We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most horrible place I have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Reno
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The room was filthy, hair in the bed, drawers. Food crumbs left in the drawers. Something that looked like blood running down the door jamb into the bathroom. Cigarette ashes left in the toilet. Traffic noise so loud you could not sleep. Matress hard as the ground. It was horrible. We had paid for 2 nights but got up the next morning and found another place to stay. Explained to the clerk why we were leaving and about how filthy the room was. She did not show any concern at all nor did she offer a refund or the money back for the 2nd night. We have stayed at Days Inn in other towns and never had this experience. I would not suggest this place to a homeless person!

Room Tip: Read reviews before booking any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hippiechick829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2011

Rooms are fine, but location is terrible. Too far from downtown, in a tough hood. Half of the hot faces main highway which makes them very loud. Find something else is my tip!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hammeroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2011

Beware of the terrible service. We prolonged our stay at Days Inn by one day and went for a trip to Virginia City. When we got back, we couldn't access the room, and our stuff wasn't there. Apparently, they misunderstood what we said at the reception (the receptionist Engilsh was rather bad) and at 1 PM checked us out without our permission or knowledge (even though they had our credit card!). We found our belongings in a common space, packed in transparent plastic bags (socks, underwear, bras perfectly visible) without any supervision (we had our passports and computers in the bags). We understandably made a fuss about the whole situation, but all they could do was to give us a rather pathetic discount. We asked to talk to the manager, but the receptionist couldn't get hold of him.

This situation totally unacceptable: they made a mistake, they acted without any respect for our property and privacy (I am not fond of people looking at my underwear), they didn't even TRY to make up for it, we never got an apology. The people running this motel should seriously consider a different career.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the freeway (or get ear plugs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank szopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hotel appears to be frequented by the down and out. Noisy and lots of evening activity. A/C didn't work well and was noisy. Small room that was very dated/old/worn out. The only thing going for it was a cheap price and the fact that they had a room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrvlTheWorld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

I was looking for an inexpensive place to stay while passing through Reno that was easy to access and not a casino. I was nervous booking this motel given its close proximaty to the freeway and with the low price didn't expect much. I was pleasantly surprised. I requested a room facing away from the freeway which eliminated the freeway noise. The room was clean, not dated, and didn't feel cramped. Front desk staff was polite and professional. Breakfast was simple with some low quality danishes, juice and coffee but it was enough to get us going. I stayed at this Days Inn again a few days later on my return trip home and had a similar experience which shows me consistancy. This will be my preferred place to stay when I pass through Reno and need a simple, clean, comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 250pmpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

It was late and we just wanted a clean, safe place to sleep during a road trip. This place fit the bill.

The desk clerk was polite and business like. The hotel was not fancy, not near casinos or nightlife, but compared to the other dives we had encountered, was a big relief.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
Thank frendli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2009

We stayed here for one night during our travel along Hwy 80. It was a very nice hotel. It had the bare minimum for towels so we did have to ask for extras. Room was quiet. There is an on-site laundry facility on the fourth floor which was good. Overall good value!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrncessMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
651 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Reno Hotel and Casino
2.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#41 of 64 in Reno
231 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Reno

Address: 701 E 7th St, Reno, NV 89512-3429 (Formerly Days Inn Reno)
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: $51 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Reno 2*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Americas Best Value Inn Reno offers the most value for your money when staying for business, pleasure, sightseeing or just passing through. We offer clean spacious rooms, a 24-hour front desk, free coffee in the lobby, free continental breakfast, and free Wi-Fi throughout the property. Our guest rooms include coffeemaker, hairdryer, cable TV, HBO, ESPN, desk with lamp, and clock radio. Take advantage of our extremely comfortable beds and relax while saving money year-round with our Kids Stay Free Policy (11 and under in parent's room). For your convenience, our hotel offers both smoking and non-smoking rooms. Pets are welcome, restrictions and charges apply. We are located located South of I-80 on corner of East 7th Street and Wells Ave, just half a mile from the main strip downtown. We are near local attractions such as National Bowling Stadium, Aces Ballpark, and National Automobile Museum. Americas Best Value Inn Reno is your best choice within "The Biggest Little City in the World". We offer ideal accommodations and location whether you are in town for entertainment, music and food festivals, sightseeing, wildlife activities or simply passing through on your way to Las Vegas or Sacramento. At Americas Best Value Inn Reno our goal is to provide our guests a great experience, not just a place to stay. At Americas Best Value Inn Reno, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Reno
Reno Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing