We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”
Review of Residence Inn Reno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Reno
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was a surprisingly nice hotel. A little outside the city, but perfect. Nice facility. Typical of this brand of Marriott. Mine was a quick stay, but it was exactly what I needed. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Chad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2014

Only spent one night here for a quick getaway. The room had everything needed for living here. A kitchen with most everything for cooking and staying "home". We had planned on going out for dinner but the was a managers reception that evening with wine/beer and cheese, salami, crackers and fruits and veggies; needless to say we ate enough and didn't need to go elsewhere. Besides the location of the hotel is not very close to downtown. The breakfast in the morning was more than sufficient.

The room was very clean, as were the grounds and reception area. Wi fi worked very well and there's computers in the lobby. The swimming pool was quite warm and the hot tub very hot. It was a windy day, so there was pine needles in the pool but with an available screen, we were able to clean it enough to make it very enjoyable.

Except for the price, this would be a great place for an extended stay. The only downside is the air conditioner unit is located in the bedroom which made it difficult to get a good nights sleep. As were only there for the night, this was a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugel-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We had stayed here during our last trip back from Yellowstone. Reno was a good stopping point, but with kids, we wanted to look for a hotel with no gambling. We found this and it turned out to be very clean. It had comfy beds, large rooms, nice kitchen and bathroom. Everything was very good. They even offered free breakfast. The selection at the breakfast was excellent. Staff kept refilling until after it closes. For the price paid, I think it's great overall. A great place the spend the night during the road trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank made2worship
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Very far away from downtown Reno, 12 kms with some tricky driving. This is possibly the most dated Residence Inn ever? The rooms are very old and in desperate need of some upkeep!
The entrance is an old style single door that you have to pull to open, wonderful when you have a luggage cart !!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cowboydanno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim B, Manager at Residence Inn Reno, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear cowboydanno,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on your recent experience at the Reno Residence Inn. I want to start by apologizing for the inconvenience that you experienced in reference to the location of the hotel. Though we are not in the immediate proximity of the downtown area, there are many venues within a 6 mile radius of the hotel that are easily accessible to our guests to enjoy. In regards to the hotel condition, we are continuously making improvements to ensure that our guest feel like they are home when they stay with us. The hotel recently finished improvements to the exterior of the hotel and more projects are in the plans to ensure that our hotel remains beautiful and upholds a welcoming feeling. In regards to our luggage carts, we do our best to ensure that we have our carts in locations that are easily visible and accessible to our guests. Unfortunately during the busy times of the hotel, their usage is at a high volume. Please come visit us again at the Residence Inn during your next visit to Reno. Thank you for your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here near the end of June 2014 for our son's college orientation. Clean, comfortable rooms, nice pool and spa area, very good selection at breakfast, nice managers reception on at least three nights of the week, friendly and helpful staff. No complaints at all. We actually already have reservations for our return trip near the end of August when our son starts at the University of Nevada. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We've stayed here for years. I like that you can get a standard room or a suite. The suite is perfect for couples and/or families with conflicting sleeping schedules. The rooms seem to have been recently renovated. The beds are always comfortable and the showerheads are wonderful. The breakfast is better than many restaurants: oatmeal with toppings, pastries, eggs, waffles, and other items. It's a bit pricey, but we've never had a bad stay. I'd probably rate it 5 stars if it weren't for the noisy air conditioners.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eliz375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed here with our two kids age 4 and 5 and had a good experience. We had a 2 bedroom suite. The hotel was clean and nice and the staff was very helpful.
As a Platinum member in Marriott, I have high expectations, and the hotel and the staff were very good.
We made some itinerary changes to stay here an extra night and the staff helped me extend my stay and even updated my reservation at the next Marriott in our itinerary. Recommended.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room close to the hallway door that led to the outside, and they said the door sla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandLuxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Reno Nevada
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Reno

Address: 9845 Gateway Drive, Reno, NV 89521
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $168 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Residence Inn Reno, conveniently located in the Biggest Little City in the World. Our extended-stay accommodations are situated near the Reno-Tahoe Airport, Sparks Convention Center and the University of Nevada, Reno. Take highway 395 and arrive in Downtown Reno in 20 minutes or Lake Tahoe in 40 minutes. Whatever your Reno vacation plans, enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the mornings, and on select evenings enjoy free light fare and beverages during The Residence Inn Mix™. Unwind in spacious suites featuring complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, fully equipped kitchens, comfortable bedding and flat-panel TVs with premium cable. You can also stay active with our on-site swimming pool, signature Sport Court® and state-of-the-art fitness center. Bring along your furry friend and make sure to grab to-go snacks and refreshments at The Market in our lobby before heading out on an adventure. Refresh your travel routine with a stay at our Reno, Nevada hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing