We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Perfect for Labor Day, Rib Cook-off and Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Ranked #8 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for Labor Day, Rib Cook-off and Families”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This resort is truly a resort in that everything is available on the property.

The pool was perfect for the little ones although there is no "kiddie pool". The fact that there is tons of sand for them to play in was enough to make them happy.

It gets crowded really quick but that is to be expected of any pool area. There are not enough areas for lounging in the shade. If you plan on staying at the pool ALL day - highly recommend reserving a cabana in advance. If you only plan to stay for a couple hours - like we usually do - it's just right!

The fitness club and spa was also great - approximately 7 treadmills and an additional 8 or 10 elliptical/stairmaster machines. You also get access to the spa lockerrooms from the gym.

We also utilized the bowling alley - it gets crowded and had a 30 minute wait list at 10pm on a Saturday night.

The Fun Zone is great for the kids - it had a bounce house area for $8 ALL day and the standard ticket video/coin games. Medium sized - would anticipate some frustration if it got too crowded but luckily it didn't on a sunday morning.

Food options are also family friendly - standard coffee shop, buffet, full service Round Table Pizza, a sandwich shop and Johnny Rockets. The Buffet is okay - not fantastic.

The resort was less than 5 minutes from the Rib Cook off. It would have perfect if the hotel offered some kind of Shuttle, but it did not.

The 9th floor room we got was OLD and not remodeled. Our friends stayed in the 21st floor and they said their rooms were completely remodled. The room was clean but with old fixtures. Housekeeping services were prompt with responding to requests for towels.

Overall - we will back for another labor day weekend stay and the rib cook off. Might stay an extra night for the kids to enjoy the resort amenities.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gertrudeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7,029
    3,750
    1,516
    567
    372
See reviews for
4,198
4,086
956
1,764
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,285)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here during labor day weekend. From the pictures the place was promising, but they were far from the truth. Room was old, towels smelled, drains were slow draining, no mini fridge, microwave, or portable coffee maker. My brother got a king suite condo rental here for less than what I paid. If you decide to book here make sure it's one of the individually owned condo/suites. You won't be disappointed. They got a huge flatscreen, another flatscreen in the bathroom, fridge, microwave, with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 707chubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseburg
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Grand Sierra Resort and Casino for two nights while we went to the Sparks water park. We stayed in a basic room which had seen better days. The carpet had stains, the bathroom tile grout was missingin in spots, and the room had a musty smell. I heard the hotel has updated other rooms so there are probably some nicer rooms in the hotel.

On the good side customer service was excellent several times. My daughter locked us out of our room and within a couple minutes security arrived and got us back in the room.

We ate at several restaurants and had great food. The steak and Asian food restaurant were excellent. The casino floor was clean and the short time we played table games the drinks were plentiful.

If your planning on staying at the Grand Sierra definetely upgrade unless your only looking for a place to crash after a big night of partying.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyLaRue3715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheney, Wa
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

...please be welcome to stay somewhere else. This place was great. The absolute total busy family package. If you have a family member tell you there's nothing to do here, send them home. No need for me to go over the laundry list of amenities, but I will mention a couple. Great driving range. $9 for a large bucket of balls may seem like much for some, but when you get 95 balls you're literally hitting practice shots for an hour. And it's so nice when the sun goes down. The cinema was also a real nice bonus. $3 for an almost first-run movie means the whole family can go every day if they want to! If you're there without a car, the bus runs downtown on the half-hour all day. Get a several-day bus pass, and enjoy! You're downtown in 10 minutes. The place is huge, but maneuverable. Best line I heard in my week's stay was from a 10-year old girl walking by me... "I feel like I'm in an airport!" The place was very clean, so anyone complaining about that would cry about a speck of dust in a semi-conductor processing plant. Only reason the fifth star didn't get posted was because all the restaurants on property were so disappointingly expensive. Regardless, there is no question I will be bringing the family back here again...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gcleff11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorenotahoe, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for sharing your review! It's obvious that you travel often and we are delighted that you and your family found GSR to be a good value and entertaining. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

This was my second stay here and I will definitely return. If you stay somewhere else you are wasting your money. This hotel/casino is always running specials so search online for them. The room was spacious and clean. The amenities were not brand new but they were in good shape. Very clean. No smoke smell. The restaurants were excellent and the staff was very friendly. I usually don't bother leaving positive reviews but this plAce deserves it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZDAD11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorenotahoe, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Wow~ thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are pleased you had a great time and we are looking forward to welcoming you back during your next visit to Reno/Tahoe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

I've now stayed at the Grand Sierra several times and plan to return in a couple weeks.

I especially appreciate that this is the only Reno casino that doesn't absolutely reek of smoke when you walk in. They have non-smoking gaming by the front desk and it makes a huge difference.

You must book the summit tower. I have no idea what the other rooms are like, but the summit tower is wonderful. All rooms look like they've been remodeled fairly recently. Bathroom is spacious - only complaint here is that the lighting in the bathroom stinks. Comfy bed and linens and comfy couch.

Gym is very dated, but its quite large and is adequate.

Restaurants are good, but they close early - I believe around 9:30pm. And one of my visits there, the one place open later was closed for maintenance. But the steak at Charlie Palmer is so good...so tender. and the wine bar is good - decent selection and you pay by the ounce.

Parking kinda stinks - especially if you're trying to bring a suitcase up from your car - no ramps which is a pain. Valet is an option, but if you're in a hurry to leave in the mornings, as I usually am, just self-park.

My biggest compliment to the Grand Sierra is that there was smoke on my non-smoking floor my last night there recently. As I was checking out, I mentioned it to the clerk at the front desk and she IMMEDIATELY picked up the phone and called someone to check on it. Gotta love when someone doesn't just say they'll check on it, but actually does while you're still standing there.

Looking forward to my return in two weeks!

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SFpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorenotahoe, Manager at Grand Sierra Resort and Casino, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your honest feedback regarding your stay. We like that you noticed our efforts to make your experience comfortable and we look forward to the changes you will see during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Grand Sierra is not like other Casinos in that it has OUTSTANDING comps for its club members. Grand Sierra does not "tease" it members by touting "promised" rewards, as many other Casinos in Reno (Cal- Neva for example!). Grand Sierra promises comps AND keeps its promises! It is the CLEANEST, MOST SECURE, FRESH AIR Casino in Reno! Join the Club and find out for yourself. Grand Sierra does not "slap on" resort fees on its free room nights. You get what they say you will get! No Come Ons!

Room Tip: Join the Comp Club and use the card, when you play
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lippylemurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3,632 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.4 mi away
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Sierra Resort and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Sierra Resort and Casino

Property: Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
Address: 2500 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89595-1200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Reno
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Casino Hotel in Reno
#5 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Family Hotel in Reno
#10 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Sierra Resort and Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1995
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino is located in the heart of Reno/Tahoe - America's Adventure Place. Guests have access to over 40 championship golf courses, 18 legendary ski resorts, hiking, biking and equestrian trails, fishing, boating and guided tours to Tahoe, Carson and Virginia City. GSR is northern Nevada's largest resort destination with 1,995 guest rooms, 850 of them luxury suites. The property offers a wide variety of accommodations for the every day business traveler to the complete family vacation with amenities that include 200,000 square feet of meeting and convention space, branded retail shopping, headliner entertainment, Cineplex, a 50-lane championship bowling center, outdoor thrill rides, aqua golf driving range, the largest casino north of Las Vegas, plus much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Sierra Resort and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Sierra Hotel Reno
Summit At Grand Sierra Hotel
Summit Reno
Reno Summit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing