We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful outdoor patio with plenty of shade, even in Reno”
Review of Stone House Cafe

Stone House Cafe
Ranked #24 of 935 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $38
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Open Seven days a week serving breakfast till 4pm lunch till 4:30 and dinner and dinner till 9pm except Sundays and Mondays 8pm. We are in a quaint 1920 Rock House located minutes from Downtown, with a cool Rock n Roll Poster collection on the walls and warm colors surround you. Gourmet all day with menu items that will awaken your palate with imagination and flavor. The selection is mind boggling and unique so everyone in your party will find the perfect dish to order. Fresh Fish, Lamb, Steaks, Tapas, oysters, burgers, sandwiches and salads galore. Breakfast and lunch all day is very popular since we are a 24 hour town. The outdoor Patio is like being in European garden where each dining area has it's own ambiance surrounded by flowers and trees. Truly beautiful
Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Delightful outdoor patio with plenty of shade, even in Reno”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We had breakfast at the Stone House and it was delightful! The gardens are beautiful and food was delicious. The service was wonderful, too. The menu has some unique items. I had a Belgium waffle with crumbled bacon and candied pecans cooked inside the waffle with orange butter (I could see the orange rind, which I like). Family members had a side of "black bean hash"(?), which looked like a salsa, but they both enjoyed it very much with their entrees. We will definitely go back someday when in Reno. I would put this in the "don't miss" category. The only negative was parking was a bit tricky.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ruthmfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    71
    23
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience and food.”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent menu, and then so many specials too. We had a fantastic waitress, I wish I could remember her name, but she gave us great service and was very nice. There were 7 of us and we sat on the porch outside. Great weather to be out in. We all ordered something different and it was difficult to decide with so many delicious sounding items. We ordered everything from a hamburger to some very tasty fish specials. All of us enjoyed our meals.

We will come back next time we are in Reno!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith74006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Excellent”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner and it is always good! We live in Reno and this is our go to place. Lovely patio and a great place for their Happy Hour!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CindyLee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
1,368 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Great patio to enjoy great food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This lovely restaurant has a great setting with outside patio seating and lots of shade. The food is always good and they love to be creative with their daily specials. You never have to have the same meal twice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great restaurant, Terrible service”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Setting is gorgeous!..6:30 dinner reservation so it was crowded...Parking is outrageously minimal as this really was a stone home sitting on a corner. We were seated outside as it was a warm evening...however we were right next to a very busy road so heard quite a bit of road noise. We ordered drinks which came promptly, then were pressed to order dinner...we asked our server to give us a little time..Server came back shortly and so we gave her our dinner order advising her we were in no hurry. Wonderful menu! We ordered another glass of wine to have with dinner... Our dinner arrived (almost immediately and before a glass of wine)..We were nearly done with dinner when server asked if we would like some bread...bread arrived as we completed our meal. Asked for the check and waited for server to take our payment...Finally we went inside and paid the bill ourselves. Felt like we were in a fast food place....however the food was outstanding! Will not go back as service was so bad.....there are many fine restaurants in Reno!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank judy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stone House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing