We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Great NON SMOKING hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great NON SMOKING hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our trip was 8 days in Reno. We stayed at the Plaza Resort Club and was pleasantly surprised. I read the reviews and some are worth listening to. One reviewer said the pillows were hard and to bring your own. We did and were glad:) The exercise room is hot and the machines were not the best. We exercised once while there. The hall carpets are worn and could use replacing. Don't let any of that dissuade you from staying at the Plaza Resort because the good definitely out weigh the bad. The rooms are very clean. One of the cleanest hotel rooms I've stayed in....especially the bathroom. Nice large room..refrigerator, coffee pot, plenty of towels and a GREAT shower. All of the hotel employees were exceptionally pleasant. I would stay there again. Bet of all it's a non smoking hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. We had a view of Reno and it was great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grandmaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
41
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

I had purchased a certificate (allegedly a "bargain") for a week's stay anywhere in the world. Unfortunately, there weren't many places that I wanted to go where you didn't have to put in additional funds to stay there (significant additional funds). That said, we finally decided on Plaza on the River, a timeshare property that also acts as a "hotel".

I was expecting a barely acceptable accommodation, in a crummy downtown Reno neighborhood. I was very wrong. The Plaza is right next to the River Walk, which is a very pleasant setting. The neighborhood is a little sketch, but no different than the rest of downtown Reno or downtown SF. The accommodations were lovely. We had a studio, which was very spacious for two people, nicely appointed, very very clean. Impressively clean and well-kept. Beautiful floor to ceiling view of the Sierras. The lobby is very cute in an Old West sort of style with lots of oak furniture. The staff are very nice, very helpful and pleasant. There were lots of families staying at the Plaza and all the guests we met were very friendly.

The Plaza is non-smoking. However, they do have the "7th Floor", which has a lounge area with TV, juices, sweet rolls, a pool, hot tub and an area for smokers. They do charge about $5 a day for parking and there is a valet that has to park and get your car.

Don't worry about a timeshare presentation. I asked what timeshares cost and the front desk clerk didn't even know or know if any were still available. I would highly recommend The Plaza if you want a change from the big hotel scenario. The Plaza does not have gambling on-site. Very quiet and a respite from the downtown casino craziness.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mariah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We had read the reviews and were a little apprehensive about staying at a dated property. When we arrived, the lobby and room looked exactly like the photographs. Everything was old looking. We sighed as we began to put our things away. However, as we inspected the room we found it to be exceptionally clean and well maintained. The refrigerator and microwave were adequate for our needs. The cathode tube television was not a problem because I was going to be attending a conference all day with receptions during the evening, and my wife was going to be busy doing classwork online. We were surprised when we pulled the drapes to find floor to ceiling windows with fantastic views of the mountain range and the Truckee river. The hotel was approximately 3 blocks from the casino where my conference was being held. I walked on several days. We stayed for four days and became increasingly fond of the property. It was the initial impact of the dated furniture, etc. that we had to get over. The staff was extremely courteous as all the reviews alluded to, and the 24 hr coffee and tea service was an added bonus. The only downside had nothing to do with the hotel. It seems that the city has taken a nosedive from an economic standpoint since my last visit 15 years ago. There were quite a few street wanderers. Couldn't tell if they were homeless or not. I tried walking to one of my receptions one evening after dark and ended up having a guy cross the street and start following me. I had to go "hard" on the guy and he backed off. Still it was disconcerting and I starting driving the 3 blocks in the evenings to my receptions. We were surprised to have daily made service since the property is a timeshare and we booked through RCI. Finally, we learned from another review that you can ask for a dish set. This we did and it was very adequate with silverware, dishes, cups, knives, and plastic storage bowls.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms 1801, 1701, 1601, etc. which are the rooms that offer the best scenic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here for a week. It is located right downtown across from one end of the River Walk. There are plenty of places to eat within walking distance. You have to pay a small charge for each day of parking (5.50/day), but a car is not necessary; if it isn't within walking distance (most things are), you can catch the bus. They even offer a tour of Virginia City, Carson City, and other locations in the area (lasts 7-8 hours) for $70.

The staff is very friendly and willing to help. They offer complimentary juice and pastry in the morning, and they leave hot water and coffee/tea/hot chocolate mix in the lounge area 24/7. The rooms themselves are quiet, spacious, and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lostinspace4good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany ny
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we just returned from an 8 day trip to Reno. (10/8-16/13) at the Plaza Resort Club down by the riverwalk. The staff was great and free coffee, pasties and juice was complimentary. I loved the antique furniture throughout the building. The hot tub was the best. Everything we needed was within walking distance. Reno is so much more laid back and friendlier than Vegas. Sitting down by the riverwalk listening to the running water on a sunny day was wonderful. We had a corner studio with windows floor to ceiling. You could see the snow capped mountains when you woke up in the morning. We can't wait to go back again next year. One little thing I didn't like was how hard the pillows felt.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobi136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent a week at the end of September at the Plaza Resort on the River in Reno and found it to be a very nice choice. The property is well maintained and although this is basically a timeshare property, all the rooms are studios. However, the rooms are large and well equipped with lots of closet and storage space even for people spending several days. They have a microwave and a small refrigerator. The furniture is older, in keeping with the theme of the place, but very functional. The only thing that is a little strange is that they still have the older, smaller TVs and not flat screens in the rooms. The location is within a couple of blocks of Virginia Street where many of the casinos are located and there are several restaurants and a nice convenience store near the resort. Parking is by valet only, but at $5.50 per night is quite reasonable and convenient.
Most of the rooms at the Plaza don’t have much of a view, except possibly some of the corner rooms near the river. You also do have some ‘street’ noise, but we weren’t bothered by it even though we were there during the time of the Street Vibrations motorcycle rally. We did not utilize any of the recreation facilities at the resort (pool, sundeck, exercise room) but we did look at them and they seemed like they would be quite useful for those who took advantage of these. The ‘breakfast’ offering was juice and a packaged pastry with coffee being available in the 7th floor lounge. This won’t be adequate for those that want a real breakfast, but there are several restaurants in the area and in most of the nearby casinos. The staff at the Plaza is very accommodating and ready to answer any question and assist with any need.
Reno itself doesn’t offer the variety and magnitude of entertainment that other cities like Vegas do, however, there are some interesting things to do in the area such as the Riverwalk, Automobile Museum and a movie theater. Of course in the winter, there are numerous skiing opportunities within easy driving range. It seems to be (at least through the week) an older more laid back group that is present in Reno, but that seems to be appropriate for the city. If you’ve been wondering about a trip to Reno, it should prove to be entertaining for several days and I would recommend the Plaza Resort as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: A higher room on the west side of the building would probably get the least street noise. Unless th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a large comfy room on the 18th floor w/ a great view of downtown, though the city was under a blanket of haze and smoke from the Yosemite fires the 4 days I was there. Front desk staff are personable, helpful, and very friendly, I loved the old, antique like furniture on every floor, the old prints on the walls, and the larger pieces throughout the lobby. Outdoor pool, coin-op laundry, and a very convenient location, though if there is no baseball game and one doesn't visit casinos, there ain't much join on...(.was there for "Burning Man" opening)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clif4nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#17 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#16 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Property: Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Address: 121 West St, Reno, NV 89501-1313
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River At Plaza Resort Club Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing