We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Mexican food at reasonable prices”

Murrieta's Restaurant
Ranked #114 of 922 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very good Mexican food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This place was recommended as the best Mexican restaurant by the front desk clerk at the Residence Inn we were staying in. And he was right! Very good Mexican food at reasonable prices. Everything was fresh and flavorful, especially the pico de gallo served with the chips before dinner and the best refried beans I've tasted. Certainly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    15
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Reno's Best Mexican Restaurant”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Murrieta's is just one of those places that is always on their game, from food to service. We have been going there for years and it never disappoints. I've always found it better than Bertha Miranda's and consider it Reno's top Mexican restaurant.

Some of our favorite dishes are the carnitas, shrimp wrapped in bacon, pambasos with asada and the enchiladas ala mexicana. But, really, you can't go wrong with anything on the menu. One thing I have always liked is they bring you both salsa and pico de gallo (or, for us gringos, hot sauce and salsa) for your chips. The hot sauce/salsa has a nice smoky heat to it and can vary in intensity given the day's chilies that were used. Team those up with the guacamole appetizer and you have a nice trio going for your meal's starter.

The servers are all fantastic (especially Martha) and the location also has a full bar if that is what you are looking for. Simply Reno's best.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OMG So Good!!!!”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

They took a while to seat us and the girl hostess in the front really needs to work on her smile and personality in general. (Not friendly) Other then that our waiter and server was great. The food was awesome!!!! Sooooo recommend the carne asasda or the chimichanga with ground beef. Wonderful food.

Helpful?
Thank ECastaneda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
183 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Large portions, boring menu, average meal”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Had lunch at Murrietta's while in Reno for business. Service was attentive, menu broad (but boring) and the food was okay but nothing special.

Murrietta's is your typical strip-mall TexMex restaurant. The menu selections are fairly standard and lack any originality. Rather than using Mexican cheeses, cheddar or American are used with a very heavy hand. The refried beans tasted as if they were poured straight out of a can.

The portions were quite large and the prices were average for this type establishment.

Overall, an average meal in a nondescript restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We eat here at least once a week, we really enjoy the margaritas and the taking friends there for dinner

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murrieta's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing