We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“A Night at the Resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Sierra Resort and Casino to your Saves list
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reno
1 review
“A Night at the Resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I really did not have time to check out the resort. Hope to get back one day and check it out. Sad that the arcade was closed when I was there. The room was fine. Towels are a bit rough. I imagine the place was nice in its hey day. It does seem a bit old and dated. But it is still a fine place to stay. One thing I did not like was the resort fee. I do not even know what it is for. IWhen I booked and payed months in advance it was a seventy dollar charge but by the time all the other fees were tacked on it was close to a hundred dollars. Just be up front with the final cost.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Anon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,386
    2,464
    1,009
    390
    249
See reviews for
2,658
2,574
619
1,112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the grand sierra for several reasons. This is the best hotel in Reno if you have a large family. The grand sierra has the biggest family fun area, with over 10,000 sq ft of activities for all ages. Also their cinema for kids and adults what a great value. We have kids from ages 7 to 17 and they always had something to do. Grand Summit II is where we stayed, clean and spacious rooms. Looking for a great value and unlimited activities this is the place to stay. Johnny Rockets great food and service. We will come back and stay again. This will be our family vacation spot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nv
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here for a company Christmas party December 2012. Very good prices, the rooms are good and clean, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Very easy to find things in the hotel, and fun stuff is located close in the hotel (arcade, bowling, casino, bars, restaurants, Starbucks, ect). We stayed in the economy rooms - curious to see what the summit tower has!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlsteffanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Rooms are decent, clean and spacious. It's a basic room with no coffeemaker, no refrigerator, no microwave. There is a Starbucks in the hotel where you can get your coffee but I still missed having a coffeemaker in the room. It's a high rise hotel with many restaurants and shops. There is a nice big pool with a sandy beach but we didn't use it. Seemed like too much trouble to get to the pool from the 17th floor. The casino has a nice big non-smoking section although there were some people smoking and I had to tell them that it's non-smoking. They need much bigger signs for the non-smoking section.

Room Tip: The have newly remodeled rooms available at a higher price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aspengold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I must start this review saying the hotel, restaurants and the remodeled rooms are Awesome! The restaurants all serve delicious food. The Chinese restaurant RIM AWESOME,
Charlie Palmers Steak House AWESOME! Ate at Charlie Palmers 2x's., Can't say enough.The service, food and drinks are as good as any restaurant in Chicago. (Much Cheaper too).

Now for the casino! I stayed for 9 nights, I was in Reno for other reasons. Not a gambling holiday.
I did however play the slot machines and black jack. Of those 9 days I was there, I played every morning before my wife was ready to leave the hotel. I played every night when I returned to the hotel. How much money did I win you ask? I won NOTHING! It is the first time in my life that I have been completely shut down at a casino. The remodel of the hotel must have taken any chances of winning away. The hotel is beautiful now, however I would rather stay at a dated hotel with good food than get completely shut out. When I say I got shut out I mean I hit one slot machine for a $100. And please don't think I didn't spend any money there because I did.
I lost plenty. I would not go to the GSR to gamble. My son lives in the Truckee area, whenever I visit him I always book a room at the GSR. I believe after this trip I shall look elsewhere.

On a positive note, I saw a concert at the venue at GSR. It is a beautiful theatre. If you get the chance to see a concert there I highly recommend it. (Just don't gamble there).

Room Tip: Stayed in the Remodeled Grand Suite Room. Very happy. Very Roomy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lakefront2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent three days at the Grand Sierra during the Thanksgiving holiday. We got a very good price on the room, which was very clean and well furnished. The bathroom was marble throughout, and although there was no bathtub the shower was very nice. The king-sized bed was comfortable, with a Sealy PosturePedic mattress. Every hotel employee we dealt with was friendly and helpful. Customer service is obviously an emplhasis here.

Now the caveat. This was more an irritation than anything else, and it would not stop me from staying here. Still, it bears mentioning for informational purposes. Despite having a pre-paid reservation, I was charged an $11.30 daily "resort fee", and because I paid with a debit card the hotel held back $50 per day for "incidentals" (none of which I used). That means that they tied up $150 in my bank account until I checked out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orca17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the summit towers with my boyfriend for the Marine Ball. It was definitely worth it. I would pay the extra money to stay in the summit towers, otherwise you'll get a really crappy room(my friends stayed in that). They were jealous. So much to do at this hotel and so many things within driving distance. Many places to eat at the GSR.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malorie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.0 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,351 reviews
1.7 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#17 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 East Second Street, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Reno
#4 Spa Hotel in Reno
#5 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing