We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food/service”

Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 917 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 4th Street
Description: Recently voted one of the Top 100 Restaurants in the nation for "Best Service" by OpenTable and a fifteen-time Wine Spectator Award of Excellence Winner, Sterling's is Silver Legacy's ultimate dining experience, featuring steak, veal, poultry and seafood specialties. Open from 5pm nightly, reservations are recommended.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food/service”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

My wife had the soecial- wa three courae rib eye. I had the house ribe eye. Steaks were perfect. Service was exceplary. Everything was spot on!! Drew was everything' from suits to hoodies. Recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipDeManczuk, Manager at Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so very much for the kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. I'm guessing by "Drew" you meant crew and if that meant staff I should mention no one here wears hoodies. All jacket and ties. However guests are welcome to do so. Only real restriction is we do not allow tank tops on men.

Hope to see you again very soon. Cheers!

Philip DeManczuk
Rerstaurant & Wine Director
Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    67
    22
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service and atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Excellent Food, Service and atmosphere! come here annually and have never been disappointed! However the portions are extremely large, and in honesty, you might want to think about spliting an entre-

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipDeManczuk, Manager at Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Just wanted to take a moment to thank you so much for your very kind review. And yes, we have typical steakhouse portions and many people do share an entree.
Bon Appetite!
Philip DeManczuk
Restaurant & Wine Director
Sterlings Seafood Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tahoe
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“best sunday brunch”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The absolute best sunday brunch in Reno. If mothers day or easter then the deserts are unbelievable when special occasion days. We have been here 5 times. 3 out of 5 times the service has been the absolute best. Twice we have been discouraged but keep coming back because the food is the best. When they have king crab legs, they are enourmous.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tahoekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipDeManczuk, Manager at Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your very kind review of our Sunday Brunch and my apologies as well for the two times you felt service was not up to our standards. I very much appreciate the feedback as well as your willingness to overlook this matter and continue to visit us. Please know I will look into this with staff and very much appreciate your bringing it to my attention.
Sincerely,
Philip DeManczuk
Restaurant & Wine Director
Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb food & service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We dined at Sterling's at the Silver Legacy while visiting relatives in Reno last month (Dec) based on the TA reviews. We were not disappointed. Per our online reservation request, they gave us a quiet booth. The food was delicious, from the special lobster bisque, to our salads and entrees (grilled salmon and ribeye), and the dessert of bananas foster. The staff was very warm and friendly and the atmosphere upscale and nice. Jessie, our server, was very friendly and attentive. He even went to the bar next door to get my husband the particular type of NA beer he likes, as the restaurant did not have it. Out of the chardonnay I initially ordered, the sommonlier recommended another bottle in the same price range that was delicous. Although busy, the busboy was on top of things all not long. Food is pricey, but well worth it in our opinion.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CA_wanderer60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipDeManczuk, Manager at Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Your wonderful review makes us just try all the harder. Thank you for taking the time and we all hope we will see you again soon.
Bon Appetite!
Philip DeManczuk
Restaurant & Wine Director
Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio del Mar, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“3 Course Filet Mignon Special ROCKS!!!!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Sterling's Seafood/Steakhouse
January 16,2013-dinner 5PM, Me & the hubby.

We stayed at the Silver Legacy, saw the early seating ad for a 3 course Filet Mignon Oscar special for $26. Decided to check it out......

The ambiance is fancy, but casual dress is fine, you don't feel intimidated/underdressed when you are greeted or when you are seated. Not a stuffy feel to the restaurant. Romtantic lighting, booths & tables.

SERVICE- is excellent! I grew up working in my parents Italian restaurant. My pet peeve is how attentive the wait staff is about keeping my water glass filled. Wait staff should be aware without hovering or being intrusive. "Drive-by" refilling is how I would describe it-fill 'em & glide away. Each course brought in a timely manner, wait staff very nice.

MEAL-Choice of clam chowder or salad. We both had the salad, mixed baby greens,cranberries/walnuts served in a sweet/savory edible cup, taking the place of croutons. The presentation was a total surprise, it was (almost) too pretty to break up, we had the blue cheese dressing. Just the right consistancy to pour out nicely & not overwhelm the delicate greens.
Filet Mignon Oscar style had a very nice presentation. Filet cooked perfectly (med-rare) on a bed of mashed potatoes, topped with REAL crabmeat, Hollandaise Sauce with 4 asparagus "corraling" the entree. It was a thing of beauty :)
Cheesecake-expecting a sliver of cheesecake. Uh no! It was a slab,probably 5oz slice of wonderfulness. Once again, a lovely presentation and their coffee was excellent.

OVERALL it was one of the best dining experiences we've had in awhile. It exceeded all our expectations in every aspect & especially in value. It rivaled our last trips to Mortons (Las Vegas,NV) & Ruth's Chris (Palm Desert,CA) in food & service, but totally blew them away in value for only $26!!!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipDeManczuk, Manager at Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you so very much Cindi for your wonderful review and posting it on Open Table as well. It is always nice to receive a compliment but especially so when it comes from someone who has worked in the industry and has special insight. We very much look forward to your return.
Bon Appetite!
Philip DeManczuk
Restaurant & Wine Director
Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sterling's Seafood Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing