We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great stay, great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed at the Grand Sierra for a conference. Jennifer in sales, was right on top of everything we needed, she was friendly and accommodating. The housekeeping staff was great, room done when needed to be, they were quiet and efficient. The IT desk was helpful when I was having issues connecting to the internet. The bartenders in the morning, Dennis and Neko were friendly early in the morning before our meetings started when we would congregate at the escalator bar to have coffee, they kept the tables and ashtrays clean and had coffee readily available. The country western bar was entertaining and Dennis the same bartender from the escalator bar was friendly and helpful and knowledgeable about the casino. When returning to Reno,I would stay at the Grand Sierra again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Diane A,

Thank you for the ‘Great stay, great service’ review of the GSR! We truly value our team members at the Grand Sierra Resort so thank you for recognizing so many of them. Also, thank you for including their names, so we can make sure they are personally recognized. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,030
    3,273
    1,338
    507
    326
See reviews for
3,596
3,552
829
1,534
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I hosted a 3 day training event at GSR. The convention staff was very professional & attentive, and my hotel room was recently renovated. Great Resort. I am already planning my next training event with GSR.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadM315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello ChadM315,

Thank you for the “Fantastic” review of the GSR on Tripadvisor! We appreciate your continued business and training. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Best hotel in Reno, by far. Been to a good amount of the big name hotels and no one does it like the Grand Sierra Resort. From awesome food and nightlife, to some of the friendliest craps dealers I've ever had the pleasure of meeting and playing with!

Larry R., one of the executive casino hosts, treated my family and friends like royalty! We stayed one week and he made the trip one we'll never forget. Thank you so much Larry!

As I said, we stayed a week and never got bored. With the awesome pool, driving range into the lake, go-carts, mini golf, movie theater and shopping mall downstairs, the GSR does not disappoint!

Can't wait for the new nightclub either!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stefan2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Stefan2489,

Thank you for the top rated Tripadvisor review. We strive to provide everything under one roof, and are delighted that we exceed your expectations. Thank you for enjoying so many of our amenities. We will certainly make sure that Larry is recognized accordingly as well for his great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Ok I come here often and wrote an excellent review a few months ago. Just got back again yesterday and I do have to say the valet parking situation has gone wayy down hill! Whoever had the bright idea to move GSR valet lot clear around the casino should be fired! Let me start by saying we had always valet parked before now with never a problem, in fact I'm an "express valet" parking holder..ha!! We were 40 min late to the Rodeo and missed our VIP seats just because the valet lot is now a nightmare! This was on a slow weekday evening about 7pm with only 3 cars ahead of us! Forget about ever getting out of there at check out!! You will need to tack on another hour for sure! The valet guys are all wonderful but it is the new system they have when trying to retrieve your car in the back forty!! The trek these guys now have to take in 100 degrees or worse yet to come...snow...is a complete joke! I'm sure their tips will go way down by no fault of their own but rather pure frustration of having to wait so long for your car due to the managements screw up! We seriously almost took a cab even with our car right there! Do yourself a favor and self park in the lot right in front! You have been warned!!

Room Tip: everything else is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Ashfour,

Thank you for reviewing the GSR on Tripadvisor. We would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced with Valet Parking. We appreciate your feedback and have a plan in that will greatly increase timing and guest satisfaction. In addition, the new renovated lot will be opening by next weekend and include prime parking for our guests. We hope to welcome you again soon to see the improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbins, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in June. The pool area was wonderful, although the lounge chairs need replacing, several were broken. Still, it's a beautiful and relaxing environment. The room had been redecorated since our last stay and we really liked the new, modern decor. The beds were super comfortable! The housekeeping could use some improvement, but it wasn't anything terrible, just a dirty towel left behind on the floor (accidentally, I'm sure) and a lack of glasses upon arrival. In general, the staff were much more pleasant than on previous visits. The casino was great, we left as winners. :) Overall, it was a wonderful stay and we will definitely be back! I'm looking forward to seeing the new nightclub and indoor pool that will be opening next month.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Good afternoon John Marcia W,

Thank you for the “Very nice stay” review! We strive to provide the highest level of customer service at the Grand Sierra Resort, and are thrilled that you have noticed the improvements. We look forward to seeing you again for the nightclub!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I just want to say what an outstanding experience we had at the Grand Sierra Hotel eating establishment called Grand Cafe because of our waiter James Mulligan. He was efficient, pleansant to talk with and brought our food EXACTLY how we ordered it. An amazing waiter and should really be working at the Ritz. We will definately be back but, only if we can have James Mulligan serve us.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hello Paula L,

Thank you for such a fantastic review about James. We pride ourselves on providing top level customer service to our guests, and are thrilled that James exceeded those expectations. We will certainly make sure that he is recognized accordingly. We hope to welcome you back to dine with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

Visited Reno last week with family and friends with awesome deal from Groupon and Hotwire and Gosh , It was worth it....

$60 for two nights with Breakfast Buffet was a steal.. Hotel is fantabulous... room are great.. So is service and other amenities... Staff super friendly... There is every thing to do for every one...

had fun playing Aqua Golf..

Best part , prices are super cheap..

Room Tip: Pls ask for high floor and pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller_mastana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Traveller_mastana,

Thank you for the highly rated review! We truly appreciate all guest feedback, and are glad that we exceeded your expectations. We try to offer amenities for all of our guests, so thank you for trying out so many while you were here. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,019 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.5 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing