We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Little Things”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel originally opened as the MGM Grand and has gone through several other owners since. We stayed in a suite on the 21st floor and this floor, along with others, was remodelled in 2012 so the rooms, hallways etc. were pretty new. It was the little things that drove us crazy....
1. The safe did not work (battery was out and had to be replaced). 2. The air conditioner fan would only stay on "high" and very noisy for the two evenings we were there and 3. The "lighted" cosmetic mirror in the bathroom did not light. In addition, several other lights in the room were unplugged. A lot of small things....that would have made this an excellent stay but made it barely OK.

Room Tip: Any room above the 15 th floor...for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverfox1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (14,842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14,165 - 14,171 of 14,842 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

A standard casino hotel off the main strip in Reno. My room was a bit dated but apparently they are in the process of updating the rooms.

It's a busy hotel with a lot to do but I stayed here to snowboard the Lake Tahoe area and the shuttle only goes Fri-Mon and takes a while.

Go for the gambling but I would recommend staying in Heavenly instead of Reno which also has casinos and a few minutes walk from the slopes.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMilkMan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This was the 1st time my wife and I had visited this casino. We were extremly pleased by its elegance, its location, its excellent food, rooms, where clean and wholesome. Service was very friendly, and prompt. The entertainment was excellent. We have nothing but praise for GSR.
I would highly recommend this casino, to anyone desiring to have fun and a great time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecilio F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This Hotel has undergone a major renovation with the new owners which has changed the total feel of staying there in to a complete destination resort. The service, food, ambiance, and casino are all great.

Room Tip: We stayed in a club level room which was really relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights with friends and had a great time. The room was large and nicely appointed. They were attending a meeting with over 1,000 guests but the property accommodated everyone well. There is lots to do - movie theater, bowling, good restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

1) The Service was Excellent and Very Friendly
2) The Food at the Various Restaurants was Exceptional
3) Very Impressed with the Newly Renovated Room We Stayed In
4) We love its location in terms of proximity to Lake Tahoe ( one of our truly favorite places on earth --we spent our honeymoon in Lake Tahoe ) and we did have an opportunity to spend some fun time on Lake Tahoe
5) We will definitely stay at the Grand Sierra Resort again when we come up to Tahoe and have recommended it to many friends and business aquaintances as well

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice place to stay in Reno. Keeps you out of downtown and there's a lot of cool places to explore on the property. My kids love their pool "Beach" with real sand and eash access to snacks and food. We liked the driving range outside. The best part is their all you can eat shushi in their Chinese restaurant. I know what you're thinking - All you can eat sushi in Reno? Seriously, it's really good and fresh. You'll enjoy it. The chef's are really friendly and make you any kind of roll you want, even if it's not on the menu. Charlie Palmers steak house is just 'ok' for the price.

Casino is nice as well!

Room Tip: All you can eat sushi at the chinese restaurant is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2 mi away
Circus Circus Reno
Circus Circus Reno
#13 of 63 in Reno
6,851 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 63 in Reno
4,214 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
9.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
1.9 mi away
Silver Legacy Resort Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $63 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing