We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Convenient and good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

Directly across the street from the airport makes it a great spot to stay to catch an early morning flight. I stayed 2 nights and the prices were reasonable and the second night I actually had a bigger room with a fireplace in it for under $70. There is an attached restaurant which I had breakfast at that was very overpriced with slow service. The bar area was nice and reasonably priced with a friendly bartender. I will stay here again if passing through the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for your business, looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    249
    112
    56
    53
See reviews for
218
205
86
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Have stayed at a myriad of different hotel chains throughout the Western US. Typically a BW Plus offers additional amenities, including complimentary breakfasts). Not here. Expect to pay a premium price for the room, and Do Not forget to factor in the cost of breakfast, which drives the room price to over $100 to look at the International Airport. When in Reno, NV would probably be best served to stay somewhere else if you are looking for a good value.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LVXtlman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

From January 1st 2014, we are no longer a "plus". We have decided to stay with basic "Best Western" brand.

You room rate was $69.99 before tax and a good valued breakfast in our full service restaurant cost about $6.00, you also have an option to reserve a room including free breakfast on "BestWestern.com" but however from May 1st 2014 , we are going to use a new menu in our on-site restaurant, we will provide "dinning credit" to all our in house guests. Thank you for your understanding and patience about it.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Thank you again for your business, wish to see you again in the near future!

Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The hotel is old and musty - badly needs renovations. Although my room had a view of the freeway, the room was quiet. The bathroom sink would not drain and no one repaired it in spite of several phone calls to the front desk. The restaurant served fresh salads and room service was excellent and reasonable. The best part of this hotel was the excellent staff. The airport location was convenient for this trip to Reno.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

I'm very glad to hear that you are satisfied with our food services.

Due to the room & facilities, we are in the progress of the "Best Western Property Improvement Program", during the program; we are going to upgrade the entire hotel. Thank you for your patience!

Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!


Best Regards,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

The price is great. Always clean, comfortable and quiet for the dozen or so times we've stayed. Our only quibbling complaints would be inadequate lighting (which is true of nearly all hotels these days) and too few accessible/unused electrical outlets.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us again and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for your business, looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Family of 3 including 2 teenagers. We were backpacking this trip due to the distance we covered from San Francisco, South Lake Tahoe, Yosemite National Park then back to San Francisco for 3 nights before flying back home. Hotel is very close to the airport. It is right across the street from the airport. But the road is very busy & it has chains outside of the airport car park to stop you jaywalking. We found the safest way is to take the exit from the main entrance then followed the path. There are 2 sets of lights for pedestrian to cross the road. It was a short walk for us, less than 10 minutes. But if you have heavy luggage & has mobility difficulty, it would be wise to use their airport shuttle. Lobby is well decorated & roomy. Sun room is still under construction. The hotel has a very nice courtyard. We did not go to the courtyard but it looks well maintained. It is in the centre of the hotel. Guest rooms are in U-shaped built around the courtyard. There is laundry service on the main floor. It would be a long walk to get there if your room is on the second floor & is not close to it. Room is spacious & clean. Bed is comfortable. No noise from the airport. Water pressure is good & water is warm. Breakfast is not included. We had dinner & breakfast in the restaurant. Food was food. Price was not bad. $4.99-$5.99 for choice of pancake or waffle @ breakfast. It would be nice if breakfast is included. I did not expect too much from this hotel due to the past guest review. But I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the hotel. We went to Downtown Reno and found the shops were all closed before 4:30 pm. We walked around for 10 minutes. There weren't too many tourists on the street except some homeless people or strangers. We took the cab back to the hotel. We took the Lake Tahoe Express next morning. We enjoyed South Lake Tahoe than Reno.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 949maggie1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for your business, looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is the only Best Western game in town, but continues to provide the best experience. Located directly across from the airport, you wouldn't know it. Very quiet. The staff is service-oriented, but then Reno/Sparks is a service-oriented community that knows their job.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jayne F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

Thank you again for your business, looking forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Regards,
Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were charged $27 for movie rental that we did not rent. We were told by hotel staff that it is not possible for their system to make a mistake and we would need to pay the fee. We insisted that we didn't rent any movie, but hotel would not deduct it from our bill. We continued to insist that their had to be a mistake, and at our insistence, the manager finally called the company that handles the movie rentals, and she found out that indeed the hotel had made a mistake by not closing out the account from the prior guest. The hotel manager could have also discovered the error but checking the date the movie was rented and our check in time which was approx. 15 hours later! We were humiliated by the experience because movie was "adult entertainment" and I was called away from my husband to be informed of this. This indicated to me that they thought my husband had rented movie without my knowledge. It is scary when a consumer can be told that a mistake is not possible because of technology, and the consumer can be forced to pay for something they did not purchase.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sally C, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Ann,

Thank you for your email to me and willing to forgive us on the mistake. Thank you so much for willing to stay with us again!

Best Regards to you and your family!!

Sally Cao
General Manager

Manager's reply March 6 2014
Dear Mrs. Ann T,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.The guest stayed in the same room the night before you was checked out in our main computer system, but the main computer system failed in talking to the movie computer system. This is the first time we ever had a system error like this. We have contacted our main system vendor and reported the error. This is a valuable lesson to us and as of the night after your departure we have started a new audit procedure, each movie transaction will be manually audit every night. We can't let the same thing happen to any other customers again.

I felt very bad after you and Mr.T left my office the other day and I know if the same thing happened to me and my husband I would also be very upset and it would be hard to forgive the mistake. but as an imperfect person I really can't see everything as God. Our night audit report doesn't always show the exact time and date on it, most of the time it depends on which shift we run the report. So when the incident happened I really couldn't rely on the date on the report. I have to call the vendor to find out the exact information.

Please understand we did not intend for this to happen and we were just trying to do our job right. We tried our best to keep the conversation privately and I also comp your room charge before you left my office.

I'm really glad we were able to find out the truth in time and didn't cause anymore harm to you and your family. But I really understand it already hurt your feeling deeply. In this case we would love to do anything for you to exchange a forgiveness. Please let me know if there's anything else I can do for you and your husband, we will do the best to compensate you.

We appreciate your understanding and I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.


Sincerely,

Sally Cao
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
2.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
1.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
Address: 1981 Terminal Way, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#12 Business Hotel in Reno
#14 Family Hotel in Reno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Don't gamble when it comes to scoring a great Reno hotel, when choosing an affordable and luxurious room is this easy.This Reno airport hotel is close to both the airport for those early morning flights and many attractions in the area. Airport parking in Reno can be expensive and quite the headache, but that's all taken care of here. Save that money for testing your luck at the slots or craps tables. You've already hit the jackpot by choosing this Reno hotel.This Reno BEST WESTERN offers an unbeatable location, airport parking and stellar curb appeal. Business meetings are a breeze when working with our Reno hotel events staff and state of the art equipment. Of course, after that presentation has been given, or the deal has been sealed, it's time to make the most of the biggest little city in the world.Local event celebrations like air races, hot air balloon festivals, Street Vibrations, Harley Davidson events, Burning Man, and rodeos are all packed with fun. Sporting events including basketball, volleyball, soccer and baseball reign supreme here. Maybe you're in town for one of the many conventions. Maybe you're simply traveling through en route to Virginia City or Tahoe. No matter what your plans, our Reno hotel is your oasis in the desert. Avoid travel traffic out of the airport if you've just landed by selecting a great deal on a clean, comfortable room at this Reno hotel.The state capital and National Guard military base regularly brings in civil servants and service men and women for work. Get pampered even if you're on the clock.Book a wonderful room at BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel for the easiest stay of your life! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Best Western, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Reno
Reno Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing