We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice restaurant”

Ruby River Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruby River Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #45 of 913 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Derby, Kansas
Level Contributor
323 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“a very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

good service, very good food. Located across the street from the Pepprmill Hotel. I do recommend this place for good food

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank lakelizrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    97
    35
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went to Ruby River the other night with friends from out of town who were here for Hot August Nights (HAN). I had been here before but it was sometime ago. We put in a reservation for 5:30 PM, arrived early and we were seated immediately. Service was very good throughout the evening. Food came as expected and we had no complaints -- prime rib, halibut and an entree salad. I had the salad and could not finish it, When we got up to leave the place was packed and folks were waiting for tables - very typical of HAN. Word to wise, if you are going out for dinner during HAN, book early. If you plan on eating after 6:00 PM without a reservation expect a long wait anywhere in Reno/Sparks.
My first experience with the chain was in Ogden, Utah a number of years ago. That particular restaurant had many more artifacts on the walls and it had a micro-brewery in it.
If you are trying to avoid the casinos and want a good cut of beef give this one a try.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Reasonable prices, good atmosphere, friendly wait staff and the ribs and steak were cooked as ordered and had great taste. A hard place to beat.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just a fun, delicious place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We've had dinner several times at this restaurant while in Reno. We have never been disappointed - great food and great prices :)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great meal! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed a great dinner here with a friend. We got the steak and the chicken. Both meals were absolutely wonderful. Portion size was above average and service was excellent. I liked the atmosphere and decor!

Helpful?
Thank LaurieAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruby River Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing