We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st time to Reno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“1st time to Reno”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was my first time to Reno. Business trip. I need to start by saying that I don't Drink, don't party and Don't smoke. So the casino life is not an allure for me. Ha Ha, sounds boring. I will not stay at another casino hotel when traveling on business or personal vacation if I can avoid it. I prefer not to have to walk through a smoky casino to get to my room, it is kind of hard to hold your breath that long and no matter how fast you walk through your hair and cloths will inevitably smell like an ash tray.

The room was ok, but minimal. The bed was hard. When I went into the bathroom to take a shower the glued in nonslip mat was unglued from the tub leaving the glue remaining and mold growing in the glue. I told house cleaning and they did send up maintenance right away. They scraped all the old glue off and put in a new non slip mat.

You have to pay $10.00 a day for Wi-Fi. Casinos like to discourage you from staying in your room so they also had a minimum of channel selections available on the Television.

Yea, it is just an older hotel/ casino. Old TV, old decor, etc. Attached to Mel's Diner so you can walk down stairs and eat or they do room delivery.

Room Tip: Get a non Smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    365
    285
    145
    193
See reviews for
201
360
168
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are much nicer than I anticipated. Clean & modern look to them. I was impressed with the soft pillows & comfy sheets.

The service was kind of crappy though. Tried to get Mel's room service, but they could cook anything because of a "monthly cleaning". I've never heard of that before & it seems odd to close down the entire restaurant. But besides that it isn't too bad

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsburg, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in early February 2013. The hotel is old, so you have to know that going in and take it into consideration. My room was clean and well prepared; just old! The TV reminded me of one we had in the 1980's. It was old it was a lousy picture - but I didn't go there to watch TV, so no biggie I guess. By far the worst thing was all the smoke! Being from California, I am not used to that because it is, thankfully, illegal to smoke inside a public building in CA. Well, not only is it legal in Nevada, but it seems that everybody smokes! I swear there were 100 or more people smoking in the lobby, casino, etc. I found it overwhelming and disgusting. I was gagging and coughing. I could not sit down to play cards in the casino without smoke being literally right in my face. Just awful.

The only place I ate was Mel's Diner. It was just okay. Not terrible, not especially good. I had french toast, eggs and bacon for breakfast. On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd give it a 5 or 6 at best. For dinner I had a bowl of chicken noodle soup and a turkey sandwich. I'd give that a 4 or 5.
So I can't really recommend the place, but it certainly is convenient and they do offer a little bit of everything. So, if smoke bothers you, stay away from this place or you'll be sorry. If you don't mind it, and you like $1.49 for a bottle of beer, you're in the right place! I gave the Sands 3 out of 5; the smoke almost makes me want to take it down to 2, but you're gonna find smokers anywhere in Reno I suppose. Also, a number of people got stuck in elevators while I was there so you might want to consider using the stairs!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeanoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Hotel needs major major renovations. All areas.

Room blankets tearing, furniture old and chipped etc.
Sheets are wrong size for bed (too small)
The hard surface floors on the casino - they pour on some liquid to fix it, and maybe it does but looks horrible. Patch jobs everywhere!

We were even told not to park in their parking garage because they DID NOT have security cameras, and our car would be safer on the street!

This is the first time (for us) that Hotwire has missed the star ratings! And we use Hotwire alot.!
The star rating at best is a 2 star.

But for us the real problem is their clientele -- if you like lots of tatoos, piercings and biker types etc then this is the place for you! (now don't tell me about bikers, I owner a motorcycle shop shop for over 25 years - so I am not talking about the normal or usual biker but the scruddy ones, you figure it out).

The rooms are large and the beds were good.

Trip Advisor has also got the star rating wrong!

Room Tip: It seems the star rating is too high for resort gambling towns! Use Kayak for these towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1ScubaDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

i recently ate at mels dinner, i had the cheese burger and fries . i got food poisioning. i was very sick. when i told someone at the hotel . i was told i had the flu, and was totally ignored. this is know way to bring back people. o wasnt trying to get anything, just warning them. to check out there food. i will not be back. i was there for the cribbage turnament. barbara downey

Room Tip: away from the trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The Sands had cleaner room during this stay :-). They have raised the prices on the seniors menu. An ice cream was $.50 on our last stay and was $.99 this stay. Depending on who serves you and when; the cone can be large or small. They had some free party favors of cupcakes and a special bar drink and plastic cup (these folks were quite friendly). The bartender at the bar - back by the front hotel desk - was in a bad mood and treated us very badly (3:20pm). I told him I no longer wanted a drink from him, as I did not understand his rude behavior. The woman bartender in the front area by the gambling tables was sweet and polite. We were kept awake both nights by a yelling couple in room 1189. We had 1191. When we called the Front Desk (2:30 am) and complained that a woman was screaming: "call 911"; no action was taken- (the woman clerk said she would contact "Security") ..?? I finally pounded on the door and they finally stopped. The hotel recently changed ownership. I believe the management is trying to do a good job with very limited resources and a few employees are 'jaded'; not realizing they may 'kill' their own jobs. I would go back (I am deaf); however, my wife says: "never again!" the "2for1" food coupons only covered select restaurants and those restaurants were not open on some days.This hotel caters to very budget minded folks; such as myself, however, a number of us seem to lack 'social graces'; thinking only of the immediate.I will return only with my men friends.

Room Tip: We thought higher room may be quieter; but not so this time?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lippylemurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was at the Sands as I go up there once a month. Decided to give the Copa the final last try after 2 dinners already. Ordered Soup, got my soup, being raised in North Beach San Francisco, I asked for cheese for my soup, I was appalled, Was told CHEESE IS EXTRA $. Are you f______ kidding me. If you had a restaurant in North Beach, they would have shut you down. Cheese is on every table in abundance. As I was eating my soup.......here comes my entree....Hello...I haven't eaten my soup yet. Ordered pasta, the waitress asked if I wanted cheese....I of course asked is it extra $??? She was affended. I WILL NEVER EAT AT THE COPA AGAIN. Management please pay attention.... Maybe we should have Chef RAMSEY come up there and help you out!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ninerchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Property: The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing