We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“We have to do something this New Years what if 2012 is real.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We have to do something this New Years what if 2012 is real.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We decided the night before New Years to go Reno. I couldn't stay at home boring old Monterey County with no firework show. We drove got there at 11 p.m. everything was booked so we had to get what we could. The Plaza on the River. Was a block walk away from the little strip that is Reno. Room was over $100.00 but come on in a sold out city for New Year's eve pretty good price. The Lobby needs to be updated. I am thinking that is how it was back in the silver rush. The room however was nice. King bed with a couch, refridgerator, microwave and safe. We were only in it to sleep but I loved the room. New year's in Reno was great the firework display was amazing down on the strip so much fun people drunk having a good time. The police were present but did not harass. We are going again this New Year's.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosamichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    44
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
41
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is older and doesn't look like much from the outside. However, our room was large and clean. Everything was as advertized. The staff was very professional and friendly.

Our room faced the city; we could see "the strip" from our window. This east facing window was blasted in the morning with the rising sun. We had to keep the heavy curtains closed to keep the sun from baking us. While we were there in late September, the day time temps still reached 90 or so. Having said that, the air conditioner and ceiling fan did a good job of keeping the room cool.

There is no gaming, bar, or restaurant at the hotel. This isn't a problem. All of those things and more are 2 short blocks away.

The only time I wasn't completely happy was when we had to wait our turn for the valet to retrieve our car. During certain periods, they really could use more than one person for this position.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pogi1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Another time I may have missed not having a full kitchen and dishwaher. This time I was in Reno for a reunion and was too busy to have used it anyway. The frig, microwave and coffee pot served my needs just fine. And by the way, the "instant coffee" (coffee bags) on the seventh floor is delicious. I hope to have the opportunity to stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank egails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
109 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We are currently staying here on our first trip to Reno. The rooms are nice: good lighting, huge windows, nice furniture, large bathroom and closet, comfortable beds, comes with a fridge, microwave, toaster and coffee maker. Kind and helpful staff, even housekeeping. The Riverwalk is just around the corner and a Methodist and a Catholic Church are very close. It's a quieter area but there is still alot to do nearby.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mb_explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stumbled on this place while traveling alone (female). I picked it because it seemed safe, clean, had secured parking and was conveniently located. I was pleasantly surprised by the antiques, spacious room, quality soap and comfortable bed. I rarely sleep well in hotels as every little noise wakes me but it was quiet enough that I never stirred. Even better there was no smoking, drinking or gaming in the hotel and since there's plenty of that in Reno it was nice to have an alternative. I especially liked being able to take a shower and make it from my room and out of the building without smelling like cigarette smoke. The rooms are dated but very clean and include lots of extras only seen in luxury hotels. Has the vibe of an old men's club with the dark wood and antiques. Definitely, different but wonderful in many ways and memorable. It's exactly what some of you are looking for.

Room Tip: The indoor pool and free 24 hr coffee are on the 7th floor - so would recommend that families with y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cmal777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Olhacker took the words out of my mouth - everything he experienced we did, too. We had several surprises. First, we got to choose floor and exposure. Second, there were a lot of antiques on every floor. Third, the furnishings in the room were excellent. Fourth, the bathroom caulking was perfect - a pet peave. The people were as great as the facility and furnishings. Excellent indoor pool and well-guarded game and table pool rooms. We were lucky to have nightly concerts from across the River Walk. If a window openned, we could have heard it from our room. We will stay at the Plaza every time we visit Reno.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunCitySteve706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

Using an RCI Exchange, I was prepared to be disappointed because it was "all we could get" in the area for July.
Actually, it has exceded our expectations in every way. The period furnishings, the size of the rooms, the views, the friendly staff, the proxinity to the River Walk, and a short walk to the "strip".

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Olhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#17 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#16 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,708 reviews
2.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club

Property: Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Address: 121 West St, Reno, NV 89501-1313
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River At Plaza Resort Club Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing