We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Silver Legacy Resort Reno” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Silver Legacy Resort Reno”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Spent 5 days at the Silver legacy in Reno for a food convention. Love having a shuttle to and from the airport. Front desk staff was very friendly. I asked for a room away from the elevator. Good thing I had running shoes, because it's a long walk. Banquest food was grea. Flavors Buffet was excellent. Only drawback was the smell from smokers.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chris1916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,549
    4,601
    1,538
    408
    284
See reviews for
3,330
5,229
861
1,075
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Silver Legacy is in a complex of three casino-hotels that are connected via skyway at the 2nd level. Once you have checked into one it takes a bit of trial and error, but you can generally figure out how to get from one to the other. All three properties have ginormous casinos and while smoking is technically only permitted in the gaming areas, there are few places in any of the properties where you can't smell cigarette smoke. If you are offended by smoking, this would not be the place for you -- you have to walk through the smoky casino areas to get to almost anything near the hotels -- restaurants, coffee shops, etc. While the rooms may be non-smoking (supposedly), as soon as you walk out into the hallway, a waft of secondhand smoke smell greets you. The first night, I heard yelling from the room next door pretty much all night -- walls are pretty thin and you can hear people on either side pretty easily -- luckily the second night and on was pretty quiet. The Silver Legacy is designed to look like a turn-of-the-century hotel and the designers did a great job with the main lobby and other areas.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer beautiful views and are further from the street noise as there seems to be a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fargo
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First, I do not like public smoking areas and I am no big fan of big casinos. Don’t get me wrong, I do not care if you smoke and gamble, but I do care that I have to co-exist in the smoke-filled environment with you. With that background, I generally do not like casino hotels and Silver Legacy is a casino hotel. However, I had no choice of hotel accommodations for this trip and, after I trudged through the large, smokey casino to get to or from outside or to or from my parked car, I have no complaints about the Silver Legacy.

The front desk personnel were polite and efficient. The rooms were adequately equipped. The room and bathroom were clean. The exercise facility was clean and well equipped. And the free airport shuttle was both convenient and ran on time. So if you want to or must stay in a downtown Reno hotel, Silver Legacy is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location for downtown reno. 3-in-1 all hotels easy access to circus circus and el Dorado With out having to go outside which is a good thing kinda sketchy outside especially at the wee hours.

Rooms are decent. Similar to holiday inn/ best western experience.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
198 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for four days with six guys for national bowling. Stayed on the 16th floor. Room was fine - nothing great - bathroom was outdated but everything was clean. Beds were advertised as pillowtop - NOT!! They were super firm with a very thin mattress pad that covered about 75% of the mattress. Pillows were a joke - no fill to any of them. Same for all four rooms we had. Health club was nice. Was actually nicer to shower and shave down there than in the room. Sauna and steam were perfect after a day of bowling. Best part of the hotel by far! We have stayed everywhere downtown and unfortunately this place is the best there is. Will stay again there next year but hope the pillow tops show up!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains so you don't have the 10 million candlepower lights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel has always been a positive experience. Although we've encountered lines at check in, they seem to have an "all hands on deck" attitude that makes the best of the situation. There is security at the elevators checking for room keys. Rooms are very comfortable for 2 people. Bathroom is separate from makeup area. Furnishings are fairly standard: bed, dresser with flat panel tv, table and chairs. Bed was very comfortable. The rooms on higher floors have the best views of course. My wife really enjoys the spa/fitness room. Although closed this trip, the outdoor pool on the fourth floor is small but nice.

I enjoy the casino at the Silver Legacy. Nice selection of table games. Casino is more spacious and light than the typical dark casino environments. However, my wife prefers the slots elsewhere. They removed the blackjack machines that she enjoyed since our last visit.

This is a "hotel" review but, I think some broad statements about the restaurants are appropriate. We were never really happy with the restaurants here and the changes they're making aren't going to improve my opinion. It appears the the "cantina" restaurant currently being built will be managed by an outside corporation. I suspect that might be the only improvement to come out of the current plan. The right half (the patio) of Café Sedona will now be "Pearl Oysters" which is a remake of Sterlings. Looks to me like the cantina made an offer the SL couldn't turn down and now they're making room for it.

This is our favorite hotel in Reno. We've stayed in the suites here and they're very nice. These rooms are nicely sized for two people but any more than that would be a bit cozy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollister, California, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Went to Silver Legacy for a long weekend. We got a great price because we have a players account. Check in was very easy, all the staff is very friendly. We were somewhat disappointed in the room, it was a corner unit facing the street, guess I was spoiled because the year before we had a larger room with a jacuzzi. Anyway this one was adequate, basic with a king bed. No microwave or frig. We were there to go skiing and do some gambling. Silver Legacy has lots of nice restaurants though our first experience at their 24 hour cafe was not the best, we had to wait a long time for our meal after a late check in. For the price it was good, will return. My biggest complaint was their pool was closed when it was 70 degrees outside, don't understand that. The other resort we stayed at in Reno had their pool open and that was in January, my wife was very disappointed as she had packed her swimsuit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#17 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#16 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Legacy Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort and Casino

Property: Silver Legacy Resort and Casino
Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501-1138
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Legacy Resort and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno
Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing