We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Family Friendly Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno
Ranked #35 of 64 Hotels in Reno
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean, Family Friendly Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a great place to bring your family to stay and play. I was pleasantly surprised to find that there was so much to do within the resort (indoor heated pool, children's game-room, fitness room, business center) as well as being in a nice quiet part of town with a great view. Staff is friendly and very helpful. We had fun taking walks to the river & nearby parks. There is a local grocery store right around the corner and we appreciated the well furnished kitchen where we were able to cook meals for the whole family. We also had a great time at the "family movie night" where they served complimentary pop-corn, soda, and candy.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Hi Amy

Thanks so much for the great review and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back and visit us again real soon!

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    33
    24
    14
    27
See reviews for
43
33
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ridgecrest, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We wanted a location close to the Amtrak station as my wife and I were dropping off my parents and brother departing for the Midwest on Amtrak. My wife and daughter also have bad food allergies so we needed somewhere where we could make our own meals, which we do a lot while traveling. This location had a great price, a kitchen, and enough room for 6 people with 2 queen beds and a pull-out in the living room. I usually don't like staying anywhere near downtown in any city, but the location was great considering our needs and was walking distance from Amtrak (next to Harrahs), several casinos, and the National Automobile Museum. Although we didn't walk, the proximity was very welcome as the day we drove up from California (on 395) the entire area was under several inches of snow and the roads were extremely icy, especially downtown. We were also able to park our vehicle near the front doors instead of the parking garage thanks to the lack of guests while we were there. If it had been forecasted to snow again though I would have been able to move the car easily to the parking garage under the building which is free for guests.

Our suite was on the top floor and was reached with an indoor/outdoor elevator that is accessed indoors from the lobby and exits onto a secure exterior walkway. The room was spacious with a separate bedroom with 2 queen beds and a full bath. The living room area was tiled contains a couch (with pull out bed), flat screen TV with a DVD player, table with 4 chairs, another full bath, and a small kitchen. The kitchen includes a small range, small refrigerator, microwave, sink, coffee maker, and a good selection of cookware, silverware, cups, plates, etc... It was close to, or slightly below 0 the nigh we were there and the heater worked great and was easy to use. There are separate thermostats for the bedroom and living room. The only complaint was that the heater blower was on the loud side, but didn’t seem to keep anyone awake.

We only stayed one night so I cannot comment on any room service; it did appear to be very clean though when we arrived with a good amount of extra towels and blankets, as well as pot holders, dish towels, and washcloths for the kitchen area. My wife only drinks decaf and there was none in the room, I went to the lobby to ask for some and was quickly provided with a couple of packs. Although this may seem trivial, the coffee packets they provide are very good compared to most motel/hotel coffees.

The only thing that prevents me from rating higher is the pool area. Although I didn’t go in person, my parents and brother decided to go to the indoor pool as it was understood to be heated. They were disappointed to find out that the pool was extremely cold. They decided to use the sauna and found that it did get very warm either and was not usable at all.
Overall though we were all happy, especially considering the price, and would gladly return if we needed a location close to downtown. I would recommend this to anyone that wants to stay close to downtown and needs to be able to cook their own meals or just wants to save some money by not eating out while on vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northwindone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael S, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Hi Northwindone

Thanks so much for your feedback, as we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves to have great customer service and amenities for all our guests. We are also glad you enjoyed the coffee, location, kitchen and housekeeping.

In regard to the pool, we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. As soon as the sub-zero temperatures passed, the repair was completed and pool heater is now working normally.

We hope you will come visit us again real soon and have a happy and healthy New Year.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week (10/20-27/2013) no issues except for pigeon droppings on balcony which staff cleaned once reported. Walking distance to river, movie theater, restaurants, and casinos. Place was clean, provided full kitchens-stove, oven, refrigerator, microwave, toaster, blender. Full baths- sink, shower, tub.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank theressiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

We're so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Legacy Vacation Club in Reno. Thank you for taking the time to leave these nice nice comments about your vacation here.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations! We'd love to see you again.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannibal, Ny
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I have read several of the reviews and felt I needed to comment. We also were not provided with information on the resort at check in, so I went and inquired. It seems that this info is supposed to be in your room on the table. When I said it wasn't there it was provided to me.
The front desk immediately set up my complimentary cleaning as we were there for the week.
We also did not understand the heat/AC, but it wasn't a problem due to the outside temperature. The fan seemed noisy, but no air came out of the unit. BUT, I never took the time to ask about it so it could have been something minor.
We DID stay the whole week and managed to cook a majority of our meals in house. The kitchen was adequately supplied for that. We expanded our kitchen space by using the (separate from the tub and toilet area) sink as our wet bar area. Sometimes in a time share unit you have to be a little flexible.
Timeshares NEVER provide daily cleaning service.
We found the unit to comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnaB1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hello Donna,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and share your experience. We're glad that you found the unit to be comfortable and clean. We take pride in the quality of our housekeeping services and strive to provide the very best of accommodations.

As for information to be provided at check in, as you discovered we don’t do that. Instead, we place a tri-fold brochure with basic information about our resort near the television. The in-room guide contains information about our hotel including the television channel listings, thus the placement near the televisions.

There are multiple opportunities to learn more about the Legacy Vacation Club, our community and local events. First, the front desk is staffed 24 hours a day, seven days a week and our staff stands ready to assist you with your various needs. Secondly, Monday mornings we will be hosting a brief continental breakfast complete with coffee, juice and breakfast items. At that meeting, Staff will give general information about the immediate area including maps & directions, local events and area attractions, general information about Reno and share any special offers and/or discounts that our neighboring businesses are offering. Lastly, later in the week, we have a weekly wine & cheese reception which gives guests and opportunity to meet & interact with both the resort manager and with fellow travelers. All are excellent opportunities to interact and ask questions about Reno and its various offerings.

We cannot emphasize enough that the front desk staff is here to assist you. In this case, we are glad that they were able to provide you the information you didn’t find in the room and to schedule your free mid-week housekeeping services.

Had you asked the front desk and/or a representative from our maintenance department would have gladly both checked the operation of your air conditioning/heating system and to show you the correct settings.

We are so glad that you shared your experience and encouraged others to utilize the front desk for almost any issues that may arise during your stay. Thank you for choosing the Legacy Vacation Club in Reno and giving us the opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Legacy for Street Vibrations... initially thought it might be far from casios, but nope, very simple nice walk, less than 10 mins. Staff was very friendly and as you look around the place has a lot of offer... pool tables, pool, tv, coffee... we really enjoyed our large room with kitchen!!! Only small problem was they didnt clean room, but that was no big deal as it was Street Vibration weekend and I am sure they were overloaded. Bikes were safe and everybody was cool. We will stay there again next year! thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Greg,

We'd like to thank you for the great review. We’re glad that you found our place convenient, affordable and our staff attentive.

We apologize if the lack of housekeeping services was an inconvenience. As a timeshare facility, we do not offer daily housekeeping unless requested. We hope this did not affect your stay with us.

Please keep us in mind for future vacations, we would love to see you again next year!

Best,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We booked a week through RCI for a good price. Arrived the Sun. Of Labor Day weekend. Got a " studio" unit. That first night the whole place was so noisy! We could hear the TVs in rooms around us! An adjoining room had several people and they partied until 2-3:00 AM! A call to the front desk got them to turn off the TV but not their voices!
On Mon. The place cleared out and it was quiet the rest of the week.

Our unit was small, motel room size, queen bed. There was a small kitchen which we only used for a light breakfast. The location was great on the edge of downtown, close to the River walk.
We did not use the pool or game room but they looked adequate.
Parking was limited on that first night but lots available after that.
I would stay here again maybe try for a one bedroom, and not on a holiday weekend.
We went for the balloon races and they were spectacular!
We had no issues with staff, front desk staff was helpful. I did wish they would empty the trash and provide fresh towels at least once during the week. I did take dirty towels to the desk to exchange for clean ones, room service for that would have been nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeckyinBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, Guest Relations Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Hi Becky,

Thank you for the overall positive review and, of course, we're glad that you found our resort to your liking. As is usually the case, we were sold out for the labor day weekend and week as we are every year. We're pleased that we were able to resolve the noise problem with your neighbor and that you didn't have any further problems for the remainder of the week.

As one of the original timeshares in Reno, what we don't have in room size is, in our opinion, more than made up by our downtown location and proximity to the River Walk district, the restaurants, casinos, shopping and entertainment.

We note your comment about desiring more housekeeping services. We offer weekly housekeeping services and a free tidy clean on the fourth day of the stay if a guest schedules one with the front desk. Our staff doesn't enter the guest room during the week without your express permission. Of course, guests can simply phone the desk to request any add'l services, ranging from the exchange of towels and/or emptying of trash for no extra charge to full housekeeping services daily for a nominal charge.

Thank you for choosing Legacy Vacation Club and recommending our resort to others!

Best,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff, so so accommodations. Staff lied to us and said they were fully booked then belittled us for booking on Hotel Tonight saying we were only entitled to their "cheap" rooms. Not a place I'd look to book again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie C, General Manager at Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments & review about your recent stay at the Legacy Vacation Club. We were delighted that you found us through a last minute booking opportunity at Hotels Tonight.

Unfortunately, you were one of the first bookings through the site and our staff apparently had some misunderstandings about the program. The following day, we were starting our Hot August Nights Car Show, which is an annual city-wide sell-out and the clerk in question was being overly cautious keeping rooms that were reserved for the anticipated arriving guests clean and vacant.

The Hotels Tonight program affords guests a last minute opportunity to book our hotel at a discounted rate if the room is not rented in advance and similarly affords the guest the opportunity to best room availability at no additional cost. We are truly sorry that this was misunderstood by our front desk personnel at the time and assure you that this has been corrected.

Hotels Tonight is an excellent opportunity for new to us travelers to experience the Legacy Vacation Club and we encourage guests to give the program a try. Be aware that the opportunity is extremely limited and that if you absolutely must have a place in Reno, you may not want to wait till the day of arrival to book.

Thank you for taking the time to convey these details about your stay, it's truly appreciated.

Best regards,
Guest Relations
Legacy Vacation Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno

Property: Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno
Address: 140 Court Street, Reno, NV 89501-1904 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts)
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Reno Timeshare with 93 suites, featuring a fully equipped kitchenette with mini-stove/oven, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, blender, cookware, glassware, flatware and silverware. The resort features free resort-wide wifi. Suites are equipped with 32" flat screen TV's, cable televisions and dvd players. Resort includes heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, fitness center, active lounge, game room, sun deck with bbq grill and a putting course.A number of recent improvements have been made to ensure that all systems are operational and to ensure guest satisfaction, including new signage, new paint (both exterior and interior), new tile, new carpet, newly renovated guest rooms with upgraded bedding, bathroom and kitchen counters and new flat screen TV's and DVD players. Additionally, modernized and upgraded elevators, a new chiller and cooling tower, repair and/or replacement of older hvac units and upgraded thermostats to resolve guest concerns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legacy Vacation Resorts-Reno Hotel Reno
Celebrity Resort Reno
Celebrity Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing