We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“A little town of its own away from the main drag”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little town of its own away from the main drag”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My sisters and I spent two cofortable nights celebrating a birthday and were very happy with the accomodations. Plenty of restaurants, shops, activities, games, etc., to keep you entertained. We didn't upgrade to the Summit Rooms, but I wish we had after reading other remarks.

Room Tip: I'd upgrade to a Summit Room for the coffee machine and refrigerator next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M8ternal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Grand Sierra for your sisters getaway! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and many of our amenities. We hope you will consider us again for your next celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,256
    3,892
    1,560
    592
    395
See reviews for
4,369
4,240
993
1,809
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 days here for a trade convention being held in their facilities. Because it was a large convention, the trade association arranged a fairly good discount rate for the rooms, which made this a pretty good deal in our opinion. We were on the 24th floot in a "Grand II" room. Here's what we found:

First, the bathroom--this is a key component to any extended-stay at a hotel. Water pressure and volume was magnificent--you could drown in this shower and you never ran out of hot water. Counter space was a bit limited, and the lack of towel hooks was annoying, but the pounding hot water soothed those sore spots. Only one sink and lack of counter space/shelving made this bathroom inconvenient for a couple.

Room had a small kitchenette--microwave, refrigerator, cabinets, cups, etc.--but no sink. This was a major design flaw--the counter space was great, but without a sink, you had to use the bathroom, which was already crowded for 2 people, and completely out of the question when one person is showering or otherwise using the facility. A second sink outside the bathroom is an obvious necessity for such a design, and why it was left out is anyone's guess, but a definite black mark on an otherwise nice set up.

Our room had 2 queen beds--both beyond firm--not quite a rock, but close. We compromised with the abundance of big, fluffy feather pillows, but still awoke with a few sore spots.

Desk/chair office space was great, and had abundance of plug-ins for computer/phone/etc and USB ports. "Sitting" chair was a faux alligator skin covering to match some room decor and completely impractical and uncomfortable; no other loveseat or furnishing available, so either the bed or office chair were the only real options; we used the sitting chair for a towel drying rack.

All lights, clocks, TV and other room amenities were in good working order. The room from floor to ceiling was pretty well sound-insulated from other floors and adjacent rooms, but hall noise was unavoidable through the entry door. Our room also faced south toward the airport and its proximity allowed jet noise to come through the window. Views from the 24th floor were nice though. We overcame the hall noise by turning up the room air-circ fan and the bathroom fan, and throwing a towel along the the bottom of the door. Not a cure-all, but it helped.

Housekeeping was great, and very friendly. Bell desk guys were attentive and quick in response to anything you asked of them, and the valet parking was well-staffed by courteous young men.

Overall a good facility, but could be great with just a bit of attention to details.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for visiting Grand Sierra, and for writing such a comprehensive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and we value your feedback on the kitchen area and furniture as we continue to make improvements. We hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel is all redone and the rooms are extremely modern and comfortable! The hotel is full of great amenities: live entertainment, great clubs, great restaurants, and a fun pool club. Given the price, the hotel is of great value. When I visited, the Jackson 5 performed! The gambling at the Grand Sierra is also incredible. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Natalie,
Thank you so much for choosing Grand Sierra and taking time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and so many of our amenities. Wasn't the Jackson 5 great? We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Recently returned from our 4 night stay in the "Summit" Tower and we very much enjoyed our stay! The room was clean, spacious, comfortable bed, couch, desk, wifi, and nice size flat screen TV. We had a pantry area with coffee machine, microwave, mini-fridge, and safe.
We booked online and had a great package price. The dinners in the "Elements" buffet were very good and the selection of foods were just as good. The servers behind the different food stations were very pleasant and accommodating. We had one breakfast in the buffet as well which was great and more than adequate for selections as well. Overall, all of the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Liked the location, not too far from the ski resorts and about 1 1/2 miles from the airport. Felt safe in the area although did not venture out at night. Definitely recommend the GSR!!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the renovated rooms in the Summit Tower. They start on floor 17 and go up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Grand Sierra. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and dining at Elements, and hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snohomish, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The hotel room was in the older part of the hotel and there was nothing special about it. We asked for a room with a nice tub, and we got one with the mildew in the caulk and long dark hair stuck to the sides. The old tv didn't bother me, the bed was comfy enough. We did bowl one evening and that was fun. The biggest let down was the hotel spa. I was pretty stoked for a massage, and read reviews that made me question whether or not I should bother. We had checked out and had 4 hours before our flight so I decided to venture down and check it out to see if I could get a 25 min foot massage. Walked in to the spa, neither of the girls greeted us or even looked up. It was 12:30 & I had to go to the desk where Anne was busy texting to ask if I could get in. First she said not today then she changed her mind and said only if we do it now which was what I wanted, then the masseuse (who was sitting reading a magazine) looked up. Anne asked her if she could, mind you it's a 25 min foot massage, and the masseuse said no she had a 1:00. Needless to say instead of spending anymore time in the hotel, we are heading to the airport early where I am hoping to spend some money on a well needed massage...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MtnBliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somwhere in the southwest
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

they are fairly upfront, when you use the key code for the comp, they tell you that they will charge your card $25 at the time of booking.(forfeit, if you dont stay). when I arived, they tried to up this to $50, but relented, and gave me the room as booked.the desk clerk was very accomodating.i had to speak to a lady named 'kristen' to get my room account opened to buy things at the gift shop, buffett, etc, but it worked out, and they put the unused balance onmy card quickly after chekcout. theysent me a nother comp, Imay very well use it before it expires. the buffet, even tho it isnt exactly kosher, let me buy a to go order for breakfast, and yourt slot club card works at the race book. how cool is that?.i dint paly any tanble games, but I got a kcik out of the mechanical craps machine.i thought it was neato.good beer seclection, and your room includes healt club, and they have a bowling alley-this hotel is the old reno hilton, and it is nearest full service casino to the megabus stop insparks, unless you count john ascuagas nugget.-im not sure what the retail price of the rooms are, but they struck me as worth about $60 or so.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank legendaryrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at Grand Sierra and taking the time to write a review. We’re glad you were able to enjoy a free night and some of the amenities our property has to offer - at GSR we strive to bring the latest and greatest in slots and table games, and we love hearing that we are doing the right thing for our customers. The $25 hold for a free room night is released at check-in. It is standard to put a $50 per night hold on the credit card for incidental fees during your visit, but the balance is released when you check out. We hope this didn’t cause any confusion and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This property is fantastic! The casino floor has a huge variety of slots, tons of them very new, a generous amount of table games and a huge sports betting area! The dealers are personable, the gambling floor impeccably kept and lobby well run. Overall this property is fantastically appointed.
I stayed on the 20th floor, the room was modern, spacious and beautifully decorated with quality equipment, bedding and furniture.
I would highly recommend the Grand Sierra and would easily compare it to any of the premier properties in Vegas.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapsFan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara R, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Grand Sierra, and taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room and gaming at our property. We hope we'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,759 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.4 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing