We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the price, but don't expect the Ritz”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Ranked #36 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Like braddqq, I would have given it a 3.5 in terms of condition. But 3 would do it injustice. So the 4 is mostly for the low price. For an unheard of low price, you get a clean and spacious room. Oh yeah, comfy bed too! Very important!

There's even a steam room, sauna and a hot tub on the top floor with a view of the mountains!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2012

Not sure why I thought this hotel would be so bad, perhaps it just has a bad reputation over the years. But I would have given this a 3.5 if I could, it really wasn't too bad and bordered on being "nice". Sure the casino area doesn't look like the Wynn, it's more of a Vegas downtown look. The rooms are hardly Caesars Palace Palace Tower or even Planet Hollywood level... but it's not a dumpy no-name motor lodge hotel either. It's good enough if you just want a relatively clean room with no thrills. And that worked for me on this trip. Oh-- didn't sleep very well because of random loud noises, but not sure you can blame that on the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the Dynasty tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank braddqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I frequently play Sr. Bingo on Wednesday mornigns and the staff is fantastic. They are all very warm and welcoming. They are always ready to help and they don't make players feel badly if they make a mistake.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Terrible's Sands in Reno offers tremendous value just a couple of blocks from Virginia street. It is a short walk to the Truckee river or Pioneer Theatre. The regular rooms offer two queens or one king bed and are more than adequate for a stay in Reno. Mel's diner has great breakfast special. There are several other nice bars, coffe shops, movie theaters, and casinos either in the hotel or a short walk away. Terrible's has a great slot club and the hotel gives you a coupon for to use on your return visit - making it an even better bargain. We stay there whenever we attend an event at the Pioneer theatre - about 5 times a year.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I had a recent stay on a Friday night passing through to southern NV. The room was in the Dynasty tower 11th floor and have to say it was a large room and "cushy" bed. The room even had a love seat that made into a bed. The shower could have had more pressure, but otherwise the room was great!
I needed to give "thumbs-up" for the buffet on Friday. It was seafood, very fresh and presented well. It was not a mega buffet, but what was there to choose from was quality.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willys6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

After checking in the hotel everything was great. @ $20 per night and $15 for my dog the price was fantastic!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jlanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Price is good and beds (had 2 queens) comfortable in large rooms. The decor is very nice and the "make-up vanity" is a GREAT TOUCH !!!

Missing is a coffee pot, towels for more than 2 people and any shampoo that would last more than one shower for one person. Also, if you turn on heater better plan on a burst of nasty smelling cigarette smoke.

Service is great in the hotel as far as valets and check-in. Service with cocktail waitresses while gambling is non-existent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 64 in Reno
6,838 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,076 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501-1132
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $50 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing