We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”
Review of Gatekeeper Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gatekeeper Inn
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Close to everything friendly, clean, afordable, secure. I was there for hot aug. Nights , the air show, oct. Fest and THANKS GIVING Management made it a great holliday ... Hope to be in town soon and i would not stay anywere. Else. :)::):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):o

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bill_lyon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
There are newer reviews for Gatekeeper Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

I went to Gatekeepers Inn last yr and had a good experience. It was $69/day. This yr I had called them multiple times for two months and my phone call was never answered. Later to find out they said their phone line was cut off. When I did get an answer I reserved rooms for my friends and I. The inn told me it was $69 a night. I was fine with it and gave him my card number. I just called again yesterday to check my reservation and the man goes and tells me its $129 a night. When I told him he had said it was $69 before he denied it. He said it had always been $129. I tried talking to him and that last yr when I stayed there it was $69. He didnt want to hear it and told me their was a misunderstanding and I'd get a call back. Ive been waiting and no call back now! Dont go there and get ripped off!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We came to Reno in October 2011 to get married, we liked it so much here we decided to stay. We drove around looking for a nice safe place for our family to stay, and we found the Gatekeeper Inn. From the moment we arrived, the manager, Tim, was a major help. He is awesome, the best manager we ever had the pleasure of coming across. He is very polite, understanding and very professional. It is because of Tim that we are staying here until we find permanent housing. If it wasn't for him, we would've went else were already. Definitely a 5 star hotel with 5 star manager.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6mullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We've stayed here several times because of it's location and returned because of the former manager, Margie. However, Margie is no longer there and the new manager can't compare. The rates seem to fluctuate at the whim of the new manager and are twice as high as usual during special events such as Hot August Nights and Street Vibrations. Basically it is a $60/night motel tops. Better deals can easily be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan626_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We were going to Reno for The Golden Boys concert (Frankie Avalon, Fabian & Bobby Rydell) at the Silver Legacy Hotel on Sat., Aug 7, 2010. Did not realize that it was their "Hot August Nights" weekend & that every hotel would be booked up.

But, I found the Gatekeeper reviews, which didn't sound too bad & called them. They actually had a room available for our one night, so I reserved it.

THE GOOD STUFF -
Just a block from the Silver Legacy & Circus Circus Hotels. Nice thick towels. Clean sheets. Friendly office lady. TV.
THE BAD STUFF -
Everything else......old & dirty motel, carpets, etc. Really scary looking people staying there. Rate of $115 + tax for the night, which was $100 too much. People running amuck on the balcony, yelling & screaming at 4 a.m.
No coffee pot, no phone, no clock.

Didn't get much sleep & left (ran away) at 7 a.m. the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frugalfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

When I first came to reno,I needed a clean,safe place to stay.checked almost all the motels in town,by far Gatekeeper was the best.Close to casinos,clean and the manager (Margie),always goes out of her way to make sure you enjoy your stay there.I stayed there almost 8 months,and if I ever need a motel again wouldnt stay anywhere else.Just ask for Margie and enjoy you stay.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s777kip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2007

This Motel couldn't be in a better location! A sweet Mom 'n' Pop style run motel with very helpful and friendly staff. It's small and cozy at a very reasonable rate! The people that run this place go out of their way to make sure everyone is satisfied!
The location is prime, 2 blocks from the Reno strip you are close to everything, yet can retire in a quiet room that is not right in the middle of everything! Reasonable rates, good weekly rates for people coming to work, and great staff!

Stayed: April 2007
Thank somesfchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.1 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.4 mi away
Plaza Resort Club
Plaza Resort Club
#20 of 64 in Reno
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Rose Inn
Desert Rose Inn
#32 of 64 in Reno
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gatekeeper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gatekeeper Inn

Address: 221 West 5th Street, Reno, NV 89503
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: $58 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free HBO, Free Wi-Fi, microwave/fridge combinations in select units. Daily, weekly and monthly rates available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing