We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice in Reno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed in a Grand Suite at Summit Tower, 24th floor. Room was well appointed, bed was comfortable and shower was delightful. The view was great.

As a non-smoker I appreciated the smoke free room, I also appreciated the high ceilings and the obvious attempt to mask any smell of cigarettes. This aspect of the GSR was a big difference that sets the GSR apart from the other hotels/casinos in Reno.

Charlie Palmer happy hour was a highlight of the stay. Also ate at Rim which was OK, not wow. The sportsbook is a great place to watch games with comfortable lounge style seating and friendly bartenders. Starbucks is also conveniently located.

Bowling was fun. I am looking forward to the future renovations such as the Spa and future Indoor Pool. I hope that there are also plans to improve the lighting on the arcade level corridors to match the level of lighting in the rest of the facility.

Another observation was that all the employees I came in contact with seem to sincerley enjoy their work which was reflected in their superior level of customer service.

Although "Escape" was enjoyable because it was comped, I would have been greatly disappointed if I had paid for tickets. It is a Cirque style show without many of the trademark elements that govern Cirque shows. This show is simply a bunch of talented performers who's individual performing expertise's simply seemed to be slapped together. Fantastic individual performances, but a fully unrealized cohesive show.

I would also recommend that families be aware of the Sunday 21+ only pool party. I saw many disappointed faces from families and their children who were turned away from accessing the only pool at the property on a warm and sunny Sunday afternoon. Perhaps this pool party would be a better idea when the indoor pool is completed so that those under 21, or those who don't want to hang out with party animals, could still enjoy the resort portion of their stay.

I look forward to returning when the renovations are completed and the GSR can further and better define itself as a place for families as well as the go-go dancing hipster club crowd that they are also trying to attract.

Room Tip: Summit Tower for better quality rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1ball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,509 - 13,515 of 14,351 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

Grand Sierra Resort has fantastic rooms, affordable prices, and great places to eat. I've stayed at Grand Sierra Resort several times over the couple of years. It has continued to get better each stay. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Grand Sierra is a beautiful property. The newly renovated casino and Summit tower are luxurious and attractive. We LOVED the Elements buffet. Our visit would have been a wonderful experience, except...

Our reservation was categorized as a "suite" - the room we were given upon arrival was NOT a suite by any stretch of the imagination. The space we were given was a hotel ROOM. It was high quality, but it was still a bedroom. That's it, nothing more. No living room, no second bedroom or divided space, no kitchen, not even a table or couch.

I called the front desk to inquire and was told that the "Grand II Suite" we were in was in fact the correct space. I was not offered any sort of solution. I feel that it is a misrepresentation to call the room we were in a suite. In fact, it's outright deception.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great time has alot of amenities besides gambling,movies,shows ,pool (weather permitting)and gym. Close to airport, Maria and other employees very friendly. Fantastic restaurants loved Charlie Palmer steakhouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Grand Sierra Resort. We love hearing positive feedback about the many different amenities we offer our guests. We also are so pleased you received excellent service. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you at GSR again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are very loud and the beds are not that comfortable. The biggest gripe is the food at the restaurants here. Poor food quality, and unprofessional staff. Something as simple as the coffee shop, every other casino I have eaten at has a full menu 24 hours a day. This place segments the food to certain times of day, and the quality was just awful.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kraaez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your review with us. We are sorry to hear you did not have a pleasant experience at Grand Sierra Resort. We take great pride in our award-winning chefs and restaurants and are very sorry to know you did not enjoy the food selections. We will keep you feedback in mind as we continue to develop and improve the property. Thank you again for reviewing your stay, we hope there is a chance in the future for you to experience a five-star visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Made a last minute decision to go to Reno instead of San Francisco during a week-long driving vacation and booked a room at the Grand Sierra. Rooms were clean and nicely appointed, with comfy beds. Every employee we encountered was pleasant. Cocktail waitresses on the gaming floor were very attentive and friendly. We had a lovely dinner in the on-site Italian restaurant. Again, the service was impeccable. We will definitely stay at the Grand Sierra the next time we visit Reno.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Summit...no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJW_DAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for telling us about your visit at Grand Sierra Resort. We are so pleased you had such a great stay. We love hearing we are providing exceptional service to our guests, and your review lets us know we are doing our job. We look forward to your next visit at GSR! Thank you again for reviewing your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This place has a unique decore and the theme is dark. Rooms are dark each room has a huge mirror that is tinted and the closer you get to the mirror the darker it gets. Restroom is so dark, they have the same huge long tinted mirror in the restroom. It is really hard to put any makeup on. I am not a fan of dark places so I didn't like it at all, but some people might love it for the fact that it is dark.
Basement leads to swimming pool. You have to walk through a long dark unfinished basement.
Buffet was my worst experience there. It was in a really dark setting seating is bad and far from food. They sticked us really far from food, we didn't like them and to let us sit in a different area hostess wasn't really helpful and she told us there was a long wait to find another table. Buffet's layout was really weird.
Also the valet guy gave us a lot of attitude my husband had to put everything in the car by himself.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fizza_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandSierra_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Grand Sierra Resort. We are very sorry to hear you were not pleased with your stay. As for the decor, lighting and layout of the property, we will certainly keep in mind your insights as we continue to make renovations and improvements. We apologize for the negative experiences you had with our staff. Generally we take pride in the exceptional service offered by every member of the GSR staff, and appreciate your feedback on the service you received. Thank you again for taking the time to review your stay at GSR, and we hope that in the future there will be a time you can visit us again and have a five-star stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 64 in Reno
6,838 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,076 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $75 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing