We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good, but kids' menu is steep”
Review of Claim Jumper

Claim Jumper
Ranked #116 of 917 Restaurants in Reno
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Always good, but kids' menu is steep”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

For a chain restaurant, Claim Jumper is a good bet for solid food and good service. There can be a wait during lunch and dinner times, but they run it pretty efficiently. The menu is quite diverse, and the desserts are impressive. I've always liked the Cobb salad and the Widowmaker burger is also a winner. The only real downside is the kids menu is a tad expensive. I think a couple items were $7.95.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    30
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The best restaurant outside of the hotel.”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

We met a group of friends for dinner at Claim Jumper. It was a fairly short walk from Atlantis. The menu choices cover just about anything you'd want. The "Early" special menu had a lot of choices and the baby back ribs were amazing. It's a bit out of the way if you are staying in the downtown area of Reno but is worth the effort to get there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sheila J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Always great food and great service too.
Pepperoni calzone was full of meat and cheese.
Our server was so pleasant and very attentive. She kept my ice tea full and beer for my husband.

Helpful?
Thank KJQJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good choice!”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Ate here twice during our Reno visit, the first time with a friend who is local. LOVED the Caesar salad dressing. Had good food and great service each time we went. Huge menu, not sure they can do everything on there well, but we liked everything we ordered. The décor is rustic, animal mounts. My only suggestion would be for new menus, or a thorough cleaning of the current ones.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miknet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
280 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“They've Lost Me”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I used to be very loyal to this chain. Since I travel all of the time I used to always try to find one in the city I was at so I ended up here. But they've taken lobster off of the menu. I'd always treat myself to one of those. And now they've taken the garlic cheese bread off also. I ended up with a filet that was seriously undercooked. I ordered medium and it was more like tar-tar. The manager was very apologetic but I won't be returning to this one. Probably none of them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Claim Jumper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing