We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the newest or prettiest, but best Budget Casino in Reno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Ranked #36 of 62 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed midweek, due to silly low Sun-Thur prices with no events going on in town. Resort fees are low too, only $ 2 per night. Others charge $10.
I like the Arby's inside as well, simple, fast and good.
The casino was fun. Played mostly roulette, and had a blast.
The rooms are big, clean, nice. They show their age, but I wasnt buying the place. If you do get a room near the elevator, they are noisey, may depend on which tower you are in. Good enough self-parking. Some may not like the location. It is off the main strip on its own. The area doesnt look the nicest. It didnt bother me.
Where else can you get a Casino room for $29 (Sun-Thr)

Room Tip: Book online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sept1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,305)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

The Sands if close to all the action of downtown with great parking, nice rooms and a wonderful pool. Food is average and gaming is great.

Room Tip: the towers nearest the Mels restraunt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank macdana517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here when returning from Burning Man, no problems parking our RV which was great. Check-in was fast, the room was big and clean, with comfy beds and a decent shower.

We didn't expect much for the price ($29, more bang for your buck, apparently) but were so pleasantly surprised!

Being a vegetarian the buffet restaurant was a bit of a disappointment, but breakfast at Mel's Diner was awesome.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank U B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Recently refurbished hotel, rooms with modern amenities, nice view over the mountains or downtown Reno. Good parking nearby, for free. Casino could be bigger, but it's nice. Good food court.

Room Tip: I preferred the view on the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip, returning from Yosemite...early August. My husband found a great web deal (an unbelievable $29.00 per nt.). My expectations were cautious, but optimistic! Wow, we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, updated, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel isn't right on So. Virginia (Reno's "strip"), it is very close...2 blks. walking distance. The hotel has a Mel's Diner in the lobby area and a very large outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a nice view of Reno's skyline/lights. Empress Tower is more favorable. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Honestly, we have stayed here before because of the price. Cheap! For some reason we always get a deal and the hotel is nice, clean with friendly staff and the bed is comfortable. What else can you ask for? The resturants have good food, it is centrally located and cheap! The only problem is with check-in. They do not have enough staff to make it go quickly. But they are cheap! They also have a great pool area. We will return. Oh! and they allow pets.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mjnightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Sands Regency Hotel Casino located near downtown Reno is one of the best budget friendly places in Reno. The Casino is a little worn and usually smoky but the rooms are pretty comfortable. I have stayed here at least two nights for the past three months and I have been happy with the accomadations. I always ask for an updated room that has new bedding so maybe thats why I feel the rooms are descent. The pillows are big and comfy and the mattresses are pretty good. I was happy with the air conditioners as it kept the rooms nice and cold. Overall the rooms were pretty clean. I have been lucky to have gotten free rooms every month. If I were to pay for the room the price was usually under $40 a night. Ohh yeah I forgot to mention that dogs are allowed at this hotel for an extra fee.I have had no luck gambling in the casino here so I like to walk a block East to the Eldorado, Silver Legacy, CIrcus Circus & Harrahs. I wouldn't recommend walking alone especially if your female as some of the street people look shady. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drinkwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 62 in Reno
6,843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 62 in Reno
4,130 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
2.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 62 in Reno
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501-1132
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $50 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing