We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Padded headboards and dated rooms!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 65 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Padded headboards and dated rooms!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I admit, the padded headboards are a nice touch. If I wasn't staying here alone for work I could forgo my padded safety helmet for sexy time with the wife! Otherwise the spacious rooms are dated and not the cleanest but for 50 bucks and a resort fee...you can't go too wrong.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klif01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,294
    2,935
    1,199
    457
    291
See reviews for
3,200
3,104
731
1,347
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,175)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

Our trip was wonderful. From checking-in to check-out, our casino host Larry Rosborough was the best. He was able to get the over-flow 3 seats in the VIP lounge as the Grand Theater was sold out. The only complaint I would have is with the rooms themselves. They appear to be old and in need of repair. Some of the electrical outlets weren't functioning, others (like in the bathroom) were loose and wouldn't hold electrical appliances like curling irons. The shower curtain leaked (even after putting shampoo bottles on both ends of the tub). The TV remote was in need of new batteries and one of the beds had an extremely hard mattress, unlike the pillow top on the second one in the same room. We stayed on the 9th floor and I think they have been the same since I first stayed at this hotel (when it was the MGM Grand in 1977) so upgrading these rooms would be welcome. Otherwise, a great trip! (even though the 49'ers lost!!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKBNovato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We've been driving up the mountain to the Bally's/MGM/Hilton/Grand Sierra for lo these many years and have rarely been disappointed by the accommodations, or anything else for that matter. There is a range of dining selections from sandwiches and pizza to sushi and steaks, with coffee house yummies thrown in for good measure. We've stayed twice in the last 6 months and have been in both the older style rooms (we needed two rooms adjoining) and the newer updated Summit rooms. The older rooms have very few "extras", I don't think there was even a coffee pot. But, they are large, comfortable and clean rooms. The Summit rooms are more updated and also have the microwave, fridge and nicely done bathrooms. You get what you pay for and either way at the Grand Sierra you'll find a nice room waiting for you. The hotel staff has always been helpful and polite. The casino employees friendly and helpful as well. If you're planning on gambling at all get the GSR Players reward card as soon as you get in. The Grand Sierra has a very good customer rewards system and you might be surprised how quickly your comp points add up for free dining or lodging. One other thing, the casino isn't as crowded and dense with smoke, etc. as most others are. Oh! And there's lots of things for the kids to do (bowling, laser tag, pool, driving range) without having to leave the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Footloose39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Came into town to see family. We've stayed at the GSR several times and had a great experience. I guess the other times we were upgraded to a summit room. This time we got a room still under renovations. Bathroom had mold around the tub, no so great when you have a young child with asthma...asked for a non smoking quiet room. Bachelor party two doors down and smoke pouring out of there room. Love that there is stuff to do with kiddos in tow, movie theater, bowling, go karts, fun! But te room was disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank wakegirl1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Checked into my room and it smells strongly of urine. The front desk clerk put me on this floor because it WASN'T a pet floor. So if that is the case, then why does it smell of urine. Isn't there a housekeeping staff here? Don't they smell this? Do they think this is OK? Wouldn't it make sense to take this room out of the rotation of available rooms until this is remedied?

This is totally and absolutely unacceptable. I suppose that we are moved to write reviews based on either very good or very bad experiences. This is very very bad.

If you get a room at this hotel, make sure you tell them you don't want room 704 because you understand that it smells of urine.

Room Tip: Avoid room 704 because it smells like urine. Not in the restroom. IN the ROOM room. In the sleepi...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ObjectiveWords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Friendly, helpful and on the hustle. Taylor will bring your beverage so you can play your games without a hitch. Currently she works a very late shift.

I didn't stay for hotel use this time but have before and I like the upper rooms that have fridge and microwave. Nice hot showers too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1957Kevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Recently spent two nights at GSR...We upgraded to the Summit and it was well worth it. These rooms have been recently upgraded and are just beautiful. Lovely color pallet of burt orange/ browns and white...VERY NICE!!. Comfortable bed and sofa, nice flat screen on the wall, fridge/microwave and coffee maker...what else can you ask for. Room service also very good, food fresh and hot, I do not know how they do it in such a large hotel. Would have liked to find live entertainment, but nothing going on the nights we were there. Enjoyed the new Mexican restaurant, fun atmosphere and very good food...nice drinks at Charlie Palmer bar and loved the lobster corn dogs...sound wierd, but they were delicious. We will be back.

Room Tip: Definately..upgrade to the Summit, there is no comparison!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BEVSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Sierra and for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to know that you had such a nice time. Aren't those lobster dogs amazing? We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,722 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
1.7 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#17 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
2.5 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing