We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Boomtown Hotel & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boomtown Hotel & Casino to your Saves list
Boomtown Hotel & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Garson Road, I-80 Exit 4 (Boomtown), Reno, NV 89439   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have stayed there many times and this time seem to have been the worst. The room was dirty, the bathroom did not have enough light,no material in the room to tell us what eating places was available, no wifi in room for iPads. There is a no pet policy but we saw a couple come in with a small poodle. We reported it to the man a the front desk and was told he had seen the dog and that it was a service dog, which I have never seen a poodle as a service dog. For some good news the layout of the casino is nice and they have a lot of different machines. Our room was comp and not sure if they have different rooms for that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Donald
I was sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We take great pride in our guest services so your feedback is very important to us. We will look into the issues you mentioned and if you'd like to discuss them further please feel free to give us a call. We hope that you'd reconsider and visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Good- This property has a very clean and updated Casino and Restaurants, the employees are very friendly, and the Breakfast specials are very reasonably priced. The hotel portion - We stayed in the "North Tower" Our room was very large, spacious, and clean. The Bad- The WiFi did not work, even after multiple calls to Engineering and Tech Support, the Safe in the room was also broken, and the room needed some minor updating.
The Ugly - the hallway between the Elevator and the Guest Room was hot, smelled really bad, and was very smokey. I would hope that they address this issue, and fix their WiFi glitches.
For the price, I would recommend staying there, but don't expect a 4 diamond type resort. The restaurants and food were decent, and again the employee customer service was excellent.

Room Tip: Try the newly remodeled North Tower (away from I-80 also)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Firecap13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Firecap13
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. We appreciate the good and the bad feedback so we can better offer our guests the best experience. We are working on some of the issues that you mentioned. Boomtown is going through a renovation and we will take those things into consideration. If you have anything else you'd like to discuss please feel free to give a call. Come back and visit us soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Belawful
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Asked for a smoking room, because it was the only type on the top floor available (Can't stand hearing noise from the room above me). Smelled worse than an ash tray! Opened the window, turned on the fan, sprayed Lysol & went to their Casino. When I returned, the room smelled fine & stayed that way. Don't know why staff couldn't do that. Room had NO hot water, but got it for free in exchange. Am sure I won't stay there again. Was clean & quiet which was 2 pluses.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RCCRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
RCCRN
We were sorry to hear that your stay was "just ok!" If you would like to discuss the issues you had with us further please feel free to give us call. We pride ourselves on providing the best guest services and would like to know what we can do to make sure you have a great experience at Boomtown. We hope you consider visiting us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed at Boomtown last weekend for first time in 3 years on way from California. Casino changes are great, improvements and new carpet looks really cool. Food was great, pork chop was awesome. We really liked the new Guitar bar. We stayed in the more expensive north hotel tower which is the newer one and very nice. Bad comments are probably from the old south hotel which is older and cheaper. Overall, we would recommend Boomtown as the new owners really seems to want to make the place nice again.

Room Tip: Always book the newer north tower to get the nice rooms, more expensive but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Trey
Thank you for recent review of our hotel and casino. We appreciate all feedback from our guests as we are always trying to improve our guest services. The hotel and casino are going through some renovations and we will look into the issues you addressed. If you have any other issues or suggestions we'd like to hear from you. Come on down and visit us again. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This hotel was HORRIBLE.

The carpet has been repaired in numerous places with tape. The pool (which we wouldn't have had time to use anyway, but it was advertised) was empty. There was tape residue on the walls of our room, which wasn't very clean and was way too dark. There were no maps provided to the room and it was extremely inconvenient to get to- we had our special needs child with us who has trouble walking. We had to carry her (60 lbs) all the way from the parking lot to the farthest room from the elevator and there were no alternative entrances. The parking near the hotel is grossly inadequate. We were in a joined room and could hear our neighbors ALL NIGHT LONG. If you have kids, don't turn on the TV! It automatically turns on to an advertisement for the casino's entertainments which are not kid friendly or appropriate. It also turns on very loud. The AC in our room was broken and it was extremely hot and uncomfortable. They offered to comp our breakfast as an apology for the broken AC but then CHARGED ME FOR THE BREAKFAST in addition to the room.

Also- despite the bistro restaurant's being practically EMPTY, it took them 20 minutes to seat us and an additional 15 for a server to arrive and offer us water. We should have walked out, comp or no comp (which it turned out it was not comped as they promised.) If they hadn't promised to comp the meal we wouldn't have stayed to eat because the service was so slow!!!!

Room Tip: Don't book here. Period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Hotel Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Rebecca,
I wanted to apologize for your stay here at Boomtown. I think I may have spoken to your abour your Air Conditioner and I did go into your folio and take off your breakfast. Please let me know if your were not credited back for your breakfast. We try to exceed our guest's expectations and it seems we failed to do so with your stay. Please call me so we can discuss these issues in more detail. We believe in learning from our mistakes.
Sincerely,
Leslie Burrows
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The changes they've done on the casino floor since the last time I was there are definitely noticeable. And the fact that they have music seven days a week gives atmosphere no matter when you stay. I liked the iHomes in the new rooms, and the flat screen tvs were pretty nice too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5uperm4an
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
5uperm4an
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel and casino. We are glad to hear that you are enjoying the recent renovations and improvements we have made here at Boomtown. If you have any suggestions or ideas on how to better your experience please feel free to contact us. Please come visit us again and enjoy the music. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My stay there was last-minute, but what a great place to be spontaneous! The room I stayed in was quite beautiful. They had decorations that made it modern and luxurious. I enjoyed the mountainous view from our window on the 4th floor. The only bad thing was the cable reception, but its still better the antenna reception I get at my boyfriend's house. If you enjoy quite and solitude, Boomtown Hotel and Casino is a great destination.

Room Tip: If you are looking for more modernity, the north tower is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leslie B, Manager at Boomtown Hotel & Casino, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Alexandra
Thank you for your recent review of Boomtown. We were happy to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the beautiful location. We are always working on ways to better improve our guest services and we will look into the issues you did have. If you have any other suggestions on how we may better improve your stay please feel free to give us a call. We hope you visit us again soon. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
8.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
9.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
8.1 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#21 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
8.2 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#17 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 611 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomtown Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomtown Hotel & Casino

Address: 2100 Garson Road, I-80 Exit 4 (Boomtown), Reno, NV 89439
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#15 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Boomtown Hotel & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Boomtown Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomtown Hotel And Casino
Boomtown Nevada
Boomtown Nv
Boomtown Hotel Reno
Boomtown Hotel Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing