We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Stay in Reno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I recently stayed at the Silver Legacy on a Friday night while visiting family in the area. My room was on the 20th floor and the view was excellent. The hot water in the shower took forever to heat up, which is something that others have included in their reviews as well. The casino area of the Silver Legacy connects with Circus Circus and Eldorado Hotels, so there is plenty to do without leaving the property. The staff at this hotel is extremely helpful and professional. There are several restaurants between the 3 hotels and a wide variety of food to pick from. The hotel can be a little noisy with people partying late into the night, but that should be expected at hotel and casino in Reno. If you are looking for the big casino experience in Reno, I recommend the Silver Legacy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19,408)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18,597 - 18,603 of 19,408 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am an attorney in Reno at least once per week from Los Angeles, I have stayed at the peppermill and Atlantis. Both were great. Upon arrival at Silver Legacy, I was informed that there was absolutely no way I could check in for hours. I explained that I needed to change into my suit, tights, heels for federal court prior to that time. Hotel reply "you can use the public restroom" Seriously. Wow. There isn't one single room in the entire hotel that is ready? Don't expect understanding or any type of compassion or accommodation at this hotel. Go to the Peppermill or the Atlantis instead, nothing but positive customer service at either.

Stayed: March 2013
3  Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staff was always pleasant. Rooms were always clean. Toilets sit low with tissue about chin height. Hot water takes some time getting to the tub/shower and even longer to the sink. Friends stayed at Eldorado and their toilets and tissue and hot water was the same for them too. The buffet was closed Monday and Tuesday, so we ate the buffet at the Eldorado. Beds were comfortable, pillows were not. Keeping a comfortable tempertaure in the room was a challenge. The TV would freeze up and we had to call for service to the room, there is a reset button on the back of the set that needed to be pushed every so often. Kind of a pain, if you rented a movie and the set froze, then you had to call down and have them reset the movie and the TV. The chairs provided in the rooms were only good for putting your shoes on, uncomfortable for sitting any length of time. The constant announcements of "another Silver Legacy Winner has hit a jackpot" on the casino floor was annoying after a while. The penny slots are such a great marketing tool - play max bet at 190 - meaning you just played a $1.90 spin of that machine. But they seemed to hit more than the quarter slots, winning 50 pennies at a time. Room service was quick and the food was great. We wanted to rent a car for the day to go to Tahoe and Donner Pass, Hertz (there on site) gave us an outragious price for a car ($250 for the day), but I went to a chair and sat down then reserved a car on my phone for $30, and they had to honor the internet price. We rented a nice SUV for the day for the price of a compact car. Overall it was a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Get a room West facing, higher up, for a great view of the sunset and mountains. We stayed in 2570...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidLifeTraveler018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The Silver Legacy is at the heart of all things good about Reno. Spacious rooms, professional staff, exemplary housekeeping, nice amenities including as user friendly exercise room. The location attached to the El Dorado provides several blocks of sights, sounds, entertainment, restaurants, bars and options without leaving the building, so to speak. Its convenient mid town location is an easy access points to nearby establishments and the trendy river walk. The added bonus is the off season rates that render it cheaper than staying at home. Always my first choice in Reno.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unpre10ous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We are 2 seniors and were excited to combine a train trip over Donner Pass with a 4 day stay in Reno. Silver Legacy is easy walking distance from the Amtrak station and the low, mid-winter rates seemed compelling. Our 16th floor mountain-view room was spacious, clean, comfortable and had a gorgeous view of the Sierras looking northwest. Housekeeping was wonderful about accommodating odd hours. The downstairs buffet was delicious and reasonable. All of that said, we were very disappointed to learn the advertised free wifi was for only one connection. We travel with multiple computers. This was just one of many things set up to get extra money. We found out that we would be charged an additional $11.06 per day for "resort tax" on top of the $4.50 per day in taxes we had pre-paid. The flat screened TV had PBS was blocked, and all the outlets and portals were blocked. It would be impossible to plug in another device like a video camera. The free internet connection crashed for several hours on two days. We tried calling the concierge for help. A recording said that the concierge was gone and to contact the bell hop. Bell Service referred us to the Front Desk. The Front Desk gave us an 877 number and basically said "get it fixed yourself." When we asked whether to dial the usual 9 + 1 to make the outgoing call, we were told "no, just dial that number." This was wrong information. We eventually got the internet connection fixed, but it took a long time. Lastly, Café Sedona were total rip offs! Sedona even tacked on a 30% “gratuity” fee for take out! Walk across the street to McDonalds for coffee, and to the excellent Mexican Restaurant for a truly delicious meal. For gamblers, Silver Legacy may be perfect. For us, it might not be.

Room Tip: Ask for a tower room with mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msorangeblossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've stayed at several hotels in Reno, but I continue returning to the Silver Legacy. The staff has proven to be very friendly and helpful. Housekeeping has done an excellent job of cleaning our room at all hours of the day. The rooms have always been clean and needing no maintenance. Safety has never been an issue. The restaurant selections are super, whether you are looking for fast food or a five star meal. I highly recommend the Silver Legacy.

Room Tip: High floors offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Profromdover12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was in Reno on business and was told to stay at the Silver Legacy. As long as you stay in the Tower floors (18 and above), you will have a good night's sleep! I was put up in a room with a view of the mountains lit with morning sun; the bed was comfortable and the room spacious. The exercise room is cramped, though the changing facilities are good.

If you want to eat in the casino area, walk to the El Dorado restaurants, which are better than Silver Legacy or Circus Circus. Better yet, go to Campo (with chef Mark Estee, who won a James Beard award).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swineshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 64 in Reno
6,838 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Legacy Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501-1138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $83 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Legacy Resort Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing