We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent inexpensive motel”
Review of Motel 6 Reno West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Reno West
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We were looking for an inexpensive nights stay because we were closed out of the Donner Pass. This suited us just fine. Pleasant, efficient ladies at the front desk, clean rooms and they accepted dogs. Just what we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CFMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 77 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2011

The "non-smoking" room reeked of cigarettes so badly we could hardly sleep. At dawn the traffic on the I-80 on ramp sounded like it was coming through the room. Coffee was cold. Not sure how this place earned earlier ratings, but not worth staying here at any price.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UTtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We had some trouble finding the motel, but were pleasantly surprised. Like other people have said already, it's really good value. Of course, this chain attracts a certain crowd (we even saw some folks grilling sausages on their 'porch'), but apparently the rooms are pretty well isolated. We were on the right side of the freeway, so no traffic noise either. Service was very friendly, another pleasant surprise.
Too bad for that typical Motel 6 odor: tobacco camouflaged with a certain 'air freshener'. At least this time it was only somewhat noticeable.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room on the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

I stayed here when traveling with dogs. It is a typical Motel 6, but is sufficiently clean and felt like a safe environment. We stayed on a holiday weekend, when other hotels were well over $100, Motel 6 was under $60.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Motel 6 gives, for the most part, what it advertises - a clean, comfortable room at very reasonable rates. My only problems with this one were the proximity to the freeway which meant a lot of road noise, and the fact that the non-smoking room had most obviously been smoked in - the smell is impossible to eradicate, and ashtrays in the room and cigarette burns in the bedspreads are a dead giveaway. To be fair, a hotel can't control if some drone ignores a non-smoking restriction... they can charge the client, but the damage is done. The front-desk person was very helpful and offered to change our room without hesitation, but I was tired and didn't want to bother.

Our room was clean and functional, and the rate was very low. I would stay here again, but would bring earplugs and ask for a room on the non-freeway side.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the freeway as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Old_Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2010

I have been a repeat guest at this Motel 6 when I come into Reno to my corporate office since December 1986 and each visit has gotten better. The management and staff are outstanding, the location very convenient, and the rooms clean and comfortable. Additionally having my car parked in front of the room and the feeling of securiity that this property has plus the unbeatable room rate have keep me coming back happily for the last 24 years.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
Thank USroadwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Pros:
front desk personnel was very nice and friendly
rooms were clean and comfortable
it located next to a domino's pizza,so,if you have the munchies for pizza,you are in luck
and right next to Domino's there is a liquor store with some over priced items for your light snacking and boozing pleasure
and since I travels with pooch,being able to stay with my fur baby is always a plus

cons:
highway noise can get pretty loud at times
they sold me wi fi cards to a non wi fi room and having to move to another room the next day when they would not sell me a wi fi card for the next 24 hours.
living very close to a residential area can get loud with people yelling too darn early in the morning(domestic disputes)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arwen_Windwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
3.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 63 in Reno
688 reviews
2 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
3.3 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Reno Airport
7.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Reno West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Reno West

Address: 1400 Stardust St, Reno, NV 89503-4204
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: $50 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Reno West 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Reno West is located off of I-80 at Keystone Ave. Restaurants and shops are nearby. Entertainment is 1 mile. Fleischmann Planetarium, at the University of Nevada campus, is 1 mile. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel 6 Reno West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Reno West Hotel Reno
Motel Six Reno
Reno Motel Six
Reno Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing