We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport(Reno)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Silver Legacy Resort Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
$79
$64
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eldorado Resort Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
$76
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Circus Circus Reno(Reno)(Great Value!)
$57
$50
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa(Reno)(Great Value!)
$68
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino(Reno)(Great Value!)
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitney Peak Hotel(Reno)
$192
$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (15,348)
Filter reviews
15,348 results
Traveler rating
8,246
4,276
1,717
655
454
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
8,246
4,276
1,717
655
454
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbowling alleysummit roomsjohnny rocketsdriving rangemovie theaterget awayan upgradenice roomslot machinesnon smokingbuffetrimfuncasinolarrygamblingstarbucks
Filter
Updating list...
14,439 - 14,444 of 15,348 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Grand Sierra Resort & Casino hotel rooms are lovely and spacious and particularly nice to combine when planning a business meeting. There are ample meeting rooms and just about every service is offered within the hotel including a delightful, large Starbucks.

The facility lends itself well to family stays and activities; however, I found the outdoor pool too crowded to be safe. Dim lighting at night dominates the outdoor pool environment. Many young adults hang around the pool as well as play beach volleyball poolside. Add to that configuration is an outdoor poolside bar serving alcoholic beverages - not a healthy mix for families with young children. The dim lighting was very unsafe for identifying who may have slipped underwater in the pool. I also found no hotel staffers serving as guards or safety officers present on the long under-ground hallway walk leading to the pool. There is an unsafe feeling walking there as children could be very vulnerable if adults were not present. These safety hazards need addressing. The casino itself receives much focus, but if kids aren't safe while at play, the facility may have its priorities crossed.

The hotel is better at adult playtime. Eating places are good and every staff member is friendly and helpful. They need to examine security, however, to ensure safe and healthy stays for all children and families.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We strive to create the best possible resort experience for all of our guests. We’d like to discuss this occurrence with you further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

checked in with Pamela, a very friendly front desk clerk, we have stayed here many times and the changes are Great, Fresh paint and carpets in the hallways, regular GSR room was comfortable, I do prefer the Summit rooms though. the casino has friendly staff and security walking around. I like that. there are still changes and renovation going on, so I can't wait to see completion!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chantesinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thanks for posting your review of GSR on TripAdvisor. And, thanks for being a repeat guest. We're happy to know that you receive great customer service when you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was very pleased with customer service. Dealing with employees that have a smile on their face really makes your day. At the tables dealers and pit bosses addressing you by name with a smile instead of the all business look on their faces makes the customer feel like they exist. Thank you for the very pleasant stay and my next trip to Reno you can find me at the Grand Sierra Resort!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Gregg, thanks for posting your review of GSR to TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you are well taken care of when you stayed at GSR. We pride ourselves on great customer service. We look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

For a grand resort, not good. Lots of rules on players club that no one tells you til it's to late, and you lose things. The maid service was the only GREAT thing about this place. Maid service was wonderful. Buffet at night good. But Breakfast dry pancakes, waffles, not much sweet like other buffet. Just not good.

Room Tip: Nice rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We strive to create the best possible resort experience for all of our guests. We’d like to discuss this occurrence with you further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel seems to be experiencing growing/remodel pains. They don't seem to have enough trained staff at this time. The cafe would not take my to go order without seating me...and then nobody waited on me. Pool bar was great, staff friendly only to some and not all equally. Great burgers at the pool - Johnny Rockets - and very friendly. Housekeeping very friendly and thorough. Casino floor staff friendly and attentive.
Renovated rooms are very nice. Large tile showers, and comfortable beds. I did not care for the noticed on the bathroom mirror telling me what they would charge me for missing items. Sheets, dryer, hair dryer etc. RV Park really needs some landscaping/updating

Room Tip: Floors 17 - 24 seem to be all remodeled
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We are happy to read that you enjoyed many of the great amenities Grand Sierra Resort and Casino has to offer its guests. And, yes, we are currently undergoing a $25-million remodel as a commitment to provide the best amenities for our guests. We’d like to discuss your stay further, please email us at social@grandsierraresort.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews