The room was clean and beautifully appointed. The king bed was so comfortable with triple sheeting and soft comforters. The view of north strip Virginia Street was so pretty at night and the mountains during the day were snow covered. The bathrooms are a little small but functional and clean. The shuttle to the airport was very punctual and the driver helpful and friendly. We had fun playing the slots at Harrah's and actually won a little money. We had buffet on Thursday night and there was a two for one coupon in one of the papers. I t was crowded but managed well and the food was great.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank valuetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HarrahsReno, Customer Service at Harrah's Reno, responded to this review, February 3, 2016
Thanks for your wonderful comments about us here at Harrah's Reno.

We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.8 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
0.2 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrah's Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrah's Reno

Property: Harrah's Reno
Address: 219 N Center St, Reno, NV 89501-1413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Reno
#8 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Harrah's Reno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 928
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrah’s Reno Hotel and Casino is a complete destination with everything you want for fun, with seven mouth-watering restaurants, a 60,000 sq. ft. casino and headline entertainment. Check in to one of our 928 beautifully appointed rooms and have a great stay when you Come Out and Play! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Harrah's Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harrah`s Reno Hotel Reno
Harrahs Hotel Reno
Reno Harrahs Hotel
Harrahs Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing