We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“One nights stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One nights stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed one night at this property. There is lots to do, if you have kids, it would be a great place to stay. The room was spacious. The price was great, and there is lot to do right on the property. There are also several very good restaurants on the property which makes for less stress when new in Reno.

My only negative comment was that I had no coffee cup in my room, had a coffee pot but not cup. I could have called for one, but by the time I noticed, I needed coffee :) so ended up just going downstairs.
I would stay there again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakesidegal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thanks for posting your review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We apologize for not having a coffee cup in your room. Please note that our housekeeping staff is always willing to help with anything they can. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,857
    2,710
    1,124
    436
    268
See reviews for
2,977
2,829
674
1,231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The Rooms are seperated into three different towers: GSR Place, GSR Hotel, Summit at GSR. We stayed in a partially renovated room in the GSR Hotel Tower. Our room was not fully renovated. The bathroom had old fixtures and the clock radio was from the 80s. My in-laws room was the same on another floor in the same tower. Although the room was non smoking, we could smell smoke. It is an older property. The lobby is beautiful, reminds me of some Vegas. The wait to check in is horrible, over 30 minutes.
The have go-go dancers in the bar/lounge area which is visible from the lobby, so beware if you have kids.
We booked this hotel because of the Beach Pool. It was a huge disappointment. The sand was scarce and there is not enough places to sit. Its a long walk from the room.

I might return if i get a good deal to check out the bowling alley and theater.

Make sure you use the Valet Parking

Room Tip: Use valet parking or you will have a long walk to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiva_Viajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We strive to create the best possible resort experience for all of our guests. We’d like to discuss this occurrence with you further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California, United States
Level Contributor
78 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I stay here whenever I have business in Reno, which is usually several times a year. The property is older and shows it. The downstairs Casino is smoky and dark. The rooms are mostly nice and because non-smoking rooms are available, more pleasant than the lobby would lead one to expect. Staff have always been helpful. There are several good restaurants which pull the rating higher than it would otherwise be. The facility is easy to find and at a good location for getting around Reno and the Tahoe-Northern Nevada. We have hosted several business dinners at the GSR and people enjoyed them. Both Briscola (Italian food) and Charlie Palmer Steak are under the same general management and provide good food and good service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pond seem quieter.. Reno never gets dark at night..but there is less traffic near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R E K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor about your recent visit to the Grand Sierra Resort. We are very pleased to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and happy to hear that you enjoyed many of our great services, including our fine restaurants. Please stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bozeman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I don't know why there are any less than positive reviews on GSR-We loved it!! We had a minor issue that is not worth reporting. we were treated VERY well and will indeed stay there again! We were there on business and left with alot of great memories. They made sure at check in that we were on the side of the hotel to see the balloon races rite from our window. The best place to eat hands down was the Cafe Sseirra! Better than the buffett!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibsewhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino. We appreciate your business, and are so pleased to hear that you had a great time. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Spacious level sites, plenty of room to negotiate turns / easy in - easy out. Parking sites are also separated quite nicely. Immediately adjacent to river walking path, and literally in the shadows of the hotel/casino allowing convenient walk to shops, restaurants, and of course, the casino. Nice laundry room and convenience store. As a guest here you have access to hotel resort pool and gym. We spent a week and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TennLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for posting your review of our RV Park. We are happy to learn that your stay was enjoyable.Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We frequently spend a few nights at this hotel/casino. Besides the usual attractions they have a huge bowling facility, movies for $3 and a driving range. Would suggest staying here any time of year. They are always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stainless40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thanks for posting your review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino! It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had decided to stay at this hotel because of the OneRepublic concert at the property. Right at check-in the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was decent, with minor maintenance issues, but we were ideally just looking for a place to crash after the concert. When we brought up the issues to the desk clerk/supervisor at check-out, just to let them know, we weren't expecting anything in return. Without hesitation, the awesome representative gave us a discount for the inconvenience! It was a nice surprise!! We really appreciated it. Room was clean, location was quiet. (Rm 584)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Hello, thanks for sharing your experience at GSR with TripAdvisor We're happy to know that you received great customer service, and that you enjoyed The One Republic concert. We hope to serve you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#17 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,561 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#16 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,717 reviews
2.5 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing