We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Parking Lot”

Johnny's Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #51 of 922 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
366 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Full Parking Lot”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Johnny's had a full parking lot on Thursday at 5:30pm so we thought it must be good. It was, but not great. Wine selection of Itanian wines was limited - no Classico Chianti by the glass. Service was good. Seafood ravioli wasn't. You could not taste the seafood with all the heave cheese and cream sauce.
The restaurant has a good atmosphere, the service is friendly, it's convient to NW Reno, and the prices are not too high. They just have to work on there sauces.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    29
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truckee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This was our second time to Johnny's and we were not disappointed. Our wait staff were attentive and prompt. Both dinner and dessert exceeded our expectation. I love Tiramisu and I've found that not everyone can make a great one. It was absolutely packed when we arrived so reservations are a must. We live in the Tahoe area and dinner at Johnny's is a great value in addition to serving great food. We were a table of 6 and all had at least 1 cocktail, main course, and dessert with coffee for less than we would have had to pay where we live. We had a leisurely dinner and never felt that we needed to vacate the table. We will absolutely return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TahoeGal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I am in LOVE with their ravioli!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Johnny's is a family-run restaurant with an upscale environment. We love to go there. It's nice to have something nice on the west side of town. We're not very creative, as we get the same thing every
time we go there. I love their cheese ravioli. It is in a pink sauce that I just can't get enough of. We are not a fan of their desserts. They basically
just have typical Italian desserts like tiramisu. Just not our thing. But their soup, salad, and main dishes are quite good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Johnny's never disappoints. Linguine and clams was excellent. My wife had the cannelloni and loved it. MIL had the sausage and polenta which she enjoyed. Service was a little slow. Several tables around us arrived later but received their orders first. Johnny's remains a great choice for Italian food in Reno.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank renobob6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Service food and ambiance were exceptional.
Veal special and lasagna were relish.
Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oursswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Johnny's Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing