We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super Susan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Romanza Ristorante Italiano

Romanza Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #31 of 905 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At Romanza Ristorante in the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino, you'll dine on exquisite Italian cuisine, including many wood-fired specialties, beneath softly glowing torches while overhead, the sky scene drifts from starry twilight to a delicately lighted dawn, all choreographed to classic Italian music. An enchanted skydome, Corinthian columns and classical sculptures create a romantic elegance unmatched in Reno.
Nevada
Level Contributor
206 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Super Susan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Romanza Italian Restaurant in the Peppermill Resort Reno is among the best.
The meal is outstanding and if you can - ask for Susan as your waitperson. She is outstanding, bubbling, informative, and a great lady.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank renostew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    51
    27
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Large portions and anemic wine list”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

The food was average and dominated with gut bomb mentalities. Our waiter heard we were from Colorado and proceeded to tell us all the things he would do if marijauna was legal in Nevada (ironic it's not) which was not very interesting to us as we don't use or enjoy marijauna. Prices very high for quality.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dlagerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
178 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Amazing Fliet Mignon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

The restaurant is a little stuffy with all the decor but nevertheless the food was great. We had the filet with shrimp and the meatballs. Very delicious. One of the best steaks I have had ever...cooked to perfection medium rare. The meatballs were good...they could use a little spice for an extra kick but they are definitely homemade as well as the pasta. The restaurant isn't dark...just has a dim romantic setting...you could see the menu unless you're legally blind. Our server was extremely busy which worked in our favor because we don't like to small talk or chit chat but he did his job. No complaints. I just wished I had more time to try more things on the menu. Birthday dessert was a nice treat with our champagne for a celebration. If we are ever in Reno again we will definitely eat here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trini4life25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

The food was amazing with great presentation. Be sure to save room for dessert. The Tiramisu and Creme Brûlée are among the best I've ever had. The Sicilian Cheesecake was a bit different and not a big hit at our table. Michael and Angie were amazing servers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AngieP1871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Do NOT order a steak!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

The restaurant needs better lighting. Honest, you cannot read the menu. I wasn't the only one using my cell phone in the flashlight mode to help read. The food was good with the exception of the T-Bone steak that was ordered. The steak could not be cut with a steak knife. We even asked for a sharper knife, which was brought but there was still no way to cut the thing. Further, the steak was poorly seasoned and the sauce was bland. Unfortunately, the waiter did not offer a replacement menu item. The meal was not a total disaster because they brought us a tiramizu on the house to help celebrate my wife's birthday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romanza Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Romanza Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing