We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall value in Reno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Ranked #27 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Romania
Level Contributor
336 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good overall value in Reno”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Recently refurbished hotel, rooms with modern amenities, nice view over the mountains or downtown Reno. Good parking nearby, for free. Casino could be bigger, but it's nice. Good food court.

Room Tip: I preferred the view on the mountain side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    368
    288
    148
    198
See reviews for
209
367
170
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, California
Level Contributor
175 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip, returning from Yosemite...early August. My husband found a great web deal (an unbelievable $29.00 per nt.). My expectations were cautious, but optimistic! Wow, we were very pleasantly surprised. The room was spacious, updated, clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel isn't right on So. Virginia (Reno's "strip"), it is very close...2 blks. walking distance. The hotel has a Mel's Diner in the lobby area and a very large outdoor swimming pool.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a nice view of Reno's skyline/lights. Empress Tower is more favorable. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandybeach818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grass valley, ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

Honestly, we have stayed here before because of the price. Cheap! For some reason we always get a deal and the hotel is nice, clean with friendly staff and the bed is comfortable. What else can you ask for? The resturants have good food, it is centrally located and cheap! The only problem is with check-in. They do not have enough staff to make it go quickly. But they are cheap! They also have a great pool area. We will return. Oh! and they allow pets.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjnightingale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Calif
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

The Sands Regency Hotel Casino located near downtown Reno is one of the best budget friendly places in Reno. The Casino is a little worn and usually smoky but the rooms are pretty comfortable. I have stayed here at least two nights for the past three months and I have been happy with the accomadations. I always ask for an updated room that has new bedding so maybe thats why I feel the rooms are descent. The pillows are big and comfy and the mattresses are pretty good. I was happy with the air conditioners as it kept the rooms nice and cold. Overall the rooms were pretty clean. I have been lucky to have gotten free rooms every month. If I were to pay for the room the price was usually under $40 a night. Ohh yeah I forgot to mention that dogs are allowed at this hotel for an extra fee.I have had no luck gambling in the casino here so I like to walk a block East to the Eldorado, Silver Legacy, CIrcus Circus & Harrahs. I wouldn't recommend walking alone especially if your female as some of the street people look shady. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drinkwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I just stayed at the Sands for 9 nights,I arrived late & the front desk was busy but moving people at a fairly fast pace. My room was everything I had asked for in regards to my reservation request .Still not impressed with the smell of cigarette smoke filtering into the room,even though I was on a non smoking floor,there needs to be an improvement here,the smell made me feel sick everyday.Housekeeping staff could be a little quieter when they come on shift at 8 am every morning,I was woken up everyday by there crash banging around and loud talking in the hallways. The Casino itself still needs to clean up some of the questionable looking people that seem to hang around inside and outside the Hotel, not a good image for quest to have to see & feel somewhat uncomfortable around. I ate in 3 of the Hotel restraurants, Mel`s was average but always quick and cheap, Love the Cabana Cafe good food and again good prices,was not too impressed with the Copa Bar & Grill. I asked the Hostess if I could use my players card to pay before I was seated and she said do you have any Cash to pay, not sure where she was going with that statement. My first dinner there was the PrimeRib,I asked for it to be cooked well & it arrived almost rare, so I sent it back and when the server brought it back the potatoes were stone cold,hence I was done with eating at that point.Someone came over & spoke to me about my meal but I had to ask her who she was first I guess she was the restraunt manager,she did offer to take care of my meal but by that time it was already paid for.Overall most of the employees where plesant in the Hotel,from the front desk staff,Cage staff and Casino employees,but there were a few who looked totally miserable.I still think there are areas which the Sands could improve but I guess time will tell.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Burnaby55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

the room was just ok lots of room in it the staff and the food was great and only 2 blocks from down town nice pool if your on a budget this is the place to stay...........

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rickann5511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
just outside of St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This casino/hotel is about 2 blocks from Virginia street. We happened to be staying here for two nights during Hot August Nights classic car event. The hotel offers free parking but if it's a big weekend you may not get a parking spot even if you are staying in the hotel (we narrowly got our spot the first night) This was my first time in Reno and the Sands. It was nice enough and cheap enough (like $35/night). For the price it fit my expectations. I almost wish I would have spent more and stayed somewhere a little nicer--the car show kept the clientele decent but I could easily see some dodgy people hanging out here because of the cheap rooms. The housekeeping staff was friendly and wished us a good morning when we were going out. The front desk seemed to be consistently under staffed, most times I noticed just one person working. There was a Mel's Diner downstairs but I didn't eat there, we opted instead to find an authentic burrito joint in the residential area. I don't gamble very much but we did go to the casino and it gave us about 2 hours entertainment for $40 and beer is free while you gamble so that was a plus.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinC76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.3 mi away
Eldorado Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Regency Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Regency Casino Hotel

Property: The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Address: 345 N Arlington Ave, Reno, NV 89501-1132
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Regency Casino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terrible's Sands Regency offers over 800 guestrooms, including the largest standard guestrooms in downtown Reno, and 700 non-smoking rooms. All hotel guests receive valuable food, beverage, and gaming offers and much more. On-site amenities include salon, wedding chapel, flower shop and ski/bike rental shop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Regency Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Reno
Regency Hotel Sands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing