We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Day - one day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 5, 2012

SL is a place that I've stayed at for at least several dozen times over the years. 6 months ago it declared bankruptcy. Just before we left for Reno, we received a letter from SL notifying us that they were out of bankruptcy & thanking us for our patronage. I never had any doubt that they would continue operating but the effects of the slow economy have been showing for the last 2 years. We've stayed in everything from the smallest room (located in a corner of the building) to very roomy suites. What we've noticed over the last 2 years is a slowdown in renovations and limited hours for the restaurants. This was typical of every casino in Reno. In spite of this, SL has managed to offer a farily decent product for its guests. On this trip we stayed in a deluxe room with 2 beds which seem to have had some updating & a flat screen TV & a large bathroom.

One of the things that I enjoy is the friendliness of everyone who works there. From check in to check out, I can say that we always felt welcome by all the staff. We came on Thanksgiving Day, one of the their busiest days which was evidenced by the garage which I had never seen so full ever. If I have a quibble, it is parking in the garage which is a 10-story not-so-merry-go-round. You have to be careful for oncoming traffic and the ends sticking out of the oversize vehicles whose owners are too lazy to park where they ought to. Other than that, I can say that I usually have a good experience here. Since we came in late, we only had dinner at Cafe Sedona which is open late. Our normal fare is to order Chinese at Cafe Sedona but the special caught my eye. This day, they had a Thanksgiving turkey special which was good. Normally, if we're around on weekends, we make it a point to get up for their Sunday brunch which is the best brunch for the money in NV & that includes LV.

TIP: If you're set up for room charge, try going next door to Eldorado & try some of their restaurants. Since both places have the same owner, cross-property charges are permitted & Eldorado's cafe has a deli and jars of coffee beans which have made great gifts for friends.

Room Tip: I've never had to ask for a change in rooms but the hallways are long so you might want to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank calnevatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Hello calnevatraveler,

Thank you for posting a review of Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor! We always appreciate feedback from our guests so we can know how to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Thank you for your steady patronage to us over the years through both our hard times and good. We are delighted to hear you had a good stay and that you enjoyed our Cafe Sedona's Thanksgiving Dinner! We hope to have you back as our guest at Silver Legacy again soon!

Sincerely,

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19,437)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18,671 - 18,677 of 19,437 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

Visited between Thanksgiving and Christmas. The place was very reasonably priced. All staff were friendly.
Caution: Watch out for the "Resort Fee"--this adds another $11.00 per day to any rates that you are quoted or you see online!

Room Tip: East facing rooms will give you glorious sunrise vistas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

99% great, 1% really bad! This hotel is great. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are good size for a non-suite, the beds are oooh so comfy, and fixtures were current. Everything was very well laid out and the elevators were plentiful. Restaurants were also plentiful. Try the Oyster Bar restaurant. The chowder was good. Now the bad….There was a single cup coffee pot in the bathroom area. You were given two pods of coffee (2 very small cups......total) If you needed more coffee, $3 per pod. Each pod makes about 5 ounces of coffee. If you have two people in the room, you do not even get a full cup of coffee! This to me was crazy. I would definitely recommend this hotel. Just bring your own coffee (or purchase $100 worth at the check-in desk when you arrive.)

Room Tip: 2377 was away from the elevator and on the 23rd floor. King bed was comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lgdtexoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

You may circle around a bit before you find the hotel parking entrance. Expect to find your spot on, say, 8th level (that was July and a weekend). Our room's window was overlooking some half- star motels and a Chinese fast food. But this is Reno. Reno is no Vegas. A few blocks of razzle dazzle and the rest looks a bit like the Thirld World. Hotel felt like home, though. Nice lobby and casino. Cost less than half of Bellagio and did not scare us with snacks connected to electronic sensors.
The hotel restaurant that serves steak, etc. was not good and the service was poor. Better to look outside for food.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MICHAELTAMPABAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It's Reno, for goodness sake. The town is like a very poor, very unfortunate Vegas. The megacomplex that is Silver Legacy, Circus Circus, and another major franchise (El Dorado? Sundowner? other?) there is something to behold. The denizens of this nuthouse are even more interesting to watch. So whether it's watching the Fresno fans in town for the Nevada football came, or before the TMOS show at the Circus Circus, or after you've been thrown out of the show, the people are a hoot to watch, The room was perfectly pleasant. If we're back that way, we'll stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xenos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent the night at the Silver legacy so I could catch a early morning plane. The rooms wee nice, the casino fun and those beds were so comfortable that I am going to call and find out what mattress they have so I can buy one for my house!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeganFinn, Guest Relations Manager at Silver Legacy Resort Casino, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hello Mary C,

Thank you so much for posting a review of Silver Legacy Resort Casino on TripAdvisor! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay with us, and hope to have you back as our guest again soon!

Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Reno, NV

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for three days and the rooms are very nice. Had a great time and the food was very good. Room service good. Was there for a National meeting and the conference room was good. Had an enjoyable time and the food at the restaurants was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#12 of 63 in Reno
6,851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 63 in Reno
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Legacy Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Legacy Resort Casino

Address: 407 N Virginia St, Reno, NV 89501-1138
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#7 Family Hotel in Reno
#9 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $83 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Silver Legacy Resort Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the excitement of Silver Legacy Resort Casino, located in the heart of Downtown Reno. Elegance and luxury surrounds you with over 1,700 rooms and suites. Immerse yourself in the captivating atmosphere of this beautiful hotel, where the Sierra Mountains create an exquisite backdrop for your getaway; offering world-class skiing, golfing and outdoor activities just minutes from the comfort of your spacious Reno hotel room. Silver Legacy Resort Casino offers all of the amenities you've come to expect from a modern mega resort, and yet still emphasizes the award-winning customer service that the property has built its reputation on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Legacy Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Legacy Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing