We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't shovel it in fast enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toucan Charlie's Buffet

Toucan Charlie's Buffet
Ranked #6 of 906 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Toucan Charlie's serves up everything from salads and delicious desserts to juicy hand-carved meats and culinary delights from around the globe, the choices are practically endless. Enjoy made to order items like omelets and sizzling Mongolian BBQ in addition to traditional favorites like roasted and fried chicken and hand-carved Prime Rib.
Caldwell, Idaho
Level Contributor
39 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Couldn't shovel it in fast enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Omg....the food is INSANE!! Just boundless courses from which to choose. Salads, dressings, breakfast, lunch, dinner, prime rib, fried chicken, Chinese, CHEESECAKE!! Sooo much good food. Better get there EARLY!! We got there 30 minutes before dinner opened an it's a good thing we did. We stayed for about 45 minutes for dinner and when we left, there was a line nearly all the way down the casino.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank shannon t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    165
    70
    16
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Del Mar, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
340 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Just barely an average casino buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Based on T/A reviews I read about this buffet I had high hopes, boy was I disappointed. I have had a lot of buffet meals at Reno and Las Vegas casinos over the years and this one was barely average. One measure of a good buffet is by the size of the fresh shrimp serviced. Comparing this place to other Nevada casino buffets I have eaten at, the size of the shrimp at this place would be ranked near the bottom of average buffet list. The food presented on the buffet line was either tasteless, dry or just mediocre. At $13 for this buffet lunch you get what you pay for, nothing special and I definitely wouldn't be eating here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast buffet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just love that they serve more than the typical eggs and pancakes during their breakfast buffet. You can also choose Mexican or Asian dishes and they have a full salad bar open that early too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kizchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penryn
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The seafood and steak night has an excellent variety. Salads, soups, international foods as well with a Mongolian variety to choose from. The food and deserts are always fresh with so much to choose from. I cannot say there was anything that was negative about our experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good quick meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything is pretty good. Service can be a little slow sometimes. Not the cheapest buffet in Reno, but one of the better ones.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pudge300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toucan Charlie's Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Toucan Charlie's Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing