We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lynden, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Enjoyed our stay. The staff was courteous and helpful, the room was very comfortable. The pool burgers were great. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,029
    3,750
    1,516
    567
    372
See reviews for
4,198
4,086
956
1,764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family stayed here for a family reunion at the resort. We had a Summit King room on the 27th floor. The room seemed smaller than some nice sorts. The bathroom only had a stand up shower, no bath tub. The room had a large flat screen TV, very comfortable beds and pillows, microwave, fridge, and coffee maker. Our coffee maker was broken, couldn't get it to work. The resort is going through a renovation and the decor is modern. Lots of people everywhere. It took a long time for Valet to retreive your vehicle.

My family used the pool. Ok pool, with sand beaches around. Peppermill Pool and atmosphere are much better. I would stay here again, but I do prefer the Peppermill and Atlantis over the Grand Sierra.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wmacetheace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Grand Sierra in Reno. I highly recommend upgrading to a suite. They are very nice and reasonable is price. The view of Sierra foothills is beautiful. I haven't stayed in the regular, low rate rooms but understand they are not very comfortable.
The casino is located away from down town and has several options for dining and activities within the facility.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite with mountain view. It is worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

One of the better family resorts for Reno... Tons of stuff for families to do: golf, arcade, play house/jumper area, swimming pool, bowling, etc.

The newly upgraded rooms are definitely worth getting. Also consider getting their "player's card." I originally visited this place a few years ago and signed up for their card online. Having never even played there, they sent me one of their summer offers which included two nights of free room (including the weekend), $50 promo play, and $30 food credit. Not bad for never even playing there.

The only negatives I have are that there can be lots of kids here roaming around... Seems like there should be more parental supervision and not just having young teenagers roaming the resort in groups. Also, the elevators can tend to have a wait.

Room Tip: The renovated rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pika014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in June, 2012.
We had a suite 2 in the Summit Tower, corner room. The room was very clean and beautifully renovated. Bathroom was all marble, glass door shower huge and plenty of bathroom space for 2 people. Bed was very comfortable and the kitchenette was well equipped. Had a one cup coffee maker, microwave, safe and refrigerator. Room was very spacious about 450 square feet.
I booked the room at hotels.com because it was much cheaper. Got a suite for 49.00 a night during the week. Only drawback to this is that if you want to extend your stay, you have to go through hotels.com or book an entire new reservation for the extra night, and not be guaranteed the same room.
The resort itself was fantastic. The gym was excellent for a resort. There are many things to do here including movie theater, shopping, gambling, walking on resort, golf range, and a huge pool with beach. You have many restaurants to chose from, mexican, italian, steak house and buffet. The cafe coffee restaurant was very good for breakfast.
I would suggest if you do buffet to go on a Friday, seafood, much better than during the week.
Resort also has many bars and entertainment. They have dancing and bands.
Resort itself is very centrally located.
You are only about a 5 minute car trip to the airport.
They have a shuttle that runs every 30 minutes.
If you have a car you can get downtown in about 10 minutes.
You can also get to Lake Tahoe in about 45 minutes. There are 2 routes, one going through the moutains and the other freeway.
Carson City is a short car ride and has much shopping. This is capital of Nevada.
Of all the hotels/resorts I saw in Reno, I would highly recommend this property.
The people in Reservations, (expecially Jade) are fantastic. They are kind, friendly and caring people.
Check in was a little slow. Sad thing is that if you get in line around NOON to check in, they will not allow it. There is also no signage telling you you cannot do this. Pretty sad because you literally wasted about 30-40 minutes in line for nothing.
Check out pretty easy.
Allow about 1 hour from time you leave room to get to airport to check bags.
Enjoy your stay!!

Room Tip: Take a Suite 2, in Summit Tower. They are renovated, smoke free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CantonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Nice choice of restaurants. The 50 lane bowling alley rocks. Didn't make it to the pool, but it looked nice from the 22nd floor. Krim Asian restaurant has excellent sushi and other Asian dishes. Reasonably priced wine. The non smoking area in the casino is very tiny and as usual adjacent to the smoking in most places. Staff all courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DBoulevard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our selection of this hotel was part of a Groupon special. The price was right, but there was nothing particularly special about the hotel itself. In fact, it needed quite a bit of work. The rooms are outdated, carpets worn out and we even found writing on the ceilings while waiting for the elevator.

Our room seemed to have been updated fairly recently, but it wasn't one of the rooms shown on Groupon or in their brochures and television ads in the lobby. The hot water in the bathroom was sporadic and we would get bursts of hot and cold during showers. Not fun. The towels were very firm and coarse and they were not working well with my sunburn.

The hotel is located outside of downtown Reno, and there's nothing in the surrounding area except for a Walmart. Whoopie...

We didn't drink at any of the bars, but the one restaurant we ate at was way overpriced. They charged $30 for a sirloin steak and sides are an additional $8 each. The service was good, but thank god we had a $50 restaurant credit.

We saw the "Vive Le Cirque" show for $10/each and it was quite disappointing. Not that I could do any of the flips and acrobatics, but the performers just didn't seem to have the "pizazz" and precision of execution that you get in other shows. There were several falls and almost one show stopping incident.

We checked in on the 4th of July and you'd think that there would have been all kinds of specials and entertainment, but just the opposite was true. Many of the happy hours weren't available and prices seemed higher. This was the case for other hotels as well.

Our stay wasn't bad, but after seeing some of the other hotels and spending some time in the surrounding area, I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends or family.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor. The elevators fill up quickly and if you are on a lower floor you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unifiedac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3,632 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.4 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing