We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Amazing Place - Love thier casino!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Costa Mesa
1 review
“Amazing Place - Love thier casino!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the place to be in Reno. If you are looking for the ultimate place to be while on vacation or business trip, you need to go to this hotel. Shhhhhh...The slots are amazing won $900 on my first night which paid for a great meal at their steak house restaurant.

Room Tip: The summits are the best. Even though my friend was staying at one of their suite which by the way i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Javier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,062
    3,289
    1,349
    509
    327
See reviews for
3,608
3,572
830
1,555
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks Nov/Dec 2012 whilst visiting son at Reno University. The room rate was very cheap -only around £350 for two large adjoining suites for 3 people 2 weeks. The rooms were large, the beds extremely comfortable but bathrooms very basic and everything needed an update.The air conditioning is just about adequate but we felt we did'nt breathe any fresh air unless outside and even then not as fresh as you would hope -you need to get out into the sierra for that. Everyone caught colds, It just did'nt feel like a healthy environment. The corridors are dark and gloomy and everything smells like an old bowling alley, probably because of the strange subterranean life that goes on in these weird casino hotels. They do have big plans for a re-vamp in 2013 including a 'Vegas' style swimming pool. don't stay here unless you are prepared for masses of gambling types that frequent the place especially at weekends. The foyer alone is the size of Wales and is wall to wall machines, even on bar tops.The clink of machines can be heard all night long. It is almost impossible to eat healthily here -even the 'healthy option' breakfast omelette came with a doughnut on the side!!!.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketChorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

For being in one of the "upgraded" rooms, I'm a little lost. The room has no coffee maker. When you call down to front desk or housekeeping to have one brought to you, they tell you the new rooms don't come with them. We were told to order a cup of coffee from room service.
Our waitress in cafe hardly came around, and when she did, she was not the slightest bit friendly...until it was close to tip time.
Unless I am forced, I will not return to this place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaR0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US/NW
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Sierra, along with another couple for 4 nights in Summit rooms. This was our first stay at the property. Our room was comped, but we paid the $30/night upgrade fee to the Summit - that plus the $11/day resort fee + taxes made each night just under $50. Absolutely worth ever single penny! (The Summit rooms that were not comped for the other couple were in the neighborhood of $80/night inclusive & still worth the price.

Pluses: nicely decorated, clean, had a FRIDGE and MICROWAVE, & plenty of electrical outlets for phones, laptops, etc. The bath amenities also included hair conditioner, which seems to have been dropped from many other hotels at this point. (If you are someone that needs it, you will appreciate knowing that.)

Needs Improvement: The coffee maker made horrible coffee (like tan-colored water). Bring your own coffee pot, or bring high quality instant packs and use the microwave instead.

Other notes about the rooms: No tub, just a very nice huge shower. Also, no table w/chair(s) to sit & eat a quick breakfast, although there is a desk & chair, and a couch. There is plenty of room for a table (hint hint, GS), as the rooms are large.

Staff and other property amenities: We had good service from every staff member we encountered, and outstanding service from several. The front desk and phone reservations systems were patient with our complicated 4-linked-separate reservations, and did not make any mistakes. Housekeeping provided us with bathrobes at our request, and of course extra towels, etc as needed.

Our party utilized: Valet, bell-staff services (fast!), the fitness center, aqua-golf (fun), the bowling center (inexpensive, but a little too much oil everywhere), the poker room, and the Charlie Palmer steakhouse. All met or exceeded standards.

We will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamandTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful Property!! We were treated with upmost graciousness & sincere good intentions! Loved the room & the FOOD! We were in a Suite with exceptional amount of living area! The price was outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose a Suite! You will be extremely Pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The upgrades made to the casino are superb. The chandeliers, lighting,and carpet have raised the GSR to the most beautiful casino hotel in Reno. The dining choices provide lots of variety at many price points. Don't shy away from any of them. The Summit Room hotel rooms are well equipped with mini fridge and microwave. My only negative comment is of the bathrooms. They are much too dark and the faucets, though artistic, are not conducive to the purpose of washing hands and brushing teeth (unless you like water splattered everywhere). The shower pressure is PERFECT! Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Summit Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a guys weekend.

The good.
- Hotel has everything including a bowling alley, driving range and casino.
- The Summit rooms were nice. A four star experience with a nice marble bathroom.
- The staff was super nice and VERY fast.
- When you check in you get a decent number of coupons for discounts at the hotel places.

The okay.
- The restaurants in the hotel are "okay". Nothing to write home about.

The bad.
- When in Nevada - the casino is smokey.
- The hotel is far from the other Reno places which means you are stuck at the Grand Sierra for everything unless you want to taxi or drive. If you come here don't plan so much on leaving if you want to drink.
- Breakfast buffet opens at 7am. Not conducive for leaving early to hit the slopes..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing