We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place, Nice Place, Helpful Place, True”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Sierra, along with another couple for 4 nights in Summit rooms. This was our first stay at the property. Our room was comped, but we paid the $30/night upgrade fee to the Summit - that plus the $11/day resort fee + taxes made each night just under $50. Absolutely worth ever single penny! (The Summit rooms that were not comped for the other couple were in the neighborhood of $80/night inclusive & still worth the price.

Pluses: nicely decorated, clean, had a FRIDGE and MICROWAVE, & plenty of electrical outlets for phones, laptops, etc. The bath amenities also included hair conditioner, which seems to have been dropped from many other hotels at this point. (If you are someone that needs it, you will appreciate knowing that.)

Needs Improvement: The coffee maker made horrible coffee (like tan-colored water). Bring your own coffee pot, or bring high quality instant packs and use the microwave instead.

Other notes about the rooms: No tub, just a very nice huge shower. Also, no table w/chair(s) to sit & eat a quick breakfast, although there is a desk & chair, and a couch. There is plenty of room for a table (hint hint, GS), as the rooms are large.

Staff and other property amenities: We had good service from every staff member we encountered, and outstanding service from several. The front desk and phone reservations systems were patient with our complicated 4-linked-separate reservations, and did not make any mistakes. Housekeeping provided us with bathrobes at our request, and of course extra towels, etc as needed.

Our party utilized: Valet, bell-staff services (fast!), the fitness center, aqua-golf (fun), the bowling center (inexpensive, but a little too much oil everywhere), the poker room, and the Charlie Palmer steakhouse. All met or exceeded standards.

We will absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamandTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,337 - 14,343 of 15,059 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wonderful Property!! We were treated with upmost graciousness & sincere good intentions! Loved the room & the FOOD! We were in a Suite with exceptional amount of living area! The price was outstanding!

Room Tip: Choose a Suite! You will be extremely Pleased!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenaMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The upgrades made to the casino are superb. The chandeliers, lighting,and carpet have raised the GSR to the most beautiful casino hotel in Reno. The dining choices provide lots of variety at many price points. Don't shy away from any of them. The Summit Room hotel rooms are well equipped with mini fridge and microwave. My only negative comment is of the bathrooms. They are much too dark and the faucets, though artistic, are not conducive to the purpose of washing hands and brushing teeth (unless you like water splattered everywhere). The shower pressure is PERFECT! Go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Splurge for a Summit Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a guys weekend.

The good.
- Hotel has everything including a bowling alley, driving range and casino.
- The Summit rooms were nice. A four star experience with a nice marble bathroom.
- The staff was super nice and VERY fast.
- When you check in you get a decent number of coupons for discounts at the hotel places.

The okay.
- The restaurants in the hotel are "okay". Nothing to write home about.

The bad.
- When in Nevada - the casino is smokey.
- The hotel is far from the other Reno places which means you are stuck at the Grand Sierra for everything unless you want to taxi or drive. If you come here don't plan so much on leaving if you want to drink.
- Breakfast buffet opens at 7am. Not conducive for leaving early to hit the slopes..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Excellent value. Good free WiFi. Flat screen TV with 50-60 channels. Large room with comfortable beds. No mini fridge or microwave. Hotel was well maintained.

Parking is the only downside. No matter where you park, it's a long walk to the room. They do have valet parking if you want to wait for your car.

Easy to find..near major freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkiUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked this hotel online. For the price we paid, we had an excellent room. Happy hour specials at Charlie Palmer's and the dinner special at the Italian restaurant were great. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Huge hotel. Most of the rooms are newly remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ctelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Hadn't been to Reno in many years so we did a getaway weekend trip. Stayed in the Summit Tower where the rooms are nicely remodeled. The resort was busy and the mood festive. Watched a comedy show in the Grand Theater after dining in the Cantina and then finished the night with free drinks at the slot machines. Took a drive downtown the next day followed by a quick trip to the Incline Village viewpoint to look at Lake Tahoe. My only complaint is the wet bar in the suite had only two small water glasses. Could have used chimney and wine glasses plus openers. We managed though!

Stayed: March 2013
Thank NorthwestCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 63 in Reno
6,855 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 63 in Reno
4,281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Reno Airport
2.1 mi away
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $68 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing