We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great place to stay when skiing at Mt Rose” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Reno

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Reno
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when skiing at Mt Rose”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We love to stay here when we ski at Mt Rose. We get the 2 bedroom suite for the family. It has two baths which is wonderful for a family. The full kitchen is very helpful as we can cook dinner while the kids shower and relax after skiing. The hotel is in the south end of town so only two exits from the Mt Rose Highway. We have been staying here for the last three years.

The room is spacious. You can get a free glass of wine or beer at the managers reception which is nice. We have not been very impressed with the included breakfast. If you are fine with cereal or toast you are good. But if you need more protein at breakfast it's not a great choice. The kids didn't find much to eat that they liked.

Room Tip: I like to ask for a room that faces away from the freeway and into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    73
    16
    10
    7
See reviews for
52
36
15
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've stayed at the Residence Inn three times now and had a positive experience each stay. The rooms are spacious, newly renovated and clean - not a common occurance in Reno. The whole property is also smoke-free - another rarity in Reno.

Business travelers will appreciate the over sized desk, ergonomic chair and good lighting.

The fitness center could be a little bigger as there are only 2 treadmills and an elliptical.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Love Marriott hotels, and the Residence Inn brand in particular. Great service, good breakfast and excellent value. Outside ashtrays where overflowing at both exits, needing more attention, but overall hotel conditional was very good. Would stay again.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeTravelerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good breakfast,
Shuttle to airport and to medical Clinics
Drivers very nice
Apartments have all the amenities, including dishwasher.
Staff very accommodating.
Our travel was for,medical,reasons and we had tranquility of,not needing to,drive

Room Tip: The shuttle to and from airport and tomClinics for people needing medical treatment. No,need to,rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I think over time the Residence Inn has become the strongest and most consistent branch of the Marriott tree. In May I was asked to deliver a keynote address in Reno and booked this hotel even though the event took place in the Nugget Casino across town. As it turned out, I made the right choice! Without going into to much detail the place is very clean, conveniently located to a freeway onramp within 5 minutes from a Whole Foods Market (you can stock up and never need to eat out!), gas stations and some charming local eateries.

Awesome bed that made me wish I could have stayed for another day just to get a full nights rest (I was on a two night turnaround) along with a spotless kitchen that contained excellent appliances (full size frig, excellent stove, microwave etc.). I had the suite so the flatscreen TV and a small sofa was located perpendicularly from the bed and on the other side an additional sofa by the door. The shower was immaculate and had excellent water pressure, the sink had a faucet with perfect water pressure and a bathroom countertop with plenty of room for sundry items!

There was construction or some kind of racket going on and that kept this from being a "perfect" hotel as the noise was a bit distracting, but all and all still an excellent hotel. The staff was outstanding and they even hooked me up with extra popcorn (a Residence Inn perk!). Awesome place which I was able to stay for a decent price (better than the casinos during this visit). Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pick a room close to the lobby, it is a big property and if an issue arises you don't want to wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. Check-in was great. The girl at the front desk was practically tripping over herself to help me in any way possible.

The room was clean and comfortable, and the complimentary popcorn was a nice treat for a worn-out traveler. The breakfast was great, with lots of choices including hot oatmeal, which I enjoyed. Though I only stayed one night, I think this would be a great place for an extended stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieandPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice hotel with good service and accommodations... my room seemed to have been updated and was quite comfortable.The hotel uses room keys to activate the air\heat that saves energy, which I appreciated. The hotel is in a quiet location but not far from the freeway and has a good selection for breakfast, I would visit again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Reno Nevada
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno
2.1 mi away
Courtyard Reno
Courtyard Reno
#23 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Reno

Property: Residence Inn Reno
Address: 9845 Gateway Dr, Reno, NV 89521-8995
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Residence Inn Reno, conveniently located in the Biggest Little City in the World. Our extended-stay accommodations are situated near the Reno-Tahoe Airport, Sparks Convention Center and the University of Nevada, Reno. Take highway 395 and arrive in Downtown Reno in 20 minutes or Lake Tahoe in 40 minutes. Whatever your Reno vacation plans may be, enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast buffet in the mornings, and on select evenings enjoy free light fare and beverages during The Residence Inn Mix™. Unwind in spacious suites featuring complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, fully equipped kitchens, comfortable bedding and flat-panel TVs with premium cable channels. You can also stay active with our on-site swimming pool, signature SportCourt and state-of-the-art fitness center. Bring along your furry friend and make sure to grab to-go snacks and refreshments at The Market in our lobby before heading out on an adventure. Refresh your travel routine with a stay at our Reno, NV hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Reno Hotel Reno
Reno Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing