We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”

Louis' Basque Corner
Reserve with OpenTable
Louis' Basque Corner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 913 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Evans Street
Transit: Located kitty-corner from the main downtown bus station.
Description: Welcome To Louis" Basque Corner, home of the famous Picon Punch! Dinners served family-style with authentic specialties such as chicken and tongue Basquaise, oxtails, tripas callos, lamb chops, New York steak and many daily specials. Fish served daily. Banquet facilities hold up to 125 people. Located east of the Bowling Stadium and the downtown Events Center. Free Parking!
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Had a steak there that was so tough that it was not edible. Very over-rated, but fun place to hangout

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sdjuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    44
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Different experiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My mom loves to come to this place everytime she visits. They do Basque food you don't get most places. Toungh and sweetbreads are her thing. I like the lamb and steak. You are seated and served family style, (with other families, people). We met lots of nice people and had very enjoyable conversations during dinner.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
157 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You've gotta eat here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was an absolutely fantastic place to eat "Basque". Very definitely a locals place. Family style dining. Long tables that seat eight or so. If you are a couple, expect company. Very friendly and casual. Outstanding food. I highly recommend this if you like Basque food and environment.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike9922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Where the Locals go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Family style food, great service, and a true taste of old Reno. Friends invited my wife and I to re-visit this once Reno stable. Under new ownership, the interior has been redone.

Seating is done family style, sitting 8 to a table. Our party of 4 ate with two couples, and after introductions, was very enjoyable. Make sure you start your meal with a Picon Punch.

It had been almost 20 years since we last visted Louis', and after this visit, will now become a regular.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bozinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, AZ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Louis' Louis'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Sat next to an interesting older couple that had been coming there for 30 years. Roasted lamb was tender and just right. Sirloin was excellent. They even brought out a sample of the sweetbread (offal) as I've never had it before and was afraid to order a whole entree. It was excellent and I will order it next time I'm there. Sides were good, the tongue was another interesting item as a side. Desert was a letdown, scoop of ice cream or a disappointing hard cheese. Very much worth the reasonable prix fixe .

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louis' Basque Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing