We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going to toss my hat in the ring.....”

Peg's Glorified Ham n Eggs
Ranked #5 of 935 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Olympia, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I'm going to toss my hat in the ring.....”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I can't really add too much about this long-time downtown Reno establishment. Good service with constant coffee refills, an excellent juice (hello fresh-squeezed!), and great food (Huevos Rancheros). The slaw that comes with the HR and the beans mixed together are wonderful. I think I could eat just those two items! What is in that slaw?!

The Breakfast Burrito was also excellent and the biscuits & gravy earned high marks.

Look, it's not fancy. It's bustling and loud with hard-working folks and happy diners. I think the coffee is great and I dig the food. If you are not the big breakfast eater, split the HR and you won't be disappointed.

It's walking distance back to the casino area which you travelers will need. I did!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zydeco3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    874
    280
    73
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Huge, delicious portions!”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I ordered an omlette filled with fresh veggies and topped with avocado, which was HUGE and extremely tasty. Toast came as one large sourdough and one whole grain piece, both were great. Breakfast also came with hash browns and a slice of fresh cantaloupe, in case by any chance you were still hungry. Fresh squeezed orange juice and smiley service? So so glad I checked this place out.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sn0wsn0wsn0w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of the best ...DO NOT miss eating here when in Reno!!!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a great dining experience recenly when in Reno for a conference. This is a funky little restaurant that is big on taste. I had the opportunity to experience what I feel was the best Bicuits and Gravy that I have eaten. I am from Texas and this is a staple at home but this blew me away. The sausage gravy was creamy and savory while the biscuits were big and fluffy. They have a huge selection of breakfast items many served in skillet format that looked amazing as well. Traditional favorites and electic offerings complete their menu and the service was just as memorable. I was reminded of the many restaurants in my hometown of Austin, TX where great people and great food are shared in a great environment. Start your day off right and do not miss this restaurant when in Reno!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank phxaztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The Best Breakfast Ever”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had the Peg's Combination scramble, or something like that. It was amazing. It had potatoes, eggs, mushrooms and I asked them to put cheese on top. I ate 1/3 of it in the restaurant and had the rest for 2 other meals. Yum, Yum. The second time I went in I had the pork chops and eggs -- to die for!!! Again, I got 3 meals out of it. These guys really know how to cook good food and are easy to find on Mae Ann in Northwest Reno in a shopping center that is only about half full with tenants.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikaelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Reliable breakfast, local favorite”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

As trip advisor suggested, we visited this breakfast joint as we were bugging out of Reno. The food was good and the service excellent. We liked the many Mexican menu items including huevos ranchero and chorizo immerses. Go hungry since the skillet portions are HUGE!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1roundface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peg's Glorified Ham n Eggs also viewed

 

Been to Peg's Glorified Ham n Eggs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing