We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy Itallian”

La Vecchia Italian Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Vecchia Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 917 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cashill
NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Healthy Itallian”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food is really good and it seems healthy. Not just "family style" slopped together stuff. Great service and great food. Nice atmosphere too. Great view.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
369 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a slightly hidden away place worth looking for. Located in a small strip mall with a nice view, this restaurant serves great Italian food. It uses locally grown products which is community friendly. They offer gluten free dishes if that is a concern. The ambience is classic modern Italian with some art deco touches. My desert came in a plastic cup which was a bit of a surprise. Service for me was attentive.

I started with a glass of Zenato Pinot Grigio which I've had before although I thought the pour was a bit short. I paired it with the spinach salad which included Baby spinach, pear, pistachios, red wine vinaigrette, Parmesan Bowl that was an actual bowl of parmesan cheese! They take the cheese, form it into a "taco salad shell" then flash fry it to paper thin and crispy. Nice touch.

Each night there is a Ravioli special so I gambled and got the BOAR meat with marinara and cheese sauce accompanied by roasted peppers, roasted garlic and cherry tomatoes. It was delicious and paired with a great glass of Cabernet Sauvignon, Geyser Peak, Sonoma County the main dish was complete.

For desert I had coffee with Chocolate Busino; Bittersweet Chocolate Mousse with Orange Zest and whipped cream. Perfect conclusion to the meal. Thought it was reasonably priced @ $63 TOTAL for food, wine, coffee, desert, tax AND tip. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What a wonderful dining experience. The restaurant was busy and we did not have reservation so we sat outside on the patio, which had great view of downtown Reno. The food had great favor and I could not find any faults with the food. The service was not the best but because it was busy I don't hold that against the restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susyq09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Italian In Reno”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Howdy,

Have I had better..YES...but by far, Alberto and his crew are the best in Northern Nevada! great food with great service, I love their duck pappardelle and the Gnocchi is good too:)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seal13il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
365 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Just Another Mediocre Italian Resto”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a first-time visit to the restaurant's new location. Memories of my first visit, from many years before, immediately returned when I saw the menu and the plate combinations. This is not a place to go if you are looking for simple, light cuisine, delicious Italian. The crispy fried cornmeal battered melanzzane (eggplant) was not crispy; however, the sauce was good. The fritto misto was light with no flavor, including the aioli dipping sauce. The pumpkin ravioli was laden with a heavy red sausage sauce, taking away from the delicate flavors of the pumpkin ravioli. The ceasar salad was completely and utterly lack-luckster. I could have made a better salad at home, using freshly made croutons and not those out of a box. The interior atmosphere is awful and out-of-date. The outside deck is a very nice with a great view looking out over Reno. This restaurant is overly priced and not worth the price for what I call "FOOD." Unremarkable, tasteless and pricey.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank heartstoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Vecchia Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Vecchia Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing