We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Educational and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Animal Ark

Animal Ark
Ranked #9 of 125 things to do in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Educational and Interesting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very friendly staff. The animals look like they are cared for very well. It was a nice side adventure for our stay in Reno.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luv B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    51
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No barriers to thrills”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I like the natural environment that the animals had to recover from an earlier lifetime. Cheetahs had room to run. Tigers could roam and relax in the shade. Few bars separate viewer from viewed. I only disliked the bear facilities. Could have been better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Harvey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first time visiting, won't be the last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We took our 4 year old grandchild to visit the ark and we all loved it. from watching the bear play tether ball to the owl. It's a fantastic sanctuary and has a nice walking trail with a water stop! and July was military free month, so My son AND daughter were free, Son's wife and child 1/2 off! such a blessing!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Laureen9408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not a zoo, but an animal sanctuary!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are in the Reno, NV area and have children you should check out Animal Ark. We travelled from Fernley NV, approximately 1-1/4 hr ride, but I'd do it again. The sanctuary is well kept, easily traversed with children, either walking or in strollers. The bear feeding in the am was awesome, he actually shucked an ear of corn. The volunteer was very informative, describing what the bear was doing and showed several bear skulls and explained about each type of bear. We got to see a raccoon, badger, the black bear, bobcats, lynx, mountain lion, tiger, many birds, foxes and wolves. The jaguar was very active, stalking at one point. The cheetahs were active as well in their large area running and chasing one another. At this point we ran into another volunteer who explained more about the animals. The jaguar is actually moving to an enclosure where a mountain lion currently resides and the mountain lion will move to a new enclosure being prepared for it. There is a nice playground and shaded picnic areas with tables, so we had a relaxing lunch after going through the sanctuary. There was also a small picnic area in the park where you could purchase soda and water. We went early in the am so the animals were pretty active. A camera would be a good idea.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Starr53518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A MUST”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

yes, it is a bit off the "beat", but what a great job they do over there for mother nature! not a big selection, yet once you interact with the staff (most are volunteers), and hear the horror stories that lots of these beautiful animals went through before they got there really makes u appreciate!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank seal13il
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animal Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing