We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Bear Diner

Black Bear Diner
Ranked #28 of 906 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

Saturday morning for breakfast was busy but I was seated right away and had coffee within a minute! As usual with most Black Bear Diners, The food was very good with large portions, and very fresh. The wait staff was very attentive.
Lunch and dinner at other Black Bear Diners is very good as well so I would bet this is as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RxDive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    95
    23
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a go to again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stopped here for breakfast recently, and wow, that was some good food. Only glitch was kind of a long wait for our food, but the booth next to us had to wait even longer. Other than that, I would definitely give them another try when we get back to Reno. Cute décor too!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jamaicameonemoretime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Bear-y good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Sorry, I couldn't resist.

We enjoyed a very nice dinner here. We each got the Bear Paw Chicken Fried Steak. This is under their "Little Less" section of the menu. They also have the Bigfoot Chicken Fried Steak, which comes with more food. Unless you have a really big appetite, go for the smaller Bear Paw item. There was plenty of food there. It comes with a salad and corn bread muffins, which were fluffy and delicious. In addition, the steak was accompanied by mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. The steak was cooked well. The only drawback, for me at least, is that it came with the light country gravy; I prefer brown gravy. That said, it still was tasty.

We wanted to sample some of the delicious-looking pies they had, but we were too full!

The service we received was very friendly and very good. We also enjoyed the atmosphere of the restaurant, very cozy like a cabin in the woods.

Looking forward to eating here again the next time we're in Reno.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ResearchGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We hit Black Bear on the way to the airport. Can't go wrong here. It was fairly crowded and I can see why. The food is really great. We just had breakfast, but it was really a good one.

Most breakfasts were priced similar to most other places. The portions were very large and everything was really fresh.

The interior was also very pleasing in a country look. Everything cooked to order and waitstaff were ion the ball.

Don't miss this place for a great breakfast (served all day).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank arnerator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
481 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Priced Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We ate breakfast here while visiting Reno, the service was great, the food was excellent, and the portions huge. If in a Reno give it a try you won't be disappointed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bear Diner also viewed

 

Been to Black Bear Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing