We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Very Good Stay. New Improvements.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Louisville,KY
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay. New Improvements.”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Hotel was apparently taken over by new management in 2011 and is still making alot of apparent upgrades. I have no complaints at all. My room was big and nice and staff was Very Friendly. This place has so much space, bowling alley, theater, arcade, etc. I mostly play poker and get this they brought out free food (from buffet line) twice a day for anyone playing cards. Full Dinner type stuff, ie meat and sides. They did this at 2:oo and 9:00pm. Not sure if this will occur always, because the dealers said it was sometimes stopped. Poker room was about 5 tables but always had a decent 1-2 NL going. Prices for food\etc was not bad at all, but I earned alot of comps for free food while there and ate free in Poker Room. Free Shuttle at airport was right on time and only 4 minutes from Hotel to airport. If renting a car, it was cheaper renting from Hotel (Enterprise) than at airport. I tried several places online and calling and no would beat the price I paid for rental at Hotel and it is so convienient to rent there due to free Airport Shuttle so close to airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faaradar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,029
    3,750
    1,516
    567
    372
See reviews for
4,198
4,086
956
1,764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I am so proud of myself for finding this place! When we decided to visit Reno, which we hadn't in 15 yrs., we just assumed we'd stay somewhere "Downtown" as we had previously. But checking the websites, I found a plethora of newer resorts scattered around Reno. The Grand Sierra caught my attention mainly because of all the amenities catering to family entertainment in addition to the required Casino action. The Grand Sierra did not let us down at all - and we are a fussy group! First of all, the Rooms in the new Summit Tower have recently been renovated and are simply excellent - clean, well-appointed, Ice-cold air, boiling hot showers, Micro/Ref. in the room, etc. Housekeeping was also on point. The Casino, while not Vegas, is adequate and actually the best we've seen in Reno. A particular shout-out to the Poker Room: First one I've played in where they not only keep the free liquor flowing, but also bring in complimentary Lunch AND Dinner for players! Dealers make it a point to learn names - not just locals, but casino guests as well. Buffet was very good an much cheaper than Vegas. Starbucks and Johnny Rockets on site, as welll as several other restaurants. Entertainment abounds throughout the resort, from a 50 Lane Bowling Alley (24 hrs!) to a Movie Theater ($3 ea) to a huge Kid's Arcade - including Laser Tag. The Pool has a Sandy Beach Volleyball area, there is an outside mini-golf and Amusement Park......Getting the Picture? There aren't a lot of dull moments here. We stayed 5 nites and ddn't hit everything! Oh yeah, Tours leave from The Grand Sierra as well, so if you feel like an adventure they'll pick you up at the front door. We literally didn't move the car for 5 days. And isn't that what vacations are for?

Room Tip: Ask for Summit Tower Rooms - recently renovated. Gorgeous Mountain Views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stillwitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

Much improved since my last visit. Newly remodeled rooms. Bathroom is very dark, but ok. Close to RNO Airport, 5 min drive. Restaurants are very pricey, but there is a Starbucks in the lobby and a sub shop on the lower level.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent four nights at the Grand Sierra right after 4th of July, attending a family reunion there. I booked a room on the Summit tower, which has been recently renovated. The room was comfortable. The only minor gripe I have is that the temperature in the room never could get quite cool enough. I know, they want you downstairs in the casino and the bars, not in the room, but still, they could set the central AC a bit cooler to counteract the scorching heat at that time of the year.

I took my teenaged nephew with me and he found plenty to do, with the arcade, bowling alley and driving range. Oh yes, another thing to be nitpicky about. The Go-karts and the thrill theme park (whatever they call it) did not seem to be operative. That was one attraction he was especially interested in.

The bar right across from the elevators was perfect for meeting up with family members. It's much quieter than some of the other bars on the premises.

I ate at the Lodge Buffet, the Cantina, and the 24-hour coffee shop. All are OK--nothing spectacular but not horrible either. Convenience is the key. Starbucks was great to have in the lobby.

This place is much better to stay at, IMO, that the seedy downtown Reno area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After abandoning the Grand Sierra's Lodge Buffet because the food had been of horrid quality and selection, we decided to try it again on the Locals Promotion. WOW, it just improved 100%. Congratulations to whomever has taken over running the Lodge Buffet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailndayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

After days of driving, we found the GSR RV Park a lovely place to hangout. Though the webiste boasted lakeviews, it was actually an artifical water viaduct which is also used for a great driving range. There is access to go for a walk beside ( or in) the freshing Truckee River. My dog especially had fun cooling herself there. With the casino, shops, restaurants and amusement center located in the hotel, we enjoyed the amenities, along with access to the pool, crowded but lovely. For just under $30 a night, it was a great place to relax and play. The bathrooms and showers were super clean and conveniently located throughout the park. We even watch the 4th of July fireworks right from our site!!!!

Room Tip: The sites at this RV area very much parking spots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darkmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Rooms are comfortable. Potentially rooms facing the pool can be disturbed by music and activities, but the view of the airport is great. The staff members at the hotel are eager to assist. Will definitely return to this facility.

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the pool in summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammawa44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3,621 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.4 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing