We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Reno is sold out, Boomtown is not bad.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
Ranked #16 of 64 Hotels in Reno
New Jersey
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If Reno is sold out, Boomtown is not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having just left Burning Man, we wanted a place fairly close to stay. Reno was all booked. We ended up at Boomtown. It was nice. The food was good. The service was nice. The scenery is stunning. If I had to stay again, I would. The KOA was nice too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russjuly17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our hotel and casino is situated in a beautiful setting in Verdi just outside of Reno with views you can't get downtown.
We also hope you come back to enjoy the live music we have every night at the Guitar Bar. Please come back and visit us soon and enjoy what Boomtown has to offer. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    1,047
    614
    291
    216
See reviews for
1,031
1,245
273
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Run down. Carpet held together by duct tape (literally). Cigarette smoke comes through the air conditioning vents so even the non-smoking rooms are filled with it. Needs renovation and better maintenance . Staff not familiar with anything beyond their own immediate area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Charlotte
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and casino. I was sorry to hear that your visit with us was not up to par. Boomtown recently aquired new owners that are planning an extensive remodel of the hotel and casino to better fit our guests needs. We are looking into the issues you discussed and your feedback is greatly appreciated in helping us with these improvements. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to give us a call. We hope you reconsider and come to visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a wonderful week end at Boomtown. Room was great deal for price, nice amenities, easy parking and freeway access. Room was spacious, nicely appointed. Had a wonderful prime rib dinner at the Bistro, food quality was far above expectations. Overall probably the best value in the area. Will definitely go again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Linda
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and got to enjoy the prime rib at our Bistro. It is delicious!! We hope you come back and visit us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We used to stay downtown, but have since changed our preference to Boomtown. Although it is a few miles outside of Reno, it is much more affordable and quiet than a room downtown. Request a renovated room for a nice, clean, comfy stay. Extra bonus, no minimum stay on weekends, so if you want a spontaneous trip for the night, they are willing to accommodate you.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Amy
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I'm glad to hear that your experience with us has met your expectations and you continue coming back. We are always striving to make sure our guests get the best possible service. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and helps us improve. Come back and visit us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Boomtown is a great place to eat, gamble and see concerts. It is a also a great place to hold kids birthday parties in their Fun center at a great value. I have attended several weddings there as well and they always turn out beautifully. My family always has a good time at Boomtown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kristen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Kristen
Thank you for your review of our Boomtown. I was happy to hear that you and your family have had wonderful experiences with us. We are continuing to improve the hotel and the casino to make sure we meet everyones expectations. We appreciate your feedback on how we're doing. Come visit us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We apparently reserved the last room available on Sunday night of Labor Day weekend, and were charged $200.00 for the night. (gouged.) Upon arrival in the room, there were no bath towels or floor mat, the shower stopper was broken and laying in the tub, the sink handle was broken. Three light bulbs in the room were burnt out, and the fridge was sitting on the floor. Everything was grungy. We called immediately to order up towels and Housekeeping did not answer. Called the main line, and stated our request. After an hour, called again, and was advised that they (main line again) were really busy..... No offer of time estimate, no break on the room rate for the inconvenience.
In the morning, went to Peet's (inside the casino) for a coffee, and the cashier was in training (in the morning on a holiday weekend). He didn't know the register codes, wrote each order on a notebook page, tore it out and laid it on a counter. There were 2 women mucking around and not at all attentive to the growing line behind me (there were 5 in front of me and by the time I got to the counter, approximately 20-25 behind me). They couldn't read his writing on the order paper, and had trouble filling the orders in front of me. I ordered a 3x espresso in the hope of simplifying and speeding up my coffee. This was definitely NOT a typical Peet's operation, and Peet's should be ashamed to have their name associated with this circus. The wall AC unit was very, very loud.

Room Tip: Parking a large vehicle required a very long walk to the complete other side of the complex (North T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtnmama12753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. I was sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a poor stay with us. We recently aquired new owners that are doing their best to turn Boomtown around. An extensive remodel is planned for the hotel and casino so we can better fit our guests needs. We will look into the issues you discussed not only about the room but the staff as well. If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to give us a call. Any feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope you reconsider and come visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We all enjoy Boomtown, We are locals and Boomtown has become our favorite place to spend time We recommend the Hotel and Casino to everyone...family and friends, locals and out-of-towners alike. The main draw for us is the super staff and their fabulous service they provide. We especially enjoy Hope Ramirez and Casey Magnuson at the cashier center. Their consistent polite professional demeanor and friendly attitude is something we can count on each and every visit. Karen and Lana at the Players Club are so patient, helpful and courteous with everyone regardless of how many customers are waiting to be served. They are great! We really enjoy the slot tournaments and the drawings. Everyone gets a big kick out of these events and we hope they continue. Sam, Mike and Mike Milano are an especially important ingredient at these events. They all are very personable, professional and polite to everyone. Those big smiles and warm welcoming handshakes tell us they are having fun too, and they enjoy what they do. We have stayed several times at the hotel and have always enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very nice... clean, comfortable and quiet. We recommend this Hotel/Casino. The Holidays are coming...we can't wait!

Room Tip: We have only been in the North Tower and we really like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke M, Manager at BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Mary
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. We love to hear from our locals and get feedback on how we're doing. I'm glad to hear that your visits with us have been so enjoyable and we hope you keep coming back. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
8.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
8.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
7.8 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
9.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
Address: 2100 Garson Road, Reno, NV 89439 (Formerly Boomtown Hotel & Casino)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#7 Casino Hotel in Reno
#15 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated 316 guest rooms at the Best Western Plus(R) Boomtown Casino Hotel have plenty of space for rest and relaxation, featuring mountain and valley views. The rooms offer Serta(R) pillowtop beds, flat screen televisions, Wi-Fi access, a fridge, coffee makers and a microwave along with spacious bathrooms. All the casino action, entertainment and restaurants are just steps away. Great restaurants on-site include the new Steakhouse, Mel's Diner, The Famous Lobster Buffet, Market Fresh Deli, Baja Mexican and Peet's Coffee. There is non-stop gaming, nightly live entertainment, an indoor and outdoor pool, family fun center and clean and comfortable rooms are everything visitors need for a fun and relaxing stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomtown Hotel And Casino
Boomtown Nevada
Boomtown Nv
Boomtown Hotel Reno
Boomtown Hotel Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing