We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fast food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Pollo Loco

El Pollo Loco
Ranked #538 of 905 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Fast Food, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Fast food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

It's fast food for sure but a little healthier than most of the stuff that is out there. I really like it and their salsa is great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dcharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
122 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Chicken!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We used to get take out once a month from here. Great tasting chicken! If you have not tried it, please do, you will come back again for more!

Helpful?
1 Thank george-n-pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
1 review
“bad... bad...bad...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

chicken ok.... all else a big disapiontment.... wrong wrong wrong... not mexican at all. do not go trust me.... it is lousy at best. the taco, the beans, the salsa... all wrong.... for sure all wrong. do not got go unless ready for the failure. .......

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleBabbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we're used to!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I always try to visit an El Pollo Loco whenever we are visiting a city that has one. We've been to several in California, Portland, and in Las Vegas, and this was probably one of the worst ones we've ever seen. This place was dirty, the food was dry, and cold, and the salsa bar had about a half of cup of salsa left in a bowl. Everything else was gone. The staff were all in the back talking and no one was cleaning or helping the 2 customers in the restaurant. If you are looking for good El Pollo Loco, avoid the one on Virginia Street, and go the newer location in Reno... It's much cleaner, friendlier, and the food tastes the way it's supposed to taste.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank tikishark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
155 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good roast chicken”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

My family and friends love Pollo Loco because of its tasty and healthy roasted chicken. I say healthy because it's not fried unlike other in most fast food restaurants. You can choose to order dark meat (leg and thigh) or white meat (breast and wing). The chicken goes well with their Spanish Rice and tortillas although my mom prefers their Spanish Beans. I also love their cheesy pollo soup.

I was just quite disappointed with one of their staff. I think he's even a store supervisor based on his uniform. Unlike the more friendly staff at their counters, this guy raised his eyebrow when I told him that I requested for dark meat (but he served me white meat). He told me that I had to wait for 10 minutes, to which I told him that I was willing to wait. Nobody likes staff who don't smile and treat their guests with respect, whatever the establishment is.

Good thing they have delicious chicken. Otherwise, I won't keep coming back.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purplefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Pollo Loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing